Wrap Ups & Hauls

Weekly Wrap-Up: 2/6 – 2/12/17

wwu

Happy Sunday bookworms!

I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend.  I wanted to give everyone a heads up that I may be a little MIA this coming week and into the following week.  Why?  My family and I are heading to Florida for a little fun in the sun 🙂  We will be spending a few days visiting Disney World, then we will be heading to Sarasota for a few days.  I’ve been working on trying to schedule a few posts for when I am away, but it can be hectic preparing for a family vacation so no promises.

I had a very productive reading and blogging week last week, so there’s that.  I was able to finish up 4 books, but before you get too excited 2 of them were middle grade books.  I also was able to get 3 book reviews up on the blog.  So far so good with my goal to knock out my ridiculous back log of book reviews.

Let’s see what I read and reviewed this week…

*Weekly Wrap-Up is a weekly post where I feature what posts were published on the blog for the past week, any bookish/blog happenings, noteworthy posts around the bookish blogosphere, what I recently finished reading, what I am currently reading, and what I will be reading next.

booktopboarder

This week on the blog:

*I did warn you February was going to be review heavy 🙂

Tuesday 2/7

thegirlscover

Book Review: The Girls by Emma Cline

Wednesday 2/8

smallgreatthingscover

Book Review: Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult

Friday 2/10

george

Kids’ Corner: Why You Should Read George by Alex Gino with Your Kids

booktopboarder

Bookish/Blog happenings:

» I attended an author event this past Tuesday for Brit Bennett, author of The MothersIt was a blast.  I really enjoyed listening to Brit read from and discuss her debut novel.  I’ve heard many good things about this book, so I am really excited to pick it up.  More details about this event to come in a post this week!

» I bought a copy on Neil Gaiman’s newest book, Norse Mythology on release day, but not just any copy, a SIGNED copy.  I wasn’t about to let the opportunity to own a signed NG book slip through my hands, so of course I bought it 🙂


Around the blogosphere:

» Shealea @That Bookshelf Bitch celebrates a milestone by hosting a giveaway → 1,500 followers and 25,000 visits!!! [And a giveaway]

» Cait @Paper Fury shares unrealistic things that happen in YA books → Unrealistic Happenings In YA Books That Make Me Fly Away Upon A Pigeon And Ne’er Return

» Jess @JBelkBooks shares her guide to diversity → A Small Guide to Diversity | Chat with JBelkBooks

» Fadwa @Word Wonders talks about Muslim representation in books → Why don’t I see myself? Muslim Representation in Books

» Margot @Lectito shares 2o bookstagramers you should follow → 20 Bookstagrammers to follow in February

» Danielle @Books, Vertigo and Tea discusses the pros and cons of series →  Let’s Talk Series (As in book Series)

» Jackie @Death by Tsuduko gives you 5 reasons to join a book club → Building Better Book Clubs: Five Reasons To Join a Book Club

» Sammie @Bookshelves & Biros gives us 9 Valentine’s Day reads → 9 Valentine’s Day reads to give you all of the feels

booktopboarder

What have I been reading?

*Book titles link to Goodreads

Recently finished reading:

» A Sparrow in Terezin by Kristy Cambron

asparrowint

5-Star Rating System

Much like The Butterfly and the Violin, Kristy Cambron has a very refreshing take on WWII fiction in this book.   I love learning new aspects about WWII which was such horrific time in our world’s history.  Cambron has a way of finding the beauty (art) in the darkest of places.  I had no idea that thousands of pieces of art were created by children in the Terezin concentration camp.  These drawings, created with smuggled art supplies, were hidden and later retrieved.  This artwork can now be viewed at the Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington D.C.  Similar to my feelings of The Butterfly and the Violin, I was not a big fan of the story line that took place in present time, but really enjoyed the storyline that occurs in the past.  In my opinion, both books would have benefited without Sera’s story, but this book especially.

