Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Read On A Whim

 Image [1342410].jpg

It’s that time of the week!  It’s Top Ten Tuesday time!  What is TTT? TTT is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.  Check out their blog for more info and to see upcoming themes.

toptentuesday

This week’s theme was books I read on a whim… Generally, I’m not one to pick up a book without first either being recommended the book by someone, or seeing a book that is getting a lot of hype and picking it up out of curiosity.  Since I have started listening to more and more audiobooks, I’ve found that I’m becoming less picky and picking up more books on a whim.  I think this has to with the fact that I am borrowing these audiobooks through a digital collection my library offers and not actually paying for the books… I also am a little more willing to pick up a book on a whim if I am thrift store book shopping and only paying $1-$2 per book.  Anyways, here is a list of books I’ve picked up and read on a whim…

10.) Hanging Mary by Susan Higginbotham

512P9oxGLSL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Star ratings (4)

I downloaded this audiobook on a whim.  I must admit, I was sucked in by the cover and the title.  Who was Mary and why did she hang?!  This was actually a book about Mary Surratt, a co-conspirator in the Abraham Lincoln assassination.  Review coming soon!


9.)  The Butterfly and the Violin by Kristy Cambron

51aU2aUYISL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Star ratings (3)

Another whim audiobook download.  I had never heard of this book before, but I downloaded it because the cover is gorgeous and it was about The Holocost.

You can read my review here → Book Review: The Butterfly and the Violin by Kristy Cambron


 

8.) The Wednesday Sisters by Meg Waite Clayton

511UzjnQVKL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

Amazon // Goodreads

Star ratings (3)

I found this book during one of my thrift store excursions.  I thought this was a lovely book about friendship.


7.) The Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee

51OiUODZdPL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Star ratings (4)

This was a new release cover buy.  I had to know who this woman was.  I was also intrigued that it was about the 19th century French Opera.

You can read my review here → Book Review: The Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee


6.) Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica

final-for-PB-pageAmazon // Goodreads

Star ratings (3)

I found this book after deciding to read a book from the thriller genre.  I went to the digital collection and selected the thriller genre, and this was one of the top featured books.

You can read my review here → Book Review: Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica


5.) The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe

51fb89nMz+L._SX320_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Star ratings (3)

This was another thrift store find.  It has such an interesting cover, so I gave it a shot.  I was pleasantly surprised with this one.


4.) The Girl Who Wrote in Silk by Kelli Estes

51GdyehePeLAmazon // Goodreads

Star ratings (3)

This was actually the first audiobook I ever listened to.  It opened up my world to audiobooks and the fact that I could “read” while at the gym and in the car.  I really enjoyed this book.

You can read my review here → Book Review: The Girl Who Wrote in Silk by Kelli Estes


3.) The Orchard: A Memoir by Theresa Weir

51pfdXyzcqL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Star ratings (3)

I picked this one up at a thrift store not realizing that it was a memoir.  I’d never read a memoir before.  This book went above and beyond my expectations.

You can read my review here → Book Review: The Orchard by Theresa Weir


2.) The Dress Lodger by Sheri Holman

51a0lYsCRLL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Another thrift store find.  Honestly, I don’t remember if I liked it or not… isn’t that horrible?


1.) Into the Wilderness by Sara Donati

51tv8z14NtL._SX314_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Star ratings (2)

That’s right, I picked up the first book of my favorite series on a whim!!! I felt like it was fate that I found this book on a thrift store rack back in 2009.  This is why, at least every once in a while, you should read a book on a whim.  You never know when you will find a gem.


Do you ever read books on a whim?  Ever found any hidden gems?

Feel free to link to your TTT post, I’d love to read it!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Read On A Whim”

Leave a Reply

