Wrap Ups & Hauls

Weekly Wrap-Up: 7/4 – 7/10/16

 Image [423386].jpg

Happy Sunday!  I hope I find you all well.  Did everyone have a good weekend?  Yes?

Personal Update:  I have been a little MIA for the past 2 weeks.  We lost a family member after a short battle with colon cancer.  After the funeral, our extended family went on our annual trip Lake Erie for the 4th of July.  It was really nice to get away and spend some family time together after the funeral.   While we were there, we released sky lanterns in memory of our loved one.

Now it is time to heal and get back to reality.  Reading and blogging will be a helpful distraction.  We never forget, but time heals.

This week on the blog:

Wednesday 7/6

Image [264076]Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Books Outside My Comfort Zone

Image [239379]

Book Review: The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater

Thursday 7/7

Image [313322]

Blog Award: The Dragon’s Loyalty Award

Sunday 7/10

Image [409883]Book Review: June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore


Bookish happenings:

 IMG_7955 [415933]

 I was able to get some work done on my Little Free Library!  Finding time to work on this project has been a struggle, but I am hoping to be done painting this week.  Once I finish painting, I can have my Dad do some finishing touches (like attach the door), then it will be time to dig the hole for the post and get this baby up and running.

*Don’t worry, the blue trim is just tape and will actually be off-white.  I am going for a barn/rustic look.  See below for my inspiration…

FullSizeRender [419635]


Recently finished reading:

412XH9UvpbL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

AmazonGoodreads

Star ratings (4)

Now before you all grab the pitchforks, let me explain.  I really didn’t want to give this book a star rating because it wasn’t a book I would have chosen to read for myself.  I read this book to get a better understanding of my friend who is the epitome of a fangirl and even writes fanfiction for the TV show Once Upon A Time.  This book 100% gave me a better understanding of the world of fandoms and fanfiction writing.  I thought it was a light and entertaining book, however there were some shortcomings.  Obviously it would have had more appeal if it was more relatable to me.  I am going to do something different with my review for Fangirl since I don’t really think it would be fair to write a conventional review.  Stay tuned 🙂

51iHtmoxuaL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_AmazonGoodreads

Star ratings (3)

I finished this book this morning while I was working on painting my Little Free Library (I listened to this via audiobook).  I often do not read series because the subsequent books never seem to be as good as the first book, but The Dream Thieves was just as good as The Raven Boys.  I think what I am going to do is hold off on this review until I have finished the series and do mini reviews of books 2-4 together in one post.  To be continued…


Currently reading:

13158800AmazonGoodreads

I started this book while I was up at Lake Erie, but I didn’t get much reading done while on vacation.  I am only about 15% through this book.  It was a slow start, but things are starting to pick up!

 51ovH-taQgL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_AmazonGoodreads

Since I finished The Dream Thieves earlier today, I went ahead and started listening to Blue Lily, Lily Blue.  I am only 12% through, but so far so good!  From the title and synopsis, I am asuming this book is going to be more about Blue.  I look forward to learning more about her.


On deck:

51Own2wS8IL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

AmazonGoodreads

I received this book via The Reading Room and I can’t wait to see what it’s all about.  I don’t know about you all, but I’m a sucker for books that involve a circus.

51Sx7JmIAIL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_AmazonGoodreads

One of my best friends in real life just read this book (twice actually) and loved it so very much.  I promised her I would try it out.


How was your week(end)?  What is on the bookish schedule for this coming week?

 

7 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up: 7/4 – 7/10/16”

Leave a Reply

