Features, Monthly TBRs

June 2017 TBR

June2017TBR.jpg

The summer months are going to be fairly busy for me since I will have my two small humans home every day during their summer vacation from school, so like I did in my May TBR (which I slayed by the way) I will be keeping June’s TBR short and sweet.   This way I know I will stick to the books I want to get read plus I’ll have some wiggle room for some mood reading.

Let’s see which books I definitely want to read this month…

Divider2

» Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

ThirteenReasons

You can’t stop the future.
You can’t rewind the past.
The only way to learn the secret . . . is to press play.
Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker–his classmate and crush–who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah’s voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out why.
Clay spends the night crisscrossing his town with Hannah as his guide. He becomes a firsthand witness to Hannah’s pain, and as he follows Hannah’s recorded words throughout his town, what he discovers changes his life forever. 

I am buddy reading this one with one of my best friends in real life, Mandi.  Our plan is to read the book, then watch the Netflix series together.

Books For Review

NetGalley TBR:

I’m still plugging away at my NetGalley TBR.  For those of you that are new around here, I went on a NetGalley request spree last year when I first joined not realizing how the whole NetGalley thing worked.  I know there are many bloggers who could knock out (read & review) 75 books in 6 months, but I am definitely not one of them.  I cannot ONLY read ARCs.  There are too many other books I want to read and have been meaning to read for years, so I try to read a few of these ARCs every month.  My goal is to have at least 50 out of these books read & reviewed by the end of this year.  As of right now I’ve read 25 of them (still need to review a few of them), so I am right on track with my goal.  I feel bad that many of these books were published last year, but I feel like a review is a review, no matter if it is close to the publication date, or a year later.   I messed up, but I am going to make it right!

» The Last Girl by Joe Hart

thelastgirl

A mysterious worldwide epidemic reduces the birthrate of female infants from 50 percent to less than 1 percent. Medical science and governments around the world scramble in an effort to solve the problem, but twenty-five years later there is no cure, and an entire generation grows up with a population of fewer than a thousand women.
Zoey and some of the surviving young women are housed in a scientific research compound dedicated to determining the cause. For two decades, she’s been isolated from her family, treated as a test subject, and locked away—told only that the virus has wiped out the rest of the world’s population.
Captivity is the only life Zoey has ever known, and escaping her heavily armed captors is no easy task, but she’s determined to leave before she is subjected to the next round of tests…a program that no other woman has ever returned from. Even if she’s successful, Zoey has no idea what she’ll encounter in the strange new world beyond the facility’s walls. Winning her freedom will take brutality she never imagined she possessed, as well as all her strength and cunning—but Zoey is ready for war.

» North of Here by Laurel Saville

NorthofHere

The sounds of unexpected tragedies—a roll of thunder, the crash of metal on metal—leave Miranda in shock amid the ruins of her broken family.
As she searches for new meaning in her life, Miranda finds quiet refuge with her family’s handyman, Dix, in his cabin in the dark forests of the Adirondack Mountains. Dix is kind, dependable, and good with an ax—the right man to help the sheltered Miranda heal—but ultimately, her sadness creates a void even Dix can’t fill.
When a man from her distant past turns up, the handsome idealist now known as Darius, he offers Miranda a chance to do meaningful work at The Source, a secluded property filled with his nature worshipers. Miranda feels this charismatic guru is the key to remaking her life, but her grief and desire for love also create an opportunity for his deception. And in her desperate quest to find herself after losing almost everything, Miranda and Dix could pay a higher price than they ever imagined.

