Features, Wrap Ups & Hauls

Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up: 1/29 – 2/4/17

BWWu5.jpg

Hello and happy Sunday bookworms!

If you are here in the U.S. like me, happy Super Bowl Sunday!  My family is getting ready to head out to attend a party & watch the football game.  I could really care less who actually wins though, as I’m not a big fan of either team.  My own team, the Green Bay Packers, had a rough go of it this year.  I guess if I had to pick I’d say I will be rooting for the Philadelphia Eagles since I don’t really care for Tom Brady much.  Who will you be rooting for?  Will you be watching the game tonight?

Let’s get to the books!

*Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up is a weekly post where I feature what posts were published on the blog for the past week, any bookish/blog happenings, what I recently finished reading, what I am currently reading, what I will be reading next, noteworthy posts around the bookish blogosphere, and any interesting bookish articles I came across.

Divider2

ThisWeekOnTheBlog.jpeg

Wednesday 1/31

RisukoBR

Book Reiew: Risuko: A Kunoichi Tale by David Kudler

Thursday 2/1

Jan18WU

January 2018 Reading Wrap-Up + Book Haul

Friday 2/2

Feb18TBR

February 2018 TBRDivider2WhatImReading.jpeg

*Book titles link to Goodreads

Recently Finished Reading:

» Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

SimonVs.

add-to-goodreads-button

Feelings in a few thoughts:

  • I would have adored this book when I was in high school.  This is such an appropriate YA romance.
  • There isn’t much of a plotline – this is a very character driven story.
  • Would recommend to fans of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe BUT I felt the pacing of this book was much better than Aristotle and Dante
  • Positive family dynamics with parents that are actually involved with their children’s’ lives.  A teenager actually got grounded in a YA book?!  Thank you!  I don’t know about you all, but I spent much of my teen years grounded.
  • Positive friendships for the most part – just a smidge of “girl hate” in Leah & Abby’s relationship, BUT there was at least a reasoning behind it.
  • The author nailed Simon’s perspective – I really felt like I was in the head of a teenager.
  • There were two parts in the plot that annoyed me a little – they both have to do with separate fights that Leah & Abby have with Simon… Really?  HOWEVER I try to keep in mind that these are teenagers.
  • FYI: Simon’s last name (Spier) is pronounced “SP-EAR” – I just looked at the spelling and if I hadn’t listened to it via audiobook I would have been pronouncing it “SPY-ER”

» Binti (Binti #1) by Nnedi Okorafor

Binti

add-to-goodreads-button

5-Star Rating System

Feelings in a few thoughts:

  • This world gave me Star Wars and The Fifth Element vibes.
  • There were times where I had a difficult time following along & understanding the world & the concepts – this isn’t a criticism of the book per se, as it is probably more me not being able to wrap my head around everything.
  • The writing is breathtaking.
  • Themes: cultural diversity, peace, communication, customs & traditions, forging one’s own path, etc.
  • Binti was an amazing female lead – smart, talented, brave, level-headed, etc.
  • The audiobook is wonderfully narrated by Robin Miles,
  • I really wish this had been a full length novel – how was the author able to pack in such a mind-blowing world in such a short novella?!?
  • I think fans of The Fifth Season would enjoy this novella series.

» Home (Binti #2) by Nnedi Okorafor

HomeBinti

add-to-goodreads-button

5-Star Rating System

Feelings in a few thoughts:

  • loved the culture & traditions of all the different groups
  • the blend of advanced technology with primitive
  • PTSD portrayal that felt well done
  • Binti has lost her sense of self – is she still Himba?  Is she Meduse?  Or is she a little of both?  Home is about identity.
  • Binti challenges the traditional gender roles and expectations of the Himba people

» The Heart’s Invisible Furies by John Boyne

TheHeartsInvisibleFuries

add-to-goodreads-button

5-Star Rating System

*4.5 stars*

Feelings in a few thoughts:

  • Themes: intolerance & prejudice, identity, non-traditional families, forgiveness, the AIDs epidemic of the 80s, etc.
  • Story spans from 1940s through 2015 – each section jumps ahead 7 years.  The majority of the story is set in Ireland, but we also travel to Amsterdam and New York.
  • Single perspective story
  • This story is very much about the characters – multigenerational family saga
  • Slower moving plot BUT I was so invested in Cyril & the characters that I didn’t mind in the slightest
  • Dry humor & witty repartee
  • This book was very cleverly written – I really enjoyed all the parallels between the characters and how things seemed to always come full circle
  • If you are a conservative Catholic, you might want to skip this one…
  • I would recommend this one to fans of A Man Called Ove and The One-in-a-Million Boy

