Wrap Ups & Hauls

Weekly Wrap-Up: 10/24 – 10/30/16

wwu10-30

Hello my bookish buddies!

I was finally able to start getting back to the grind with regards to the blog.  Don’t get me wrong, I am still ridiculously behind with posts and reviews, but at least I was able to get a few posts up this week.  As much as I love the month of October, I will be happy to see it go.  I see the light at the end of the tunnel, and I am slowly starting to get my blogging groove back…

*Weekly Wrap-Up is a weekly post where I feature what posts were published on the blog for the past week, any bookish/blog happenings, what I recently finished reading, what I am currently reading, and what I will be reading next.

This week on the blog:

Tuesday 10/25

ttthalloweenreads

Top Ten Tuesday: Not-So-Scary Halloween Reads

Wednesday 10/26

thegraveyardbookreviewBook Review: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Friday 10/28

thecoincidenceofcoconutcakereview

Book Review: The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy Reichert


Bookish/Blog happenings:

goodreadschallengeoct

» I have now read 65 books in 2016!  I thought about adjusting my goal up to 75 books, but then I would jinx myself and I wouldn’t hit my new goal.  I’m paranoid like that.


spooktaculargiveaway

» I won the Spooktastic Giveaway hosted by Rachel @Life of a Female Bibliophile!  I’m super excited to receive my goodies 🙂


» If you follow the bookish community on Twitter, you may have seen some of the drama surrounding the new direction that BookExpo America is taking.  Below is a excerpt from the article in Publishers Weekly…

beadrama

You can read the full review here → A New Direction for BookExpo America

I have never been to BEA, but I was planning to try and possibly attend in 2018 if it was going to be held in Chicago again.  Honestly, I can see both sides of the argument here.  As a book blogger, it is hard not to take this a little personal as they have completely done away with the bloggers conference and are limiting the number of bloggers who they will allow to attend.  At the end of the day, BEA is going to do what is in the best interest of the publishers and the success of BEA.  It just stinks that small time bloggers like myself will probably have a little to no chance at getting in now.

What do you think about this new direction?


Recently finished reading:

» The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (The Chronicles of Narnia) by C.S.Lewis

thelionthewitchandthewardrobe

AmazonGoodreads

5-Star Rating System

Summary of feelings: First timer.  I would have loved this book as a kid.  I really enjoyed how the book made me feel like an old friend was telling me a story.

» Coraline by Neil Gaiman

coralineAmazonGoodreads

5-Star Rating System

Summary of feelings: This book made me feel uneasy.  Not scary per se, but definitely creepy.  The grass isn’t always greener on the other side.


Currently reading:

» Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

MPHPC

AmazonGoodreads

I decided that enough is enough!  Halloween is the perfect excuse to finally pick this one up.

» The Halloween Tree by Ray Bradbury

thehalloweentree

AmazonGoodreads

I was looking for my next audiobook when I discovered that The Halloween Tree was available on Hoopla.  I recently read Fahrenheit 451, so I definitely want to read more of Ray Bradbury’s works.  I never even knew this book existed until this week when it was featured on a Friday Face-Off post by Drew @TheTattooedBookGeek.


On deck:

» The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

theundergroundrailroadAmazon Goodreads

I had actually planned on reading this one this past week, but with it being Halloween time I put it on the back burner to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children instead.


How was your week?

What are you currently reading?

What will you read next?

Have a wonderful week, and happy reading:)

14 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up: 10/24 – 10/30/16”

  1. You mention BEA when Lilly and I were discussing it yesterday when the news was going around. We are disappointed because like you said, which we also said, we’re small time bloggers. Sooooo what’s the chance??? Lilly and I plan on attending 2017 since we both live in NYC. But with the rigorous application process, it’s kind of like a downer already. I’m sad that they won’t have the bloggers conference, it’s like they are just shutting us out in a way. However, I do understand why they’re doing it and I understand where they’re coming from. Sorry I’m writing an essay lol. I hope you have an easy upcoming week!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh man! That is such a bummer especially since you both are right there!!! I wanted to try and attend 2017, but Chicago is much closer so I would be able to drive, and the costs of staying would be much more manageable. I hope you guys still apply… little hope is better than no hope. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you both!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s hard to stay in the blogging groove but you’re definitely back in it. Well done! You’re inspiring me to try and find a way to do the same. The past few months have felt so busy. Blogging’s definitely taken a back seat to, um, life?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m about to start Miss Peregrine’s! I just got it in the mail on Saturday. How are you liking it so far? And congrats on winning the giveaway!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.