Features, Wrap Ups & Hauls

Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up: 10/1 – 10/14/18

 

BWWU

Happy Sunday bookworms!

How was everyone’s weekend?  Ours was fairly laid back, but only because my daughter is sick and we had to cancel all our weekend plans… not going to lie, I wasn’t upset about it.  It was lovely to sit around the house and not do much.

*Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up is a weekly post where I feature what posts were published on the blog for the past week, any bookish/blog happenings, what I recently finished reading, what I am currently reading, what I will be reading next, noteworthy posts around the bookish blogosphere, and any interesting bookish articles I came across.

Divider2

ThisWeekOnTheBlog.jpeg

Thursday 10/4

September2018WrapUpSeptember 2018 Reading Wrap-Up + Book Haul

Friday 10/5

October2018TBROctober 2018 TBR

Tuesday 10/9

BookBloggerRecsHorrorBook Blogger Recs: Bloggers to Follow for Horror Readers #BookBloggers

Wednesday 10/10

EveningwithJWBook Event: An Evening with Jacqueline Woodson in Conversation With Sharon Draper

Divider2

BookishBlogHappenings

» On Tuesday, October 9th I got to meet Kate Morton on her book tour for The Clockmaker’s Daughter!  More details to come in a separate post 🙂

KateMortonAuthorEvent

 

Divider2

WhatImReading.jpegRecently Finished Reading:

» The Heart Forger (The Bone Witch #2) by Rin Chupeco

TheHeartForger

add-to-goodreads-button

5-Star Rating System

*4.5 Stars*

Feelings in a few thoughts:

  • Huge thanks to Lilly @LairOfBooks for send me her extra copy of this book!  Honestly I am not sure I would have actually picked this book up had she not have sent it to me…
  • When I read the first book, The Bone Witch, earlier this year I thought the world & magic system was fascinating, but had a hard time connecting to the characters & the slow moving plot.  Ultimately I gave the book a 3/3.5 star rating.  I was open to continuing on with the series, but it wasn’t going to be a high priority.  When I decided to make September a “series September” I went ahead and decided to give it a go.  I am so happy that I continued on with this series!  The second book is SO. Much. Better!
  • Much like the first book, The Heart Forger, I really like how Chupeco tells this story alternating between the present & the past.
  • The Heart Forger is much quicker paced & action packed than the first book.  There is more magic, fighting, political intrigue, etc.
  • If you read The Bone Witch and it was just “okay” I highly encourage you to continue on with the series!!

» The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett

TheWeeFreeMen

add-to-goodreads-button5-Star Rating System
Feelings in a few thoughts:

  •  I read Good Omens which is a collaboration between Terry & Neil Gaiman, but this was my first solo Terry Pratchett book.
  • I’m starting to discover that audiobooks are probably NOT the way to go when reading a Terry Pratchett book.  Terry likes to go off on random tangents throughout his books, so following along via audiobook has been tricky.  I think I am going to try giving my next Pratchett book a go in print form.
  • I adored the main character, Tiffany, a young girl that is strong, smart, clever, & determined.
  • I am not sure how to classify The Wee Free Men… The content is older MG to younger YA, but there is plenty of humor that would go over the heads of that demographic.  I think this is why Pratchett’s books appeal to so many people.  They span age groups.
  • I love the clever & witty humor.    The Wee Free Men are a new cast of favorite side characters.  I laughed out loud on multiple occasions.

» Everealm (Everealm #1) by J.D. Wright

Everealm

add-to-goodreads-button

5-Star Rating System

Feelings in a few thoughts:

  • Everealm is told in third person omniscient POV, which made the book feel jarring with all the POV switches.  It was also hard to connect with any of the characters.
  • This book is basically YA erotica.  I have no issues with the inclusion of sex in a YA book, but the sex scenes were a tad on the crude side for a YA book.
  • The writing was on the basic side.  I think there is a lot of room for development & polishing.
  • The plot was more about the various romances than about anything else.  Not a lot actually happens in the book.

