Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Authors I’d Love To Meet @ the 2016 BEA/BookCon

Image [14714]

Hello and welcome to my Top 5 Wednesday post!

T5W is a weekly meme is hosted by Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes.  You can visit the Goodreads T5W group for more info.

118368

This week’s theme was authors I’d like to meet at the 2016 BookExpo America (BEA) & BookCon. First off, I would like to thank Sam for twisting the knife in my heart since I will NOT be attending BEA/BookCon this year.  I am hoping to attend next year in New York and attend the BEA Blogger’s Conference!  If I WERE going, this is who I would be most excited to see…

1.) Ruta Sepetys

61AHfADadnL._UX250_.jpg

Ruta Sepetys was born and raised in Michigan in a family of artists, readers, and music lovers. The daughter of a refugee, Ruta is drawn to stories of strength through struggle. Her award-winning historical novels are published in over forty countries. “Between Shades of Gray” was inspired by her family’s history in Lithuania. Her second novel, “Out of the Easy” is set in the French Quarter of New Orleans in 1950, and her third novel, “Salt to the Sea, exposes one of the greatest hidden disasters of World War II. Ruta lives with her family in Tennessee.

Website // Facebook // Twitter // YouTube // Pinterest


I received Salt to the Sea and Between Shades of Gray for my birthday last month.  I must admit, I haven’t gotten the chance to actually read them YET, but I know I’m going to love them! I think there needs to be MORE historical fiction writers within the YA genre.  Actually, Ruta Sepetys and Monica Hesse will be doing a panel on the importance for HF for teens at BookCon.  If anyone would like to FaceTime me from this panel, I’d love you forever 🙂


2. Monica Hesse

Monica Hesse
Source: Washington Post

Monica Hesse is the author of the young adult historical fiction novel Girl in the Blue Coat, as well as the young adult science fiction novel Stray and its sequel, Burn. She is a feature writer for the Washington Post, where she has covered royal weddings, dog shows, political campaigns, Academy Awards ceremonies, White House state dinners, and some events that felt like a mixture of all of the above. She has talked about these stories, and other things, on NBC, MSNBC, CNN, CSPAN, FOX and NPR, and she has been a finalist for a Livingston Award and a James Beard Award. Monica hosts a weekly Washington Post chat, Web Hostess, and she lives in Washington, D.C. with her husband and a brainiac dog.

Website // Facebook // Twitter // monica.liesl@gmail.com

26030682

Again, another author that I haven’t actually had the chance to read yet, but I’ve heard good things about Girl in the Blue Coat.  As I previously stated, Monica Hesse will be doing a panel with Ruta Sepetys on the importance of historical fiction for teens.


3.) Mary Kubica

Mary-Kubica-9-websitesmall

Mary Kubica is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of THE GOOD GIRL and PRETTY BABY.  She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, in History and American Literature, and lives outside of Chicago with her husband and two children, where she enjoys photography, gardening and caring for the animals at a local shelter.  Her first novel THE GOOD GIRL received a Strand Critics Nomination for Best First Novel and was a nominee in the Goodreads Choice Awards in Debut Goodreads Author and in Mystery & Thriller for 2014.  She is currently working on her next novel.

Website // Facebook // Twitter // Goodreads

 Ok, so I HAVE actually read a Mary Kubica book!  I read Pretty Baby this year and enjoyed it.


4.) Cassandra Clare

Cassandra Clare

Cassandra Clare is the author of the #1 New York Times, USA TODAY, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly bestselling Mortal Instruments series and the Infernal Devices trilogy, and coauthor of the Bane Chronicles with Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson. She also wrote The Shadowhunter’s Codex with her husband, Joshua Lewis. Her books have more than 36 million copies in print worldwide and have been translated into more than thirty-five languages. Cassandra lives in western Massachusetts.

Website // Tumblr // Instagram // Facebook // Twitter

Ok… I’ve never actually read a book by Cassandra Clare ((holds up arms in self defense))  Give me a break,  I’ve only just started trying to read more YA books.  I think Cassandra seems like a good time, and her books are ridiculously popular, so I would love to see what she is all about.


5.) Veronica Roth

veronica-roth-478771

Veronica Roth was born in a Chicago suburb, and studied creative writing at Northwestern University. She and her husband currently live in the city that inspired the setting of the Divergent Trilogy.

Website // Twitter // Facebook

51QXmCJbwTL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

So I read Divergent, and really enjoyed it!  I thought it was a great concept, however I wasn’t too keen on the other books in the series.  I still would love to meet Veronica Roth


Bonus Authors…

Scotty McCreery

ScottyM

Amazon // Goodreads

I’m a big country music fan, and I adore Scotty McCreery’s voice, so I would have to stop on over and see him.


The Scott Brothers

51jShyfaIAL._SX400_BO1,204,203,200_

Amazon // Goodreads

Do I really need to explain this one?  I would head over to see the Scott brothers for eye candy purposes… actually my husband is in Real Estate, so I’d probably pick up a copy of their book for him 🙂


How about you?  Who are you excited to see if you are going?  If  you are not going, who would you have liked to see?

Feel free to link to your own T5W, I’d love to read it!

15 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Authors I’d Love To Meet @ the 2016 BEA/BookCon”

  1. Everyone who can attend this event is a lucky devil. I wish I could, but I live in Québec, so that’s a problem. Plus I’m not that into meeting authors, to be honest. Yes, if we become friends, but otherwise I don’t feel comfortable playing the die-hard role 😛 Lol. Anyway, those are great authors!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve only been to one author event, but my favorite part was when she gave her presentation. I’m also going to see Stephen King in June! I love hearing authors talk about their books 😊

      Like

      1. I completely agree! My mom and I always argue over who is the best twin: Drew or Johnathan lol I’m team Johnathann and she’s team Drew. Can you imagine how we argued during their competition season? Hahahaha! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

