Tags & Awards

Blog Award: The Blogger Recognition Award

Image [306887]

Big thanks to Sammie @Bookshelves & Biros & Ioana @booksreenchanted for nominating me for this award!  Check out their posts here → Bookshelves & Biros – The Blogger Recognition Award & here → booksreenchanted – The Blogger Recognition Award. These posts contain lots of great advice for new bloggers!

untitled.png

Here we go…

Rules…

»Write a post to show your award

»Give a brief story of how your blog started

»Give advice to new bloggers

»Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog

»Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to


How My Blog Started…

I started Cover2CoverMom for a few different reasons.  Firstly, I love books and reading, but didn’t really have anyone in my life to discuss them with. Unfortunately, most of my family and friends do not read much.  I wanted to meet other people with similar reading interests.  Of course there is always Goodreads for this, but there are so many people… a blog seemed like a better option for a more personal level.  Secondly, I wanted to become a book reviewer.  From my research, posting reviews to sites like Amazon and Goodreads is great, but developing and maintaining your own blog gives you a little more credibility in the eyes of publishers… Not sure if there is truth to that or not, but regardless I’m glad I decided to buy into this notion.  Lastly, I needed a hobby.  I’m going to be honest here.  Being a stay-at-home mother, while rewarding, can also make you feel unproductive.  I guess you could say I needed a “project” to do.  Something to give me that sense of accomplishment.  A creative outlet, if you will.


 

My Advice for New Bloggers…

Since I’ve only been blogging for 10 weeks, I’m not sure I’m qualified to answer this question, but here are a few things that have helped me…

»Be involved in the bookish blogging community

This is probably the MOST important piece of advice.  You need to be an ACTIVE member in the bookish blogging community by following, reading, liking, and commenting on fellow blogger’s posts.  This is a great way to get you name out there, but more importantly, this is a great way to make FRIENDS!

»Use social media

Promote your blog with social media.  Create a Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram account for your blog.  Share your posts to each.  The more you put it out there, the greater the chances that it will be seen.

»Participate in weekly memes and book tags

Participating in weekly memes and book tags is a great way to add content to your bookish blog.  Let’s be honest, there are only so many books you can read each month and therefore only so many book reviews you can write.  I participate in Top Ten Tuesday, Top 5 Wednesday, and Book Traveling Thursday .  I also do a weekly wrap-up every Sunday.  In my wrap up, I like to feature my posts from the previous week, the books I am currently reading, the books I have recently finished, and the books I will be reading next.

»Read & review what people are reading

The bottom line here is that you need to read and review the books that people are interested in.  I try to read and review 1-2 “popular books” each month.  I have found that many of my fellow book bloggers read YA, so I try to read at least 1-2 YA books a month.

»Set goals

I set goals for my blog each month.  For example, in April my goals were to write 8 book reviews, to participate in 3 book tags, to have 100 WordPress followers, to have 500 visitors, to have 1,000 views, and to complete 30 posts.  I find that setting goals keeps me motivated and focused.  I use a monthly planner to keep track of everything blog related.

 


I nominate…

Anyone who wants to participate!  I love reading about how & why other blogs started AND I also love reading blogging tips and ticks!  If you don’t want to create your own post, feel to comment with your answers!

5 thoughts on “Blog Award: The Blogger Recognition Award”

  1. Such brilliant advice! 😊 I totally understand how you feel when you say you needed a creative outlet. Although I’m not a Mum (the hardest job of all), I definitely felt unproductive in the evenings and at weekends when I didn’t have any plans. It’s so nice to have something to work on and sink your teeth into! I think it’s great that you set goals for your blog too, that’s something I’d definitely like to do to stay motivated and have something to work towards. 😊 x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