Currently Reading:

» Muse of Nightmares (Strange the Dreamer #2) by Laini Taylor

MuseofNightmares

add-to-goodreads-button

Status: 20%

» The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy (Guide #2)by Mackenzi Lee

TheLadysGuide

add-to-goodreads-button

Status: 50%


What Am I Reading Next?:

» Serafina and the Black Cloak (Serafina #1) by Robert Beatty

Serafina

add-to-goodreads-button

“Never go into the deep parts of the forest, for there are many dangers there, and they will ensnare your soul.”
Serafina has never had a reason to disobey her pa and venture beyond the grounds of the Biltmore estate. There’s plenty to explore in her grand home, although she must take care to never be seen. None of the rich folk upstairs know that Serafina exists; she and her pa, the estate’s maintenance man, have secretly lived in the basement for as long as Serafina can remember.
But when children at the estate start disappearing, only Serafina knows who the culprit is: a terrifying man in a black cloak who stalks Biltmore’s corridors at night. Following her own harrowing escape, Serafina risks everything by joining forces with Braeden Vanderbilt, the young nephew of the Biltmore’s owners. Braeden and Serafina must uncover the Man in the Black Cloak’s true identity… before all of the children vanish one by one.
Serafina’s hunt leads her into the very forest that she has been taught to fear. There she discovers a forgotten legacy of magic, one that is bound to her own identity. In order to save the children of Biltmore, Serafina must seek the answers that will unlock the puzzle of her past.

Divider2

AroundTheBookishBlogosphere

» Katie @lost in pages shares spooky book recs → Recommendations – Spooky Halloween Reads

» Fadwa @Word Wonders shares some tips for author/reviewer interactions → Author/Reviewer Interaction Etiquette Part II

» In case you missed it, Marie @Drizzle & Hurricane Books is hosting a blogging even centered around mental illness called Shattering Stigmas → Shattering Stigmas – Mental Illness Book Recs by May @My 1st Chapter

» Aimal @Bookshelves & Paperbacks gives us some lesser known Halloween reads → Books Perfect for Halloween that No One Talks About but Should


InterestingBookishArticles.jpeg

» 16 Must-Read YA Books of Fall 2018

» 20 Must-Read Middle Grade Books of Fall 2018

» 17 Fall Books Recommended by Librarians

» 10 Creepy New Books to Read This Halloween

» The Hate U Give Adaptation Gets the Bookworm Starr of Approval

» The Best Children’s and YA Books of October 2018

» 28 Crazy Creative ‘Harry Potter’ Halloween Costumes

» 23 Book-Inspired Halloween Costumes for Kids and Parents

Divider2

LetsChat

What are you currently reading?

What will you read next?

Have a wonderful week & happy reading:)

11 thoughts on “Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up: 10/1 – 10/14/18”

  1. I’m so sorry to hear your daughter is sick, I hope she will get better soon, sending tons of love!! ❤
    I haven't even read Strange The Dreamer just yet ahah, I am very late on that hype train, but I should get on it….. someday hahaha 🙂 I hope you'll love the second book!
    Thank you for sharing my post! I'm so happy you enjoyed it, it's such an honor to co-host such a great and important event ❤
    Happy reading Amanda! ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Marie! She is all better now, but was down and out for almost a week with a really nasty virus.

      I just read Muse of Nightmares and it was definitely one of my favorites of the year! I am pretty confident that you’d really like this series.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds like the Terry Pratchett book falls under the same category that a lot of animated films do now. They have to be good enough to keep children entertained, but they have to be just witty enough to get the parents to actually want to sit in the theater and not complain about the childish drivel on the screen. I think the movie Inside Out is a good example of a film that appeals to both children and adults.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly!! I remember watching the movie Shriek as a teenager and loving all the adult humor. It really makes for a movie that the whole family can watch and enjoy together. Pratchett books would be excellent books to read together with older kids.

      Like

  3. You had so many posts over the last two weeks! Well done. I know you’ve been trying to get back into the swing of things. Do you feel like you’ve found a rhythm yet?

    Oooh, I’m so nervous that I won’t enjoy The Heart Forger as i *loved* The Bone Witch! The pacing was perfect for me. #SorryNotSorry

    And, as always, I went down a black hole of those links. You do a great job showing blogger love! Keep up the great work. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh the irony of this comment lol I did have a rhythm going, but LIFE got in the way again. I know things are going to slow down mid-November, so I am trying not to stress about blogging until then. It is what it is.

      I was the opposite with The Bone Witch & The Heart Forger. I listened to the audiobook version of The Bone Witch, and wasn’t a big fan of the narration… I thought TBW was enjoyable, but didn’t knock my socks off. I liked THF sooooo much better! It is much more quicker paced and action packed, but I think you’ll still love it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Pft, take your time. I understand how life can get away from ourselves. I constantly feel like I have a million to dos. But we need to take time for ourselves and prioritize what is important to us in the middle of caring for everyone else. Don’t forget that!

        I listened to the audiobook for The Bone Witch and I didn’t particularly enjoy the narrators, so I switched to the physical book. The physical book captured my heart MUCH more than the audiobook. Poor narrators ruin everything. 😦 I’m glad that The Heart Forger was a better experience. I”m looking forward to reading it. 🙂

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.