Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Odd Book Titles

Image [501270]

It’s that time of the week!  It’s Top Ten Tuesday time!  What is TTT? TTT is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.  Check out their blog for more info and to see upcoming themes.

toptentuesday

This week’s theme was non-bookish websites.  To be honest, apart from the typical social media sites (Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter, etc), every website I visit is book related.  I decided to look through the TTT achieves and select a past theme instead.  One of past TTT themes was “hilarious book titles,” so I thought I would change it to “odd book titles” and go with that… I know, I just can’t ever do what I’m supposed to 🙂

Here we go…

10.) It by Stephen King

51uQXN14LpL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

It?  Where is the rest of the title?  It what?  Is this the World’s shortest book title?


9.) Who Moved My Cheese? by Spencer Johnson

51fFDEkUyEL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

The title actually does make sense based off the content of the book, but it’s an odd title for a book.  I actually read this book for a college business class.  Let me sum it up for you – you have to be able adapt to change to be successful.  The end.


8.) Bitter is the New Black: Confessions of a Condescending, Egomaniacal, Self-Centered, Smart-Ass, or Why you Should Never Carry a Prada Bag to the Unemployment Office by Jen Lancester

51S+8QEJ6CL._SX333_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

I don’t know what the record is for the World’s longest book title, but this one has to be in the running.  I actually had someone recommend this book to me.  It is supposed to be a light and funny read.


 7.) Pretty in Plaid: A Life, A Witch, and a Wardrobe, or, the Wonder Years Before the Condescending, Egomaniacal, Self-Centered Smart-Ass Phase by Jen Lancaster

514SOBhJMaL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_

Amazon // Goodreads

I’m sensing a pattern here with Jen Lancaster’s books…


6.) Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach

51f-QUJNhnL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_

Amazon // Goodreads

Who wakes up in the morning and says to themselves, “I want to write a book about human cadavers!”  Obviously Mary Roach had the right idea since I’m pretty sure this was a bestseller at one point.


5.) The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

510SEVxoVcL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

I’ve been meaning to read this book for a long time.  It’s actually sitting on my book shelf.  I really must know, what is a potato peel pie?


4.) Are You There Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea by Chelsea Handler

51FEbVMY-AL._SX320_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

I love Chelsea Handler.  I love her crude humor and her “don’t give a f****” attitude.  This title is a cute play on the book title Are You There God, It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume.


3.) Chelsea Chelsea Bang Bang by Chelsea Handler

51VKXB2ZPuL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Again another play on another book title, this time Chitty Chitty Bang Bang by Ian Fleming


2. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang by Ian Fleming

51z2oe0za7L._SX334_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Speaking of Chitty Chitty Bang Bang… Where is the World did THAT title come from?!


1.) The Smell of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock

51XbKMBChwL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Why? ((facepalm)) Actually, I’ve heard good things about this book.  I received a copy via NetGalley to review, but that title… I adore the cover though 🙂


Which book titles made you say “well that’s an odd book title…”?

*Let’s keep it PG ladies and gents… I appreciate a good laugh at an awkward dirty book title, but let’s not offend anyone.

As always, feel free to link up to your TTT post!  I love reading them.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Odd Book Titles”

    1. So I hard core geeked out when I listened to your podcast! Thank you so much! I’m so honored that you featured my humble little blog on your podcast! I actually listened to all of them. You do a wonderful job. I can’t wait for next week’s episode 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

