Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Books Outside My Comfort Zone

Image [264076].jpg

Hello and welcome to my Top 5 Wednesday post!

T5W is a weekly meme is hosted by Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes.  You can visit the Goodreads T5W group for more info.

118368

This week’s theme is…

July 6th: Favorite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone

» The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkein

dfds

Amazon // Goodreads

Genre: High Fantasy

I don’t read much fantasy in general, let alone HIGH fantasy.  I read this book back in high school MANY years ago.  I loved it so much.  I am long overdue for a re-read.


» The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

865Amazon // Goodreads

Genre: Inspirational

I am not one for inspirational books.  They always feel too “preachy” to me.  The Alchemist was unlike anything I had read before.  This book was beautiful and profound.  I was surprised how much I enjoyed it and even more surprised with the lessons this book taught be about life.  You can read more here → 5 Things The Alchemist Taught Me About Life


» A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

51-CraQeweL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Genre: Fantasy

Again, not much for fantasy, but this book blew me away.  Schwab is an absolutely brilliant writer.  Definitely one of my new found favorite authors!  You can read my review here → Book Review: A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab


» The Orchard: A Memoir by Theresa Weir

51pfdXyzcqL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Genre: Nonfiction > Memoir

I rarely read nonfiction because it usually bores me to tears.  I actually picked this book up on accident during a thrift store excursion.  I failed to notice that instead of the fictional book I thought it was, that it was actually a memoir.  I decided to give it a try anyways and am glad I did!  You can read my review here → Book Review: The Orchard by Theresa Weir


 » The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

41bOj-am1RL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Amazon // Goodreads

Genre: YA Science Fiction > Dystopia

When I read the book synopsis for this book I literally thought to myself “this isn’t my type of book at all!”  I am so happy that I gave this series a chance.


Which books did you enjoy that are outside of your comfort zone?  Feel free to link to your own T5W post!


20 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Books Outside My Comfort Zone”

      1. I finished book 1, but was honestly not that impressed! haha. It made me sleepy…I read it as an adult, after having read countless other Fantasy stories and epics. So yeah, I probably won’t ever read the books themselves. The movies were enough.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I haven’t read the Hobbit in years, but the main LOTR trilogy is definitely something you have to commit to slogging through. I quit for a whole month in the middle of the Council of Elrond chapter because I thought it was never going to end. Hunger Games didn’t make my list but I was definitely apprehensive about the premise at first. Hmm…child murder fest…hmm. Ended up being great, though!
    Here’s my list! https://bookfreakout.wordpress.com/2016/07/06/t5w-a-lack-of-comforts/#more-5045

    Liked by 1 person

      1. The biggest hurdle I had to get over with reading LOTR was being ok with not comprehending every detail. I like to savor words and will re-read a page sometimes 5 or 6 times before I move on, but you just can’t do that with Tolkien or you’ll get bogged down and never go anywhere. It took me a while to realize that it would be ok and I wouldn’t miss something key if I skimmed through lengthy descriptions and overly-detailed histories, of which there are a HUGE amount.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

