Book Reviews, Fantasy, Young Adult

Book Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3) by Maggie Stiefvater

BlueLilyLilyBlueReview

The Raven Cycle just keeps getting better and better with each installment!  How does Stiefvater pull this off?!  Blue Lily, Lily Blue was by far my favorite book in The Raven Cycle.  Let’s find out why…

51ovH-taQgL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

Author:  Maggie Stiefvater

Series: The Raven Cycle #3

Genre: Young Adult > Fantasy

Version: Audiobook (10h 3min listening length)

Narrator: Will Patton

Publisher: Scholastic Audio

Source: Hoopla

Amazon • Goodreads

Book Synopsis:

There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up.

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.

The trick with found things though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.
Mothers can disappear.
Visions can mislead.
Certainties can unravel.


*Spoilers for The Raven Boys & The Dream Thieves (Books 1 & 2 in The Raven Cycle)*

You can read my review for The Raven Boys here → Book Review: The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater

You can read my review for The Dream Thieves here → Book Review: The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2) by Maggie Stiefvater

My Thoughts:

In Blue Lily, Lily Blue, we get back on track with the hunt for Glendower after taking a detour in the plot in the second book, The Dream Thieves.   So much happens in this book to further the main plot line, so hang on to your seats!  This book was a little more faster paced than the previous two books, which makes for a quick read.

Steifvater is quickly climbing up the ranks in my list of favorite authors.  There is just something so enticing about her writing that is hard to put into words.  Its poetically eerie… I’m sure that doesn’t make any type of sense, but it does in my head.  She is able to create characters who feel alive and then mix it with an original fantasy plot line, which creates a delightful read.  Stiefvater does such a wonderful job with the fantasy elements in this book, particularly with regards to dream thieving and Cabeswater.  Cabeswater just seems like a real place, a place that I want to go and visit.  Stiefvater is THAT talented.  For some reason, when I imagine Cabeswater, I imagine the forest in the movie AvatarAnyone else?  No?  Come on, I can’t be the only one…

I had been waiting for this book since the very beginning.  The book where I would finally get more out of Blue. We definitely get to see her personality shine through in this book.  I love how spunky and independent she is!  I also liked that we got to see some emotion in Blue, I wasn’t convinced she wasn’t a robot.  Blue goes through a lot in this book, not only does she have to deal with the disappearance of her mother, but she is also trying to sort out her feelings towards Gansey.  I typically am not a fan of the whole forbidden romance thing but holy crap Stiefvater makes it work here.

“Blue,” he warned, but his voice was chaotic. This close, his throat was scented with mint and wool sweater and vinyl car seat, and Gansey, just Gansey.

She said, “I just want to pretend. I want to pretend that I could.”

Someone grab a fire extinguisher to put out the flames!  You can literally feel the tension between them.

As much as I enjoyed the budding romance, I still have not connected with Gansey’s character.  I do like that he is starting to be more REAL and is starting to lower his “Richard Gansey III front,” but he just seems so muted in comparison to the rest of the characters… I am really hoping that Gansey steps it up in the next book.  I would really hate to not connect to the lead male character in the series.

Speaking of stepping it up, this is the first book where I actually saw a glimmer of hope in liking Adam’s character. Adam is slowly starting to realize that his friends actually CARE about him and do not just pity him.  I really hope he doesn’t f*** it up in the next book… Don’t ruin my trust Adam.  Do the right thing.

Ronan is on point as per usual.  Even though he is a little asshole, he is THEIR asshole. I think we can all agree that Ronan is one of those selfless people who would give the shirt off his back or even risk his life for any of his friends.  I particularly adore the quick moments between Ronan and Blue where you can really tell she broke through his hard shell and won a place in his heart.    We also see a glimmer of Ronan’s true affections towards a certain someone… I don’t think I am alone in wondering how it is all going to pan out.

We are introduced to a few new faces in this book as well.  My favorite being the new bad guys in town, Greenmantle and Piper.  Here is where things get blurred, because they are probably some of the most loveable villains I have ever encountered in a book.  The witty banter between them literally had me laughing out loud.  Piper!  I really tried, but I just couldn’t hate her… I mean who does that?!  Who makes bad guys that I struggle to hate like I am supposed to?!  Kuddos to Stievfater for being a badass rule breaker.

Unfortunately, one of the best characters in the series doesn’t make it through this book.  I didn’t realize how upset I would be losing this character!  I honestly didn’t see this one coming and it hit me like a ton of bricks.  This just goes to show you how REAL the characters in this series feel.  They come alive and leap off the pages and into your heart.

This is my favorite book in the series thus far!  How is it possible that this series only gets better and better with each book?  I was completely enthralled from the beginning to the end.  Interestingly enough, this was the shortest book in the series coming in almost 2 hours shorter listening length than the first two books.

Yet again we are left hanging from a cliff at the this book.  Since this happened in the previous two books, I was not surprised.  I think we are all wondering by this point… will Gansey live?


Noteworthy Quotes:

“Humans were so circular; they lived the same slow cycles of joy and misery over and over, never learning. Every lesson in the universe had to be taught billions of times, and it never stuck.

Maybe it was good that the world forgot every lesson, every good and bad memory, every triumph and failure, all of it dying with each generation. Perhaps this cultural amnesia spared them all. Perhaps if they remembered everything, hope would die instead.”

“He left bloody fingerprints on the rock, but there was something satisfying about that.
I was here. I exist. I’m alive, because I bleed.”

“Desire and dread lay right next to each other in his heart, each sharpening the other.”


My Rating:

Star ratings (2)


About the Author:

1330292New York Times bestselling author of The Shiver Trilogy, The Raven Cycle, and The Scorpio Races. Artist. Driver of things with wheels. Avid reader.

All of Maggie Stiefvater’s life decisions have been based around her inability to be gainfully employed. Talking to yourself, staring into space, and coming to work in your pajamas are frowned upon when you’re a waitress, calligraphy instructor, or technical editor (all of which she’s tried), but are highly prized traits in novelists and artists. She’s made her living as one or the other since she was 22. She now lives an eccentric life in the middle of nowhere, Virginia with her charmingly straight-laced husband, two kids, two neurotic dogs, and a 1973 Camaro named Loki.

WebsiteBlogTwitter • FacebookThe Raven Cycle Website

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3) by Maggie Stiefvater”

Leave a Reply

