Wrap Ups & Hauls

Weekly Wrap-Up: 5/2 – 5/8/16

Image [397315]

Happy Mother’s Day!

IMG_5142 [331278]
My Mom and I circa 1990
I never really appreciated my Mom until I had children of my own.  Not only did my Mom juggle life with 4 children, cooked dinner every night, and did the housework, but she also worked 40+ hours a week.  I honestly don’t know how she did it.  My Mom is a legit super-mom.

I hope all the Moms out there had a wonderful day!  I got to go on 6 mile run, took the kids to the park, planted my garden, and worked on a school project with my son.  I wouldn’t have had it any other way 🙂

IMG_5195 [373868]
Mother’s Day 2016
Ok, enough about my boring personal life, let’s get to topics a little more bookish…

 

 

I didn’t get as much done on the blog as I would have liked this week.  With school winding down for my son (lots of tests and projects) and getting ready for our family vacation to Wyoming in 2 short weeks, I’m running around like a chicken with its head cut off.

I did have a few exciting bookish things happen this week!  I attended my first in-person book club!  It was so much fun to connect with fellow bookworms and discuss books.  We read The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafron.  Wow!  This book blew me away.  If you have never read it, do so immediately!

Melissa Lenhardt, author of Sawbones, shared my review of her book on Twitter!  I love when authors recognize bloggers & reviewers.  I always geek out when this happens.

FullSizeRender [386454]

You can read my review of Sawbones here → Book Review: Sawbones by Melissa Lenhardt

This week on the blog…

Tuesday 5/3

Image [964966]

Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Childhood Books


Wednesday 5/4

Image [14714]

Top 5 Wednesday: Authors I’d Love To Meet @ the 2016 BEA/BookCon


Friday 5/6

Image [146597]

Fantasy Friday! Book Review: The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge


Saturday 5/7

Image [306887]

Blog Award: The Blogger Recognition Award


Currently Reading…

512P9oxGLSL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

This book is about the conspirators of the assassination of Abraham Lincoln in 1865.  I am about 60% through.  It’s just ok so far.  I had pretty high expectations for this book.  Hopefully things will start to pick up.


51mfSIqPwHL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

I am only a few pages in, so I can’t speak for this book just yet.  This is another civil war era book.  I didn’t plan on reading two books set during the same period in U.S. history, but it just worked out that way.  This book is about the Underground Railroad and those who helped bring runaway slaves to safety.


Recently Finished Reading…

51naG-FeFpL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Wow.  Mind blown.  A true bookworm’s delight!  Love. Love. Love.  Review to come soon!


On Deck…

511KHO-HqyL._SX336_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads


How did your week go?  What’s on your bookish agenda for this week?

Happy reading 🙂

1 thought on “Weekly Wrap-Up: 5/2 – 5/8/16”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.