» Enchanted Islands by Allison Amend

EnchantedIslands

Inspired by the midcentury memoirs of Frances Conway, Enchanted Islands  is the dazzling story of an independent American woman whose path takes her far from her native Minnesota when she and her husband, an undercover intelligence officer, are sent to the Galápagos Islands at the brink of World War II.
Born in Duluth, Minnesota, in 1882 to immigrant parents, Frances Frankowski covets the life of her best friend, Rosalie Mendel, who has everything Fanny could wish for—money, parents who value education, and an effervescent and winning personality. When, at age fifteen, Rosalie decides they should run away to Chicago, Fanny jumps at the chance to escape her unexceptional life. But, within a year, Rosalie commits an unforgivable betrayal, inciting Frances to strike out on her own.
Decades later, the women reconnect in San Francisco and realize how widely their lives have diverged. While Rosalie is a housewife and mother, Frances works as a secretary for the Office of Naval Intelligence. There she is introduced to Ainslie Conway, an intelligence operator ten years her junior. When it’s arranged for Frances and Ainslie to marry and carry out a mission on the Galápagos Islands, the couple’s identities—already hidden from each other—are further buried under their new cover stories. No longer a lonely spinster, Frances is about to begin the most fascinating and intrigue-filled years of her life.
Amid active volcanoes, forbidding wildlife and flora, and unfriendly neighbors, Ainslie and Frances carve out a life for themselves. But the secrets they harbor from their enemies and from each other may be their undoing.
Drawing on the rich history of the early twentieth century and set against a large, colorful canvas, Enchanted Islands boldly examines the complexity of female friendship, the universal pursuit of a place to call home, and the reverberations of secrets we keep from others and from ourselves.

Book Club Selection

» Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

Homegoing

A novel of breathtaking sweep and emotional power that traces three hundred years in Ghana and along the way becomes a truly great American novel. Extraordinary for its exquisite language, its implacable sorrow, its soaring beauty, and for its monumental portrait of the forces that shape families and nations, Homegoing heralds the arrival of a major new voice in contemporary fiction.
Two half sisters, Effia and Esi, are born into different villages in eighteenth-century Ghana. Effia is married off to an Englishman and lives in comfort in the palatial rooms of Cape Coast Castle. Unbeknownst to Effia, her sister, Esi, is imprisoned beneath her in the castle’s dungeons, sold with thousands of others into the Gold Coast’s booming slave trade, and shipped off to America, where her children and grandchildren will be raised in slavery. One thread of Homegoing follows Effia’s descendants through centuries of warfare in Ghana, as the Fante and Asante nations wrestle with the slave trade and British colonization. The other thread follows Esi and her children into America. From the plantations of the South to the Civil War and the Great Migration, from the coal mines of Pratt City, Alabama, to the jazz clubs and dope houses of twentieth-century Harlem, right up through the present day, Homegoing makes history visceral, and captures, with singular and stunning immediacy, how the memory of captivity came to be inscribed in the soul of a nation.
Generation after generation, Yaa Gyasi’s magisterial first novel sets the fate of the individual against the obliterating movements of time, delivering unforgettable characters whose lives were shaped by historical forces beyond their control. Homegoing is a tremendous reading experience, not to be missed, by an astonishingly gifted young writer.

I was thrilled when someone suggested Homegoing as our book club selection for June.  I have had this book on my shelf for almost a year now, and it is time to sit down and read it.  I’ve heard nothing but wonderful things about it.

Divider2Which books are on your TBR for June?

Have you read any of the books on my list?  If so, what did you think?

Comment below and let me know 🙂

35 thoughts on “June 2017 TBR”

  1. I really liked Homegoing! At times it was a tough read for me, but definitely worth it. Looking forward to your thoughts on it.
    Oh yes, when I first tried my hand at NetGalley I got a little carried away. I didn’t think I would get any of the books I requested, so why not request a bunch. Oops! It was a happy mistake that I’m just about done digging my way out of 😊
    You’ll get there! Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Tina! I’m happy to hear I’m not the one one who has been sucked down the NetGalley hole 😅 I am really looking forward to Homegoing this month. I hope it will make for an excellent book club discussion!

      Happy reading in June!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely agree with what you said about a review being a review despite when it’s posted. I also have many back logged NG books from early days sprees but I’d like to think that when I get around to them and post my review it may help spike new interest in a book which is still helpful publicity 🙂 have a great June!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a great TBR! I want to read 13 Reasons Why soon, too, but it’s not too big of a priority for me right now. I can totally relate to the big NetGalley spree! I did the same thing when I first joined, although luckily I got rejected for a lot of them, haha. Regardless, I’m still trying to catch up with some of the books I was first approved for. I hope you’ll enjoy Homegoing! I read it several months ago and thought it was really good.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was so conflicted with 13 Reasons Why… on one hand I think the concept was good and there was so much potential to shed some light on some big issues for teens and young adults, HOWEVER I am not necessarily sure the author took those opportunities…. I am interested in seeing how the show differs.
      I am really looking forward to Homegoing! I hope it will make for an excellent book club discussion.

