Monthly TBRs, Other

August 2016 TBR

Image [519550]

Hello again!  It has been a while since I have done a TBR post.  I found that I rarely ever kept to them, so why bother?  This month I WILL be keeping to my TBR list… No, really!

And here is why…

In October I will be attending a book festival called Books by the Banks.  This is an annual book festal held in Cincinnati, Ohio, about an hour away from me.  This will be my first book festival, so I am geeking out in anticipation!  The author lineup is slowly starting to be released as more and more authors confirm their attendance.  In preparation, I will be reading books by as many of the confirmed authors as I can before October.

Here are the books that I am planning on tackling in August…

 

 

The Summer that Melted Everything by Tiffany McDaniel

Starflight by Melissa Landers

The Love that Split the World by Emily Henry

Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson

Little Nothing by Marisa Silver

The only problem I may run into with this TBR is that Little Nothing doesn’t come out until September 13th.  I have requested a review copy via NetGalley, but with the hole I have dug myself with NetGalley (let’s just say I was a tad request happy and was granted a ridiculous amount of books that I wasn’t expecting… ) who knows if I will actually be awarded a review copy.

Theses are just a few of the confirmed authors for BBTB, so I will hope to tackle more in September.  I’m also interested to see if any more authors will be added to the lineup.

And of course there is ONE more book I am planning on reading in August…

IMG_8349 [513338].JPG

Look what arrived this morning!!!! Best. Book mail. Ever.  I may have to put my current reads on hold to dig into this bad boy…


Which books are on your August TBR?

Any fellow book bloggers planning on attending BBTB?!

33 thoughts on “August 2016 TBR”

  1. I’ve heard such mixed reviews on Starflight, curious to hear your thoughts. I have Furiously Happy the audiobook & I listened to the first few chapters but got distracted & stopped listening. Thanks for the reminder lol.

    P.S. Cursed Child TRUMPS ALL! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve seen mixed reviews as well. Here is hoping for the best!

      I’ve also seen lots of mixed feeling for Furiously Happy… So I’m crossing me fingers for that one too.

      I’m 100 pages into The Cursed Child and loving life ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol Cursed Child is sitting on my shelf at home but I just received my other copy this afternoon in the office smh 🙈 I want to read it all in one day but I’m also so scared to have it end all over again…the inevitable😩 lol

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sweet TBR! I remember Emily Henry’s book was a pretty big deal when it just came out, so I hope you’d enjoy it! Also, the festival sounds super exciting.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m like you and often don’t stick to a monthly TBR, but a book club I participate in on Goodreads has some intriguing reading options this month. I’m planning to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Pecular Children, Lilac Girls and The Life We Bury all from the monthly book club reads. I’m currently reading Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix and listening to The Gracekeepers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. All of those books are on my TBR!! I’ve been meaning to read Miss P.’s HFPC since FOREVER! My son wants to see the movie, so I told him I would IF he read the book… but I get to read it first lol If I don’t he will spoil it for me! Hope you have a wonderful reading month in August!

      Like

  4. The only one I haven’t heard of is Little Nothing. The rest I also still want to read. Will be looking forward to your reviews! I’ll hang on before reading Harry Potter, not thatvI don’t want to, just to savour the anticipation… have a look at my August Library Card!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great TBR! I just finished Harry Potter and The Cursed Child I wasn’t planning on reading it right away but the fear of spoilers got the better of me 😄 Hope you enjoy it and the event! How awesome that you get to meet Authors, I’m going to an event this month as well and get to meet Rainbow Rowell, I can’t wait 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That was my fear too!! I could have read it in one sitting but my children demanded that I needed to pay attention to them and feed them 🙂 I am going to finish it up tonight! I am loving it so far.

      So exciting that you get to meet RR!!! Can’t wait to read all about it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha Silly Children and having to feed them! Don’t they know you have Harry Potter in your hands after all these years bahahahah. She’s appearing at The Melbourne Writers festival so hopefully I can make a post dedicated to the weekend it’s on 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Ooh, I haven’t read any of the titles on your TBR, but Melanie over at Grab the Lapels posted an insightful and well-balanced review of Furiously Happy a little while back. Also, I totally feel you with the NetGalley requests! I find it tricky because you never really know which titles you’ll be approved for and I’ve definitely fallen into the trap of requesting a bunch I’m interested in, then having most of them approved, which pushes down my response rating. It’s also tough when a lot of the books won’t be released for months and I don’t want to be posting reviews that far ahead of time. #niceproblemstohave

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the tip about Melanie’s review! I follow her, so I may have read it before, but you know how many fellow bloggers reviews we go through lol

      I’m so glad I’m not alone in my NetGalley hole! I’ve literally banned myself from getting on NetGalley until I read down this impossibly long list of books!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve just come out of a self-imposed ban, although I’m still a bit behind! I’m taking advantage of the miserable weather here to make a good dent in my reading pile!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

