Features, Wrap Ups & Hauls

Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up: 9/3 – 9/9/18

WWU24

Happy Sunday bookworms!

How was everyone’s weeks/weekends?  My week was crazy busy as per usual for this time of year.  Part of the chaos of the week was an amazing author event though, so I can’t complain.

Let’s see what I had going on this week…

*Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up is a weekly post where I feature what posts were published on the blog for the past week, any bookish/blog happenings, what I recently finished reading, what I am currently reading, what I will be reading next, noteworthy posts around the bookish blogosphere, and any interesting bookish articles I came across.

Divider2

ThisWeekOnTheBlog.jpeg

Monday 9/3

Aug18WrapUpAugust 2018 Bookish Wrap-Up

Tuesday 9/4

Aug18BookHaulCoverAugust 2018 Book Haul – The Month I Discovered Book Outlet #BookOutletHaul

Wednesday 9/5

Sept18TBRSeptember 2018 TBR – Series September

Divider2

BookishBlogHappenings

» This past Thursday I attended Jacqueline Woodson’s book tour for Harbor Me.  I was delighted by the huge turn out & the fact that there were a ton of children there.  Jacqueline is such a bad ass in person.  Sharon Draper was the moderator, and really knocked it out of the park.  If you are a teacher in the mid-west (Ohio, Indiana, Michigan, etc) I’d definitely see about contacting her for a school visit.  She is absolutely fascinating.  I’ll have a post about this event in the next couple of weeks.

Divider2

WhatImReading.jpegRecently Finished Reading:

» City of Ghosts (Cassidy Blake #1) by Victoria Schwab

CityofGhostsadd-to-goodreads-button

5-Star Rating SystemFeelings in a few thoughts:

  • A wonderful MG book to read around October/Halloween time.  Schwab did a great job writing for a younger audience.  The “scary” elements are age appropriate.
  • It’s a story about a girl with a ghost as a best friend…gave me Casper feels.
  • Was a tad worried about the reality TV portion of the plot, but it was well done and did not feel cheesy.
  • Perfect for fans of The Graveyard Book or Coraline

» The Obelisk Gate (The Broken Earth #2) by N.K. Jemisin

TheObeliskGate

add-to-goodreads-button

Feelings in a few thoughts:

  • This series is freaking fantastic!
  • Jemisin’s writing is unlike any I’ve read before.  I don’t know how she pulls off writing in the 2nd person, but it works here.
  • I was really able to wrap my mind around the world better in this book, there are still a few things that I struggled to grasp, but it is more of a “mind blown” feeling and not a confused feeling.
  • I cannot wait to read the next book.  I will definitely be finishing this series before the end of the year.

Currently Reading:

» The Reluctant Queen (The Queens of Renthia #2) by Sarah Beth Durst

TheReluctantQueen

add-to-goodreads-button

Status: 30%

» A Reaper at the Gates (An Ember in the Ashes #3) by Sabaa Tahir

AReaperattheGates

add-to-goodreads-button

Status: Just starting


What Am I Reading Next?:

» The Heart Forger (The Bone Witch #2) by Rin Chupeco

TheHeartForger

add-to-goodreads-button

In The Bone Witch, Tea mastered resurrection―now she’s after revenge…
No one knows death like Tea. A bone witch who can resurrect the dead, she has the power to take life…and return it. And she is done with her self-imposed exile. Her heart is set on vengeance, and she now possesses all she needs to command the mighty daeva. With the help of these terrifying beasts, she can finally enact revenge against the royals who wronged her―and took the life of her one true love.
But there are those who plot against her, those who would use Tea’s dark power for their own nefarious ends. Because you can’t kill someone who can never die…
War is brewing among the kingdoms, and when dark magic is at play, no one is safe.

Divider2

InterestingBookishArticles.jpeg

» Real Readers Weigh In on August Releases

» 10 Female-Led Novels That Tween Boys (and Girls) Love

» The Creators of ‘Saga’ Recommend Books for Their Fans

» Small But Mighty: Little Free Libraries We Love

» 8 Picture Books About Following Your Dreams

» Required Reading: 11 Authors Share the Books They Want Taught in Schools

» 10 Contemporary Romance Novels with Relatable Heroines

» 10 Kids’ Audiobooks Inspired by Folktales, Fairy Tales, and Mythology

Divider2

LetsChat

What are you currently reading?

What will you read next?

Have a wonderful week & happy reading:)

11 thoughts on “Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up: 9/3 – 9/9/18”

  1. Ooh what are your thoughts on The Queen on Renthia series!? I remember adding book one onto a list to keep an eye on when it came out but never really heard much about it. Worth a read?! Also, I haven’t read your book haul yet but I saw that you discovered the book outlet XD XD I’m so glad I don’t live in America or I’d be on that website 24/7 buying books haha

    Like

    1. Oops autopasted here without meaning to. xD Lucky you for being able to go to another author event! Kind of makes it up a little for being so busy. 😉 Have a wonderful week!

      Like

    1. I gave it a 3.75 star rating. It just didn’t have that spark that the first book did… BUT I think this might have to do with the audiobook narration. I also was sad that Delaina wasn’t really the main character in the second book… I think the 3rd book is going to be EPIC though!

      Like

  2. YES! I *adore* The Broken Earth trilogy! N.K. Jemisin’s writing makes me so happy. Have you read any of her other works? They aren’t quite as polished, but they are still a ton of fun.

    I’m glad you were able to attend Jacqueline Woodson’s book tour stop and there were children there! Yay! That means she is connecting with the right audiences. 🙂 Did you get any books signed?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t! Do you have any recommendations?! I definitely want to read more of her work. AND did you hear The Fifth Season is going to be a TV show?!?!

      And of course I got my copies of Another Brooklyn and Feathers signed. I also bought a copy of her new book, Harbor Me, which I’m super excited to read 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I really enjoy Jemisin’s Inheritance Trilogy. Personally, I find those books more accessible only because they are a bit simpler in plot line. They still have amazing twists, incredible characters, and complex societal systems, but they don’t quite reach the level of The Broken Earth. The first book in the series, The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms is her debut novel. Keep that in mind if you pick it up. Mind. Blown.

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.