      Happy reading in June!

      Like

      1. That’s pretty much what I’ve heard from other people, too; that 13RW has a lot of potential to talk about important issues, but doesn’t necessarily take the opportunity to do it/do it well. I bought it before I actually saw anything negative about it, so I’ll probably still read it just so I don’t feel like I’ve wasted my money, haha.

        Like

  4. I keep an ongoing monthly TBR based on what I think I would like to read haha. I am such a mood reader though. It can literally change day to day. I am guilty of starting a title and then the next day realizing I am no longer in the mood. It really slows my progress. Happy reading 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve found that I’ve started doing this a bit myself! I think because I always have 2-3 books going at once (always different genres) this helps me with that. If I’m not in the mood for my fantasy book, I’ll pick up the thriller, or if those aren’t doing it for me, I’ll listen to the historical fiction audiobook. BUT I’m also one of those readers who has a hard time DNFing a book… I always push through. I’ve often wondered if I don’t care for the book, or if I was just reading it at the wrong time…

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I am looking forward to hearing your thoughts about 13 Reasons Why. I read Homegoing, enjoyed it but wish it had a bit more connection at the end. It is very well written but a bit like a book of short stories. I did have to keep referring to the family tree at the beginning.

    I just finished Rainbow Valley – #7 of the Anne of Green Gables Series. Anne (which you recently read) is the best of the series although it is interesting to read about her life as she grows up, gets married and has her own family. In Rainbow Valley, she is the mom of 6!!

    Since Canada is celebrating its 150th bday, I am focusing on more CanLit these days!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had very conflicted feelings over 13 Reasons Why. On one hand I think the author had a great concept with so much potential to shed light on some serious issues that teens and young adults face, HOWEVER I’m not sure the author reached that potential… There were things I liked, and thinks I didn’t like about it. I’m interested in now watching the show and seeing if the show picks up some of the downfalls of the book.

      It’s not hard to imagine Anne being a mother to 6, but it sure is exhausting to think about! There are only 8 books in the series correct? Are you re-reading them, or have you never completed the series?

      Like

      1. I am not sure if I will get to watching the series or not.

        I have read Anne multiple times and started the rest of the series last summer. 5, 6, 7 and now 8 are books I am reading for the first time. I have seen LMM’s home in PEI and am hoping to see her home at the mance in Ontario this summer. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m super excited to read it and learn so much in the process!

      Thank you!!! I worked really hard on it, so I really appreciate you saying that!

      Hope all of your exams went well! Will we be seeing more of you around the blogosphere now?!

      Like

    1. I’m so conflicted over it. On one hand I think the author had good intentions and potential to shed light on some serious issues that teens and young adults face, HOWEVER I’m not sure the author achieved this exactly… I’m interested in seeing if the show does better with this.

      Have you seen the show?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hmmm, I feel like I would be the same way! No I haven’t seen the show yet, I’ve heard different opinions about it though. I was going to read the book first but now I’m not so sure! I know they are coming out with a season two though for the show so maybe it is good.

        Like

  6. I have read none of these! Homegoing is on my tbr though and supposed to be amazing so I hope you love it. I enjoyed the 13 reasons why TV show (it is very graphic though) but i know a lot of people either loved or hated the book with a passion, hopefully you fall on the love side. Great TBR Amanda ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was conflicted with the book… I think there was so much potential and a great concept, but that it wasn’t all that it could have been. There were good points and bad points about it. I’m interested in seeing if the show picks up where the book was lacking… I’ll definitely be doing a post after I watch the show!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. What a page turner it was! I really appreciated the concept behind it, but almost feel like the author came up super short with how much potential he had to educate others on issues like bullying and suicide… If that makes sense? I think it could have made MORE of an impact… I’ve heard the show is better with this? I really need to start my review to sort out all my feelings lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think the show went more into what’s going in personally with all the people she sends tapes too which I don’t remember the book doing. For that I think I slightly preferred the book it made the people seem like actually people and not just plot points/ Minor characters that move the book along.

        Like

  7. Pingback: July 2017 TBR

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.