Features, Wrap Ups & Hauls

Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up: 7/29 – 8/5/18

 

BWWU17

Happy Sunday bookworms!

Did everyone have a great weekend?  I had another great week both on the reading & blogging front.  Let’s see what I had going on this past week…

*Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up is a weekly post where I feature what posts were published on the blog for the past week, any bookish/blog happenings, what I recently finished reading, what I am currently reading, what I will be reading next, noteworthy posts around the bookish blogosphere, and any interesting bookish articles I came across.

Divider2

ThisWeekOnTheBlog.jpeg

Monday 7/31

FavBooks181sthalfFavorite Books of 2018 (1st Half)

Thursday 8/2

July18WUJuly 2018 Bookish Wrap-Up + Book Haul

Friday 8/3

Aug18TBRAugust 2018 TBR: ARC August

Divider2

BookishBlogHappenings

» Last night I attended Colleen Hoover’s book tour for All Your Perfects in Cincinnati.  I actually took 3 members of my book club with me since we read It Ends with Us as our August book selection.  A good time was had by all.

» I started the tedious process of redoing my book cases & unhauling books to make room for new inventory.  Good news is that I unhauled a good amount of books.  Bad news I now have to reshelf all my books.

Divider2

WhatImReading.jpegRecently Finished Reading:

» Bright We Burn (The Conqueror’s Saga #3) by Kiersten White


BrightWeBurn

add-to-goodreads-button

5-Star Rating SystemFeelings in a few thoughts:

  • Fantastic finish to a GREAT YA historical fiction series.  Actually, I feel like the books progressively got better with each installment.  Favorite book of the series!
  • Lada is a very complex main character.  If you are a fan of anti-hero stories, and would fancy one with a badass female anti-hero, here is the series for you!  While Lada does have some good qualities – loyalty, strength, drive, etc – she does whatever is necessary to obtain her goals, regardless of the cost.  Despite her bloodthirsty ways, I couldn’t help but like and admire Lada.
  • Radu!  I loved him more with each passing book.  His progression over the series was very satisfying to watch.  Whereas the other main characters, Lada & Mehmed, stayed constant throughout the series (Lada is vicious and Mehmed is an asshat) Radu goes through a tremendous amount of personal growth.

Feelings in a few thoughts:

  • Trigger/content warning: Domestic violence & child abuse
  • I was really nervous about this book starting off because it was giving me Fifty Shades of Grey vibes and that was not going to fly with me.  Thankfully this was NOT the case.
  • This is the type of contemporary/romance that I am on board for!  One with depth & makes you think.
  • I am a HUGE fan when authors tackle a heavy topic that make you reevaluate your previous stance on a subject by showing a side that you don’t often see.  Colleen wrote a very important perspective here.
  • I was sweating through the final chapters of this one.  My heart was in my throat the entire time.
  • The author’s note!  Do NOT skip the author’s note on this one.  My heart hurt.

» Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie

MurderOnTheOrientExpress

add-to-goodreads-button

5-Star Rating System

Feelings in a few thoughts:

  • This was my first Agatha Christie book!  I am not big on murder-mysteries, like at all.  I decided to give this one a go because I wanted to be able to say I have read one of Christie’s books.
  • The audiobook was well narrated HOWEVER I feel like I would have enjoyed this better in print form.  Because I listened to it on audiobook, I feel like I missed too many fine details I would have picked up better in print.
  • The ending! The ending was absolutely perfect and I did not see it coming at all.   The book was probably more of a 3 star reading for me (not because it is a bad book or bad writing, just because these types of books don’t interest me) UNTIL the ending.  Bravo Christie! 

Currently Reading:

» Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate

BeforeWeWereYours

add-to-goodreads-button

Status: Just starting

» The Queen of the Tearling (The Queen of the Tearling #1) by Erika Johansen

TheQueenoftheTearling
add-to-goodreads-button

Status: Just starting


What Am I Reading Next?:

» The Last Days of Night by Graham Moore

TheLastDaysofNight

add-to-goodreads-button

New York, 1888. Gas lamps still flicker in the city streets, but the miracle of electric light is in its infancy. The person who controls the means to turn night into day will make history–and a vast fortune. A young untested lawyer named Paul Cravath, fresh out of Columbia Law School, takes a case that seems impossible to win. Paul’s client, George Westinghouse, has been sued by Thomas Edison over a billion-dollar question: Who invented the light bulb and holds the right to power the country?
The case affords Paul entry to the heady world of high society–the glittering parties in Gramercy Park mansions, and the more insidious dealings done behind closed doors. The task facing him is beyond daunting. Edison is a wily, dangerous opponent with vast resources at his disposal–private spies, newspapers in his pocket, and the backing of J. P. Morgan himself. Yet this unknown lawyer shares with his famous adversary a compulsion to win at all costs. How will he do it?
In obsessive pursuit of victory, Paul crosses paths with Nikola Tesla, an eccentric, brilliant inventor who may hold the key to defeating Edison, and with Agnes Huntington, a beautiful opera singer who proves to be a flawless performer on stage and off. As Paul takes greater and greater risks, he’ll find that everyone in his path is playing their own game, and no one is quite who they seem.

