Wrap Ups & Hauls

October 2016 Wrap-Up + Book Haul

OctWU.jpg

Goodbye October, hello November!

If I could sum up my October in one word it would be CHAOTIC.  My calendar was packed full of birthdays, parties, school events, football practices/games, dance classes, preschool starting, etc etc.  Needless to say, my poor little blog was put on the backburner for the majority of the month.  Not to worry my friends, I’ll catch up sooner or later, so you won’t have to hear me bitch complain forever.

On the other hand, October was a fantastic month in the reading department!  I read a total of 8 books in October, which I am super stoked about.

Let’s see what I DID get accomplished in October…

What I read in October:

» The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis

thefemaleofthespecies

5-Star Rating System

Summary of feelings: This is the YA book I’ve been waiting for!  A YA book that tackles rape culture?  Yes!  This book side swiped me, but in a very good way.

» Fractured by Catherine McKenzie

Fractured

5-Star Rating System

Summary of feelings: Really enjoyed how the author laid the book out.  Alternating from past to present & alternating POV at the same time enhanced the suspense.  Ending wasn’t as shocking as I hoped it would be, but still an enjoyable thriller.

» Stardust by Neil Gaiman

stardust

5-Star Rating System

 *Actually 4.5 stars

Summary of feelings:  My second NG book.  Lovely fairytale!  Tristran Thorn is now my book boyfriend.

» Since She Went Away by David Bell

sinceshewentaway

5-Star Rating System

Summary of feelings: Solid thriller.  Enjoyed how the two separate stories came together.  A little predictable.

» Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

fahrenheit-451

5-Star Rating System*3.5 Stars

Summary of feelings:  It took me a while to get into this one.  I think this book is timeless, as many of the themes within Fahrenheit 451 are still very relevant today.  I can’t believe it was written in the 1950s.

» A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

amonstercalls

5-Star Rating System

*4.5 stars

Summary of feelings: Not what I was expecting.  I had a pit in my stomach the entire time I was reading.  What a beautiful book about grief.

» The Lion, the Witch, and the wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

thelionthewitchandthewardrobe

5-Star Rating System

Summary of feelings:  First timer.  I would have loved this book as a kid.  I really enjoyed how this book felt like I was being told a story by an old friend.  Now that I’ve read it, I can appreciate how well done the 2005 movie adaptation is.

»Coraline by Neil Gaiman

coraline

5-Star Rating System

Summary of feelings: Picture Alice in Wonderland gone dark. Not exactly scary, but definitely creepy.  I felt uneasy while reading it. The grass is not always greener on the other side.


Other Book Reviews:

amancalledovereview

Book Review: A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

neveralwayssometimesreview

Book Review: Never Always Sometimes by Adi Alsaid

thegraveyardbookreview

Book Review: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

thecoincidenceofcoconutcakereview

Book Review: The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy Reichert

Other Posts:

Book Tag: The Halloween Book Tag

Top Ten Tuesdays

Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Pet Names

Top Ten Tuesday: Not-So-Scary Halloween Reads


October Book Haul:

I ONLY managed to acquire 13 books in October 🙂 In my defense, I only bought 9 of them AND they all were purchased at the Books by the Banks book festival, so they are all signed by the authors… so my purchasing 9 books is justified right? Right!  The other 4 books I won in a giveaway.

octoberbookhaul

» The Tension of Opposites by Kristina McBride*

» In the Context of Love by Linda Sienkiewicz*

» Let’s Pretend this Never Happened by Jenny Lawson*

» Saving Phoebe Murrow by Herta Feely*

» The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater*

» The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis*

» The Peculiar Miracles of Antoinette Martin by Stephanie Knipper*

» Fractured by Catherine McKenzie*

» The Summer that Melted Everything by Tiffany McDaniel*

» Whispers in the Night by Brandon Massey

» Bay of Fires by Poppy Gee

» Ghostly Encounters: Terrifying Tales of Paranormal Encounters by Jeff Bahr

» Legacy by Molly Cochran

*Books purchased at the BBTB book festival


How was your October?

Which books did you read?

Did you buy any books?

19 thoughts on “October 2016 Wrap-Up + Book Haul”

  1. Looks like you had a lot of great solid reads this October Amanda! I can totally relate on how hectic October was with two tiny humans of my own. I was experiencing a bit of a blogging slump but I’m beginning to climb back out of it for November thankfully 😉 I’m actually going to be reading a Fractured next & im glad to see you enjoyed it. This author has two other books I didn’t even know we’re on my TBR since last year. I’m blog hopping tomorrow morning & will be paying your reviews a visit 😃💕 Happy Reading! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh the tiny humans! Who knew they took so much time and energy?! lol My biggest struggle is that now that my 3 year old started preschool, I have a whole new set of obligations. She also started dance class, so now I have 2 kids in sports. It’s an adjustment for sure.
      I really enjoyed meeting Catherine McKenzie! She actually has a new book coming out soon called The Murder Game but it is under the name Julie Apple… basically it is a companion novel to Fractured… I am definitely going to be reading it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LOL I swear sometimes I amaze myself at how much I can get done with them, it’s def a skill i’d love to put on my resume haha! Kids in sports is awesome though, my kid is currently taking an interest in basketball & her school has a girls basketball team (5 yr old). Looking into that now but my 2 year old I can’t seem to let go of lol. I’m really looking forward to Fractured, It has amazing reviews on Goodreads. Hmmm wonder why the different pen name for the companion novel…lol

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks like you had a great reading month! I really should read another Gaiman soon… And The Summer That Melted Everything is brilliant; one of my favorite reads this year. Awesome haul!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really want to read The Female of the Species – sounds amazing! And I think I’m going to buy a copy of Coraline soon, I LOVE stuff like that. Will you be reviewing either of these ones? 🙂 By the way, I forgot to tell you, but I downloaded The Summer that Melted Everything based on your recommendation – really excited to read it!!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ahh awesome! I’ve just ordered a copy of Coraline 🙂 I know exactly how you feel, I am aprox. a gazillion books behind on my reviews! And yesss I hope I do too, I’ll let you know when I start reading it 🙂 I might make it my next read when I’ve finished Northanger Abbey.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Tristan ❤ I love Tristan. Nice post. You seemed to have quite a good month. My October was also crazy. You seem to have done a lot better than me last month, even with all the things you had going on. I don't think I would have gotten anything done adding kids to the equation. So, good on you. The Female of the Species is something I'm looking forward to picking up! Glad you enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It is definitely hard to juggle reading & blogging when you have small humans to care for. I am very fortunate that I am a stay at home Mom, or I don’t think I would be able to be a blogger. I just fit it in when I can… usually during nap time and in between laundry loads 🙂

      The Female of the Species is definitely one of my favorites of the year! I will have a review up at some point.

      Thanks for reading Cate!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think it’d probably be hard even without having the added pressure of blogging. Yes, that’s quite fortunate. I doubt you’d be able to fit blogging in with a full time job too.
        Cool! Love to check it out when it’s up.
        Of course!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.