*Part of my SOKY Book Fest TBR

» State of Wonder by Ann Patchett

stateofwonder

5-Star Rating System

My first Ann Patchett book!  I really loved the premise of this book: a drug company is developing a top secret drug in the Amazon when a company representative dies under suspicious circumstances… I don’t believe I’ve ever read a book set in the Amazon, so I was very excited to pick this book up.  Now this book was very slow to get going, but once our main character reaches the Amazon, things really picked up.  The cast of characters in the book were not likeable, which added to the suspense of the book because you questioned everyone’s motives.  HOWEVER if you need to like or connect to characters to like a book, you may want to skip this one.  I really struggled with my rating for this one as I did have some issues with it, but on the other hand I did enjoy it.  I would probably say my rating is 3.5 stars rounded up to 4 🙂

State of Wonder would make for a fantastic film adaptation…

*Part of my SOKY Book Fest TBR

» When the Sea Turned to Silver by Grace Lin

whentheseaturnedtosilver

5-Star Rating System

What a beautiful middle grade book filled with Chinese mythology and folklore!  I was fully immersed in this ode to storytelling.  I also adored the gorgeous illustrations included, and only wished there were more… I know, I’m greedy.  Review to come!

» Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

browngirldreaming5-Star Rating System

That’s right y’all.  I read a book in verse.  Surprised?  Me too.  You want to know something even more surprising?  I really enjoyed it!   I even put sticky notes into the passages I felt spoke the most to me.  Review to come!


Currently reading:

» The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis

thewolfroad

Whoa is this book outside my comfort zone!  If you know me, then you may know I am a big wuss when it comes to blood.  Like I get faint just thinking about it…  so for those of you who have read this one, you can probably imagine how difficult it is for me to read this.  HOWEVER I am really enjoying the story thus far, blood and all!  Sure I may pass out once or twice while reading, but once I come to I will keep on keeping on 🙂

» The Crystal Ribbon by Celeste Lim

thecrystalribbon

I am really loving this book!  Set in medieval China, The Crystal Ribbon is the story of Jing who is sold into an arranged marriage to be the wife and nursemaid to a 3-year-old little boy.  Life with the Koh’s is not a happy existence, but things get even worse when the Koh’s sell Jing into an even worse situation in order to pay off some debts… Jing decides she must escape and find her way back to her family and the home she grew up in.  Cannot wait to see how this story turns out.

» Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai

insideout

That’s right! I’m reading another middle grade book told in verse.  I am not very far into this one yet, but I really enjoyed reading her other book, Listen Slowly, last month, so I’m sure I will enjoy this one as well.


On deck:

» Bel Canto by Ann Patchett

bel-canto

booktopboarder

How was your week?

What are you currently reading?

What will you read next?

Have a wonderful week, and happy reading:)

18 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up: 2/6 – 2/12/17”

  1. Thank you for the mention, Amanda!! I’m glad you’re enjoying Wolf Road so far. It was definitely an interesting read for me xD I have yet to read any Neil Gaiman, but I do want to get to some of his novels sometime this year. Great post!! (:

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are so welcome! I enjoyed reading it 😊

      I finished Wolf Road and it was one wild ride. It’s one of those books that I’m not sure how I feel about it when I finish. I’m going to need to work through my feelings when I work on my review.

      I hope you do pick up a Neil Gaiman book! I discovered him last year and am devouring all of his books. If you like audiobooks, his are fantastic because he narrates them himself and he is perfect 👌🏻

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oo, well I’m glad you enjoyed Wolf Road (or so..? haha). I definitely found it quite…interesting to say the least.
        I hope to pick up a Gaiman novel soon…I think I own…two? by him, but I have yet to pick them up. I don’t read many audiobooks, but I’ll definitely consider it! (:

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the shout out! That means a lot to me.

    Dang, gurl. You are reading a TON. I’m super jealous! I just picked up Brown Girl Dreaming and I look forward to reading it. I’ve been strangely into verse lately… I blame Gretchen. 😉 I also picked up Listen, slowly! I read Inside Out and Back Again recently and loved it. It reminds me a bit of Out of the Dust; demi-journal entries about a girl growing up during hard times. It’s beautiful. I hope you enjoy it!

    And enjoy your vacation! Kudos to you for getting some posts scheduled. I did that when I was on vaca last week too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! Let’s blame Gretchen 😂

      You need to pick up The Crystal Ribbon! I think you’ll like it.

      AND I failed at scheduling posts 😂 I started a few and just couldn’t polish them up for posting. Oh well. You guys can have a much deserved break from me 😅

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahh! You’re reading Wolf Road!! I really, really want to read it! As soon as I can fit it into some of my challenges, I’ll be on it! I can’t wait to see your review for it. I’ve heard it’s amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.