Wrap Ups & Hauls

Weekly Wrap-Up: 5/16 – 5/22/16

Image [1521464].jpg

Hello my bookish friends! Happy Sunday!

Some of you may have noticed that I have been MIA (missing in action) for a few days… at least someone?  Maybe? ((humor me here people))  I went on a girl’s weekend getaway for my friend’s bachelorette party!  We went up to northern Ohio to stay at my parent’s lake house on Lake Erie.  It was a blast!  It was a hard trip since it was the first time I had ever left my 2-year-old and of course she was sick to boot, but Daddy was a champ and held down the fort while I was gone.  I must admit, as much as I missed my husband and kids, it was nice to get away for a weekend.  Saturday night we took the ferry boat over to an island called Put-In-Bay and had a blast!  The best part by far was the ego boost we got on the island.  We were overwhelmed with the amount of guys buying us drinks.  Within the first 5 minutes, we each had 2 drinks and shots in front of us.  My friends and I are pushing  30-years-old, and two out of the four of us are married with kids, so we were not expecting any kind of attention.  It was nice to know we still got it 🙂

13256338_10100619370166180_1756188393164629155_n

ANYWAYS!  It’s back to reality for a few days, then we are leaving for family vacation on Thursday!  I have been trying to prepare a few scheduled post for the 10 days I’ll be gone, but its not looking too promising… I just wanted to make sure I don’t disappoint any of my adoring fans… ((hint: that’s you))

Let’s get down to business…

This week on the blog…

Monday 5/16

Image [1044042]

Book Review: The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon


Tuesday 5/17

Image [1342410]Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Read On A Whim


Wednesday 5/18

Image [1391615]

Top 5 Wednesday: Summer Reads

Image [1441298]Book Review: The Mapmaker’s Children by Sarah McCoy


Currently Reading…

51scgPYHPHL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

After reading so many back-to-back historical fictions, I decided I needed to change it up.  I am about 20% through and loving every minute!  I am listening to this via audiobook, which is narrated by Amy Poehler herself, and this is the way to go on this book!  I may have laughed out loud on the treadmill at the gym a few times…


51-NNSg-wdL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_

Amazon // Goodreads

I was contacted by the author, Rachael, to read and review her book The Beauty Thief.  I was a little nervous about agreeing to do this since I am new to the YA fantasy scene and the few I’ve read have really been hit or miss… I am about 15% through and am enjoying the story thus far, so I have started to relax a bit.


Recently Finished…

865Amazon // Goodreads

Star ratings (2)I was not expecting this book to be so profound and teach me so much about life.  I am doing something a little different for this review and I’m excited to finish it!  I hope to make this review a scheduled post for when I’m on vacation.


On Deck…

5160VyClkEL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

Amazon // Goodreads

This is May’s selection for my book club.  I’m really looking forward to this one.


How did you fare this week?  What are you reading now?  Most importantly, did you miss me?

6 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up: 5/16 – 5/22/16”

    1. I did miss the blog life for sure! I had over 100 emails from posts that I missed! I’m still trying to play catch up 😅. I am switching it up a little! I’m excited to read another fantasy and a sci-fi!

      Like

  1. So jealous of your lake house! Hope you have a lovely vacation too. I really need that Amy Poehler book in my life – I was thinking of picking up a copy, but now I think I’m going to have to go for the audiobook, as it’s actually narrated by her! Also The Beauty Thief sounds intriguing, going to add that one to my wishlist – look forward to seeing your review.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Welcome back! I definitely DID notice, and was so happy to hear the reasons – you SO deserved the trip! That sounds like heaven – nothing really is like/beats some relaxing time with good girlfriends 🙂 (well, of course, relaxing time with family and the kids but… you know, in a different way).

    Also – um……….. Your picture is absolutely STUNNING! I am NOT at all surprised you had guys falling all over you. And please, I don’t even want to hear that 30 is too old for this kind of thing 😉 (I have a few years on that so I am a bit biased).

    I hope you have a lovely, wonderful, fun, exciting, and all the rest upcoming trip with the family!!!
    xox

    PS: Station Eleven is soooo beautiful. I love that book so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!!! You made my day! I am blessed with amazing friends who happen to be beautiful inside and out! We had a great time 🙂 I’m so excited to read Station Eleven, especially since you loved it so much 😁

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