Divider2

AroundTheBookishBlogosphere

» Jackie @Death by Tsundoku talks about why she’s ending things with NetGalley → Solving for Tsundoku: Breaking Up with NetGalley and shares some ways you can change things up with your book club → Building Better Book Clubs: Events to Change it up

» Margot @ Lectito shares a few things she wishes she would have known before her book was launched → Things I Wish I’d Known Before My Book Launched

» Danielle @Books, Vertigo, & Tea talks about her struggles with discussion posts → Blogging Life: The Challenges I Encounter With Discussion Posts

» Sam @Clues and Reviews discusses disappointing book endings → Discussion Post: You Had Me Until the Ending


InterestingBookishArticles.jpeg

» The Most Addictive Books of the Last 25 Years

Divider2

LetsChat

What are you currently reading?

What will you read next?

Have a wonderful week & happy reading 🙂

15 thoughts on “Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up: 7/29 – 8/5/18”

  1. Eventually, I plan to read It Ends with Us, as it has been sitting on my Kindle! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Before We Were Yours! I used to live in Memphis so I’ve heard all about Georgie Tann that did all of these god-awful things!

    Like

  2. It sounds like you had a wonderful July, Amanda! Unhauling books is so tricky… What do you do with the unhauled ones?

    I’m super excited to hear about the Colleen Hoover author event! I’m interested to hear how your experience is different when book club members are there too.

    Thanks for sharing not one but *two* of my posts! Oh wow. I feel so loved. 🙂

    I’ve only read 9 of the “Most Addictive Books of the Last 25 Years”, but I disagree with the wonderful Oprah. There are quite a few books on this list I only felt meh about. Such as The Kite Runner. I dunno, I just didn’t get into it. Do you feel these books are addictive?

    Like

    1. I did have a lovely July!

      I use all unhauled books in my Little Free Library 🙂 I try to share the wealth.

      Colleen Hoover was lots of fun with my book club! I wasn’t able to take notes like I typically do, but I enjoyed living in the moment. Plus we went out to a great Italian place afterwards 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yay! My neighborhood has two LFL’s and I love them. I try to pack them full once a quarter or so. 🙂

        I’m so glad your book club had a great time with Colleen Hoover! It doesn’t matter you weren’t able to take notes the same way. It’s the experience which matters. I find authors visits a ton more fun with people. 🙂

        Like

  3. I’m currently reading a book about a place called Ugly Town, where everyone is dead and the devil is ever expanding the place by building new (unnecessary) homes and malls. The ultimately must-have pricey item is a GIANT SUV. Then, one day, a living guy wanders in and sticks up the whole place.

    I think I’ll read Crackpot next, as that is one that many people commented on after my August reads post.

    Do you like romance books that DO have sex? I would recommend Above All by Rebecca Brooks. I really like her and her writing, and she’s just re-released this title. https://grabthelapels.com/2015/08/19/above-all/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ugly Town sounds so unique! Actually… it sounds like something Neil Gaiman would write lol

      Eh I’m not big on books where the romance is central to the plot. I am forced to read one every once in a while when one is selected for book club. I don’t mind books with sex, as long as it isn’t all that the book focuses on.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m glad you had a good experience with It Ends With Us and Murder On The Orient Express! I haven’t read a lot of her books yet, but the one title that stands out for me is And Then There Were None. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yaay! I’m so glad you’ve read an Agatha Christie! I haven’t read that one but I did see the film and whoah boy, yup, didn’t see that ending coming. And Then There Were None is a good one, albeit somewhat terrifying. Looks like a pretty good reading month for you! I fear August is going to be a slow one for me. It’s the 13 and I’ve finished a measly two books. However! I have started reading the graphic novel Maus and Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander) and I’m loving both – so maybe I can cross my fingers for a sudden reading spur??😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And Then There Were None is the second most recommended Christie books I get! I guess I’ll have to make that my next one 🙂 I think I’ll try the film of Murder on the Orient Express, but probably wait for colder weather to set the mood.

      Ooooo enjoy Dragonfly in Amber! I read the whole series (minus the latest book from 2015) back in 2009. I’m going to need you to take detailed notes and send them to me because I can’t remember everything that happens for the life of me. I need you to do this so I can finally pick up the one released in 2015.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh you must! I think you’ll really enjoy trying to work out who dunnit! I’m curious to read that one, too – the movie was really good and once again I did not expect the ending at all 😱 I really should read more of her books full stop now that I think about it 😂

        Ahahah yes ma’am!! More than willing – I’m enjoying it so much 😱 I’ll send you a book’s worth of essays on it 😜

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.