Currently Reading:

» Rainbow Valley (Anne of Green Gables #7) by L.M. Montgomery

RainbowValley

add-to-goodreads-button

Status: 5%

» Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman

AnansiBoys

add-to-goodreads-button

Status: Just starting


On Deck:

» As Good As True by Cheryl Reid

AsGoodAsTrue

add-to-goodreads-button

A powerful and haunting novel of a woman’s broken past and the painful choices she must make to keep her family and her home.
August 1956. After a night of rage and terror, Anna Nassad wakes to find her abusive husband dead and instinctively hides her bruises and her relief. As the daughter of Syrian immigrants living in segregated Alabama, Anna has never belonged, and now her world is about to erupt.
Days before, Anna set in motion an explosive chain of events by allowing the first black postman to deliver the mail to her house. But it’s her impulsive act of inviting him inside for a glass of water that raises doubts about Anna’s role in her husband’s death.
As threats and suspicions arise in the angry community, Anna must confront her secrets in the face of devastating turmoil and reconcile her anguished relationship with her daughter. Will she discover the strength to fight for those she loves most, even if it means losing all she’s ever known?

Divider2

AroundTheBookishBlogosphere

» Rachel @Life of a Female Bibliophile recommends books for Black History Month →Reading Recommendations: Black History Month 2018

» @The Baby Bookworm shares a few children’s picture books to read for Black History Month → Top 5: Black History Month

» Amanda @Hanging with Amanda posts romance recommendations to read in February → Romance Books to Keep you Satisfied in February

» Shruti @This is Lit guest posts on @Avalinah’s Books about how to write a review policy for your book blog → How Do I Write a Proper Review Policy? & Evelina also shares some blogging organization tips → What Tools Can Help Me Be An Organized Blogger? Blogging Calendars

» Bina @ WOC Reads shares 10 books by women of color releasing in February → 10 WOC Releases in February 2018

» Danielle @Books, Vertigo, & Tea talks all things Dystopian → Friday Favorites: Welcome to Dystopia


InterestingBookishArticles.jpeg

» The Best LGBTQ+ YA Books of 2017

» The Best Grown-Up Reads of February 2018

» Tired of Tropes: Authors Dish on the Tropes They’re Sick Of

*Personally I’m sick of love triangles, the damsel in distress, and the bad boy

» Let’s Talk About Love by Claire Kann Giveaway

*U.S. ONLY ends 2/12

Divider2

What are you currently reading?

What will you read next?

Have a wonderful week & happy reading:)

12 thoughts on “Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up: 1/29 – 2/4/17”

  1. I love your weekly wrap ups 🙂 such a great idea to share what you’ve read and liked and it introduces other blogs to us as well – love it 😍 I’m in Canada but spent a year on scholarship in Wisconsin and graduated high school there so my team is also Green Bay Packers but today I’m saying #gopatriots #sorrynotsorry 🤷‍♀️😂 as always, great post 😍💕

    Like

  2. I live overseas and didn’t realize the super bowl was this weekend until my mom told me. That’s how little I care! I do like to see the commercials, though. I was really excited to read Heart’s the more I hear about it the more I wonder if it’s not for me. I didn’t like Ove, which I think put me in the minority. I’ll still give it a chance but my expectations have been lowered, which maybe is a good thing.

    Like

  3. Go Pack Go! 🙂 I was a Philly fan for just one night last night, though. Nice to see them win!

    Another positive review for The Heart’s Invisible Furies. I have GOT to get this. Time to put myself on the waiting list for it at the library!

    Like

  4. I am so glad Binti is still delivering. I cannot wait to continue with it! I was hooked. I am really looking forward to your thoughts on the Gaiman titles and seeing your post about seeing him 😉 Thanks as always for being a hube support and sharing the post 💜

    Like

  5. You had some great reads this week! I really love Binti— it is such a unique story. I haven’t read Home or The Night Masquarade yet, but they are both high on my to read list. Will you be reading the third book?

    I noticed you didn’t add a star-rating to Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda. Is that intentional? I’m curious since I felt disconnected throughout the novel. I appreciate the voice of Simon, but I never was particularly hooked. Which is interesting, as I LOVE Aristotle and Dante— the pacing for that novel was perfect for me. How fascinating!

    Like

  6. Actually, my only reason for not jumping to buy Binti has been that it’s short! I’m super happy to hear that it’s such a mind-blowing world despite being super short 🙂 but at the same time – what a shame, huh!

    Oh wow, that cover of Rainbow Valley 🙂 beautiful!

    And thank you for sharing my post!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.