Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Childhood Books

Image [964966]

Happy Top Ten Tuesday!  TTT is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, check our their blog to learn more about TTT and see upcoming themes!

toptentuesday

This week’s theme was childhood characters I’d love to revisit… I decided to tweak this topic just a tad and share my top ten favorite childhood books, specifically my favorite books when I was in intermediate/middle grades.

Let’s throw it back to the 90’s shall we?

1.) Bridge to Terabithia by Katerine Paterson516IclEObjL._SX334_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Themes = friendship & individuality


 2.) Catherine, Called Birdy by Karen Cushman

24137Amazon // Goodreads

Themes = independence


3. The Egypt Game by Zilpha Keatley Snyder

515wROfUwqL._SX334_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Themes = friendship


4.) Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

31snBQMUZvL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Themes = individuality, friendship, identity, & society


5.) Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls

51QWK0WB8KL._SX338_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Themes = determination, hard work, sacrifice, love, & loyalty

Coincidently, this book was also featured in last week’s Book Traveling Thursday → Book Traveling Thursday: Favorite Bookish Pet


6. The Midwife’s Apprentice by Karen Cushman

15595Amazon // Goodreads

Themes = perseverance & determination


7.) Chasing Redbird by Sharon Creech

51GxbBH4JYL._SX334_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Themes = death, guilt, & grief


8.) Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O-Dell

233818Amazon // Goodreads

Themes = survival, forgiveness, & companionship


9.) Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

24337Amazon // Goodreads

Themes = independence, order, & social class


10.) The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

51gLW-LASxL._SY498_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Themes – friendship, bravery, love, & humility


What were some of your favorite books growing up?  Comment and let me know!

Also, feel free to link to your TTT post, I’d love to read it!

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Childhood Books”

  1. I missed out on most beloved US childhood books, since I wasn’t exactly here at the time 🙂 But I love this list as an inspiration to catch up. There was a time in my 20s when I wouldn’t be caught dead reading a children’s book but I’m too old now to care what others think if they see me on the metro with Bridge of Terabithia 🙂 (let them think I’m an English teacher, hehehe). I do love Harry Potter and I read that as an adult. The others: now on my list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You definitely should! I adored all of these books. I had a really good school librarian while I was in grade school and she introduced me to many of these books. I would love to re-read all of these! I’m also planning on introducing them to my children.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

