Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Summer Reads

Image [1391615]

Hello and welcome to my Top 5 Wednesday post!

T5W is a weekly meme is hosted by Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes.  You can visit the Goodreads T5W group for more info.

118368

This week’s theme is summer reads!  I am more than ready for summer to arrive.  It feels as if it will never come.  Ohio is experiencing 20+ degree colder weather than is normal for this time of year.  Apparently Mother Nature got summer and fall mixed up… Anyways, in the summer I like to read “beachy” type books usually set near some type of body of water.  Preferably, I would be reading these books on a beach, but when you have kids, your days of beach reading are over until they are older.  When we go to the beach, I spend my time building sandcastles, hunting for sea shells, and making sure my kids don’t drown…  Maybe when the toddler goes off to college I’ll be able to read on the beach again.  Only 16 more years, but who is counting?

Here are a few books to pack in your beach bag this year…

5.) The Reef by Nora Roberts

762433Amazon // Goodreads

This is my favorite Nora Roberts book!  It is about a Marine Archeologist named Tate (awful name, I know) and her quest to find an allusive treasure.


4.) The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares

452306Amazon // Goodreads

I haven’t actually read the book, but I adored the movie.  This is a book about summer, friendship, and an incredible pair of pants.


3.) The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks

41k57AyOB0L._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

All of Nicholas Sparks’ books are perfect summer reads, so it was hard to chose only one.  The Last Song is about a girl who goes to spend the summer with her father in his quiet beach town.  Again I haven’t actually read this one, but I loved the movie adaptation.


2.) The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman

13158800Amazon // Goodreads

I got this book for my birthday last month and I cannot wait to read it.  The story centers around a lighthouse.  I am planning on reading it this summer on our yearly vacation to Lake Erie.


1.) Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

61EwgpfT9yL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

Amazon // Goodreads

I always try to sneak a classic or two in my lists.  Treasure Island is a perfect summer read.  It has adventure, pirates, and buried treasure, but also has some important life lessons.


What type of books do you like to read in the summer?  Feel free to link to your own T5W post, I’d love to read it!

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Summer Reads”

  1. What a lovely list. I fancy the Light Between Oceans – it really appeals to me and I love the cover. I hope you enjoy it and look forward to your review.
    I hope you enjoy Treasure Island – it’s a good story. I also like to try and add a couple of classics – my plans don’t always shape up but I do try!
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! TLBO’s cover is stunning isn’t it? Hopefully the inside matches the outside 😊

      TI has always been on my TBR list, I may try and read it with my son this summer. We read Tom Sawyer this year and he enjoyed it very much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

