Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Facts About Me

Image [449338].jpg

Hello my lovelies!  It’s Tuesday and that means it is time for another Top Ten Tuesday post!

  What is TTT? TTT is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.  Check out their blog for more info and to see upcoming themes.

toptentuesday

This week’s theme was…

July 12: Ten Facts About Me (bookish or just general about you facts or ten facts about you as a blogger…whatever you want)

I decided that I am going to share some bookish facts about me of course!  Not going to lie, this is going to be more like 20 bookish facts about me.  Sorry, not sorry…

» Audiobooks are the shit

I discovered audiobooks at the beginning of this year, and it was the start of a beautiful friendship.  Now I listen to books while commuting, running, doing housework, etc. etc.  My local library offers a program called Hoopla, which is basically a digital database of ebooks, audiobooks, TV shows, and movies.  The best part of this database is that all the titles are instantly available, there is not a set amount of downloads available, therefore no wait lists.

» My favorite genre is historical fiction

There is something about being transported back into time that is just magical.

» I take notes while reading

I will write down the basic plot line, major details, thoughts and impressions.  This makes writing the review so much easier.  Also, writing notes helps me to remember the storyline better.  When you read 60-75 books a year, things tend to get a little fuzzy after a while.

» When ebook readers first came out, I swore I would never buy one

I did finally get a Kindle, however I only read review copies sent to me on it.  I will never give up my paper copy books.

» I have never purchased an ebook

Why purchase a digital copy when I could buy the print form and display it on one of my beautiful bookcases?

» I married a non-reader

He never reads.  Like ever.  Unless of course you count the news… He is a big TV watcher.  I hardly watch any TV… I really can’t tell you how this works.  I guess it’s true what they say, opposites do attract 🙂

» I am going to get a bookish tattoo in the fall… IF I can narrow down what I want

I really want a watercolor tattoo of a stack of books.  Or maybe a bookish quote?  Or maybe a Harry Potter tattoo?  I guarantee I will end up getting all of the above.

» I RARELY read non-fiction

It puts me to sleep.  I try, I really do.

» I have a hard time NOT finishing a book

It KILLS me to not finish a book.  I have only not finished a few books in my life.  Maybe 5 total?

» I ALWAYS read 2 books at a time: 1 audiobook and 1 paper/ebook

I always make sure to read two different genres at a time.  I find that this helps prevent getting burnt out or going into a slump.  I am constantly switching it up.

» I prefer to own my books vs. borrowing them

Hello.  My name is Amanda, and I hoard books.

» My 9 year old son isn’t much for reading and it kills me a little on the inside

I have really struggled with the fact that my son isn’t a big reader.  I almost feel like I have failed him by not instilling my love for reading in him.  Getting him to read 30 minutes every day is a battle.  When he does read, it is usually nonfiction books about sports or history.  The only fiction books I can get him interested in are illustrated/graphic novels (think Diary of a Wimpy Kid).

» I don’t lend out my books anymore

Nope.  I spend too much money on books and too much effort in keeping them in good condition to have someone mess them up or not return them.  If this is wrong, then I don’t want to be right.

» This year I have started branching out from my reading comfort zones

Before this year, I only read historical fiction and some contemporary.  It was very rare that I read outside of these genres.  Now I am reading all kinds of genres and am so glad I have come out of my shell.

» My baby brother kicks my ass at reading

Growing up, my little brother and I were really the only members in our family who read consistently.  He is a super fast reader and I am slightly bitter about it.

» My books are arranged by genre on my bookcases

I know the whole color things looks neat, but the thought of mixing my books up like that stresses me out.

» I don’t use fancy bookmarks. 

I usually use whatever is laying around when I reach a stopping point.  Once I used a stick of gum.  True story.

» I used to be a spine breaker 

The shame!  I was young and didn’t care about the condition of my books.  A moment of silence for all the book spines I broke…..


What about you?!   What are some bookish facts about yourself?  Feel free to link up to your own TTT post!

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Facts About Me”

  1. I am hesitant to loan my books out as well. I will to people I really trust, but I keep the dust cover.

    I am also considering not loaning books to my husband anymore. 😛 He dropped my copy of Truthwitch in a parking lot and dinged it up and his boss dropped a strawberry on my copy of Uprooted. *sighs* It’s ok, though. I love him.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Hahaha. I loan them to him because I want him to love the things I love. It only works out sometimes. He did end up adoring Uprooted, and it’s only got one tiny pink spot to show for it. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  2. My fact is probably that I have a copy of nearly all of my books on ereader and in physical form especially if it’s a series. If I only own the first book in physical form and want to read the next right away but don’t have it I’ll buy the ebook and then order the real one online as well! Luckily I’ve cut back on doing this with my library ebook app, its a life saver but they don’t have a large selection 😦 I started reading/listening to Audio books a month ago and there fantastic! I’m mainly doing re-reads with them.
    My Partners a non-reader as well but he loved to go and watch the book to movie adaptations and have me fill him in on all the little details the movie missed out on, I’m trying to get him into Audiobooks but it’s a slow progress XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t even think about the convos be factor of buying an ebook and instantly having it vs waiting for the paper to arrive! Makes sense!

      Audiobooks for re-reads is a fabulous idea! Have you found that you like the book better or worse via audiobook? I’ve often wondered if I would like a book as much via paper copy… I really want to listen to the Harry Potter series via audiobook bc I’ve hear it’s amazing!
      Good luck with the partner! Seems like I’m not the only one who has t given up hope that they can convert their significant other 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It really depends on the narrator I read six of crows and I listened to the audio book and the audiobook was fantastic but I think I enjoyed reading it better but maybe that’s because I read it first? I don’t know 🙈😋
        I’m going to do a re-read of Harry Potter this year I might do a mix of audiobooks and the physical copies ☺️

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha we have so much in common! I do loan my books out to one friend, because she’s a hoarder in the making and understands my deep love for my books and returns them quickly. I’m also still a spine breaker…sometimes. Lol. Depends on the condition of the book or the edition. My husband reads a zillion books at once and often leaves them unfinished for so long that I get annoyed and reshelf them. Lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t found a friend with my high standard of care yet 😜. Do you and your husband share similar tastes in books?! I always wondered what it would be like to have a husband that would read books and discuss them.

      Like

      1. I can’t imagine what it’s like to have a husband who didn’t read! Esp with almost 2k books in the house, at least he partially understands my obsession. We do share some tastes in fantasy and even middle grade, so it’s great when we can read the same books and discuss them.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It can be challenging. Actually now that I think of it, if he was obsessed with books like I am I would have to share my book buying budget with him… I think I like things the way they are lol We try to find common ground in TV shows. Typically we will find a show we both enjoy and watch an episode each night together, then go our separate ways 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.