Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Characters I Defend

Image [1565305].jpg

Hello and welcome to my Top 5 Wednesday post!

T5W is a weekly meme is hosted by Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes.  You can visit the Goodreads T5W group for more info.

118368

This week’s theme is characters I defend…

5.) Eden from The Mapmaker’s Children

51mfSIqPwHL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Honestly, if you have not personally undergone infertility or seen a close friend/relative experience it, you will most likely NOT understand Eden’s character.  I think McCoy did a wonderful job with her portrayal of a woman who had gone through infertility.

You can read my review here → Book Review: The Mapmaker’s Children by Sarah McCoy


4.) Faith from The Lie Tree

61fS8Sw69rL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

Amazon // Goodreads

Faith, another misunderstood character, is a very complex character.  I have seen reviews where people did not care for Faith, but I don’t think people understand how parental neglect can affect a child or that strong desire for parental approval.

You can read my review here → Book Review: The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge


3.) Anna from My Sister’s Keeper  

41JSMkt+ncL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

I will always be #TeamAnna on this one.  I cannot imagine what it would feel like to know that I was basically bred to donate (blood, tissue, organs, marrow, etc) to an ill sibling… To know that was my sole purpose in life…


2.) Mr. Rochester from Jane Eyre

41g4DSszOTL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Alright, I admit that Rochester’s omission in this book was pretty low… HOWEVER he was doing the best he could with the hand he was dealt.  I can’t really go into it without spoiling the book, but I always felt sorry for Rochester’s situation.  Deep down, he really was a good guy, he just made some poor decisions.


1.) Heathcliff from Wuthering Heights

348914Amazon // Goodreads

Heathcliff has my heart.  I know he does some AWEFUL things in this book, but I really don’t blame him for everything he had to endure.


Who are the characters you always defend?  Feel free to link to your own T5W post, I love to read them!

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Characters I Defend”

  1. Oh my god, I completely forgot about ”My Sister’s Keeper.” I remember seeing the movie a long while ago and it was so sad, but I definitely want to read the book, b/c I don’t remember it that well. My god, I can’t even imagine how that would feel like.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

