Wrap Ups & Hauls

Weekly Wrap-Up: 8/8 – 8/14/16

 WW814

 Happy Sunday bookworms!

I hope everyone is having a lovely Sunday afternoon.  It has been raining all day here in Ohio, actually pretty much all weekend, which has been a nice break from the oppressive heat.  It actually worked out well since I scheduled to be home all weekend to work on potty training my toddler.  If any of you have children, then you know the hell I’ve been through this weekend.  On the plus side, since I’ve been home all weekend, I’ve gotten a lot done on the blog front: finished up some book reviews, started some drafts for few discussion posts, and I even started writing a post for my 6 month blogiversary that is coming up next week!  Yay for productivity!

Here is what I had going on this week…

*Weekly Wrap-Up is a weekly post where I feature what posts were published on the blog for the past week, any bookish/blog happenings, what I recently finished reading, what I am currently reading, and what I will be reading next.

This week on the blog:

Monday 8/8

Image [778068]Book Review: The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2) by Maggie Stiefvater

Tuesday 8/9

Bookclub readsTop Ten Tuesday: Book Club Reads

Wednesday 8/10

BlueLilyLilyBlueReviewBook Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3) by Maggie Stiefvater

Friday 8/12

TheProblemWithForeverReviewBook Review: The Problem with Forever by Jennifer Armentrout


Bookish/Blog happenings:

 Nothing significant to share this week 🙂


Recently finished reading:

51Qf04aUqVL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_AmazonGoodreads

Star ratings (2)

I am going to throw it out there and say this is going to be my favorite read of 2016.  McDaniel’s writing is unlike any other author I’ve ever read before.  It’s so profound, raw, and beautifully lyrical.  I was literally highlighting passages on almost every page. This book isn’t going to be for everyone, there are definitely some hard parts to read, but I think this is a important read.  I feel so lucky to have had the opportunity to read it!  Review to come soon.


Currently reading:

51hdo1g8aSL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

AmazonGoodreads

The Love that Split the World was the next book up on my August 2016 TBR for the BBTB Book Festival.  I am about 40% through and am loving the concept of this book so far!  I love that the main character is of Native American decent and am really enjoying the Native American legends and folklore included.

51lfCo3jA3L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

AmazonGoodreads

I am 50% through Starflight now and am not sure this is going to be my cup of tea.  If I am being honest, I’ve thought about giving up on it.  I am really struggling with being indifferent to the main characters and the plot hasn’t grabbed my attention thus far.  It has gotten a little more interesting with the addition of “space pirates,” but I’ve been pretty bored until this point.  I am going to try and stick it out.


On deck:

515p3OrN1KL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_AmazonGoodreads

The Nightingale is my book club’s selection for August and I couldn’t be more excited to finally read it!


How was your week?

What are you currently reading?

What will you read next?

Have a wonderful week, and happy reading:)

18 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up: 8/8 – 8/14/16”

  1. You had a great week – my reading has been a little slow – oddly enough it hasn’t felt slow but I only have to look at the number of books to know it has been!
    Potty training = not the favourite weekend pastime!
    Hope your next week is a good one.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Yea for the rain! We are in such desperate need for rain here in SA. Can’t wait for your review on The Summer that melted Everything. Would love to look into it. I always enjoy your posts and your blog is lovely! The Nightingale is one of my favourite WWII novels. Such a gorgeous read. It was actually my first book review on my blog. Just over 4 months ago. Hope your upcoming week will be great. Here’s my Sunday Post:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Why thank you! I really loved TSTME! I hope you do look into it! I’m excited to read The Noghtingale, and would love to read your review and Sunday Post, can you link it again? For some reason the link didn’t post.

      Like

  3. Oh, I am so, so sad Starflight is not working for you! But I definitely understand. I actually find the thought of adults reading this so funny because of the space pirates ahah ❤ but then again, I am an adult. It's just so uncharacteristic, you know what I mean? The Summer that Melted Everything is SO on my TBR shelf and you definitely have to give It Ends With Us a chance! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have seen The Summer That Melted Everything absolutely everywhere recently! It was released a few weeks ago, I believe, so it makes sense that the reviews are coming in. I also noticed that many of the reviews for it on Goodreads were ARCs, which means the author was doing her best to promote this book to ensure success. She actually emailed me in July asking for a review, but I wasn’t accepting review requests at the time so I had to pass. Looks like a really good book, though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Everyone I know who reviewed it was contacted by her directly. She has really done an amazing job of marketing her book. I really admire her for her hard work and determination! Her book really speaks for itself though. I have been working on my review and it is going to be so hard to do this book justice. I would be very interested in your thoughts on this one. Have you read To Kill a Mockingbird? It had some similar themes and tones.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.