Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Pet Names

tttbookishpetnames

Hello fellow bookworms!

It’s Tuesday and that means it is time for another Top Ten Tuesday post!

  What is TTT? TTT is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.  Check out their blog for more info and to see upcoming themes.

toptentuesday

This week’s theme is…

October 18: Ten Characters I’d Name A Child/Dog/Cat/Car/Etc.

I decided to spin this to “bookish pet names.” Not going to lie, I have SO many posts to catch up on, so this is going to be a quick post and above all RANDOM…

» Mr. Rochester, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

Blue-grey tabby male cat, Pippin, 4 years old, lying with head up
Source

Jane Eyre is one of my favorite books of all times, so it is only fitting that I would name a pet after one of the main characters, Mr. Rochester.  I actually can’t take credit for the idea to name a pet Mr. Rochester, as it was the name of a cat in Hanging Mary by Susan Higginbotham.

» Ernest Hemingway

ernest-hemingway
Source

I’m not sure why, but I think Ernest Hemingway would make the purrrfect (see what I did there?) name for a cat.  You could call him Ernie for short.

» Angelou (Maya Angelou)

angelou
Source

Angelou sounds like a Italian man’s name, so what better name for an Italian Greyhound?

» Louisa (Louisa May Alcott)

louisa
Source

If Louisa isn’t the name for a white fluffy cat, I don’t know what is.  You could call her Lou for short 🙂

» Gatsby, The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Ticked tabby male cat Mowgli.
Source

 Bonus points if you named your cat “Catsby” as a spin off of Gatsby… Oh how I love a good pun.

» Huckleberry, Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain

huckleberry
Source

Obviously you would shorten this to “Huck.”  I think Huck is a wonderful name for a hunting dog.

» Gandalf, The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien

gandolf
Source

If you have a long haired white/greyish dog, why wouldn’t you name it Gandolf?  What would its nickname be though… Gandy?

» Scout, To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

scout
Source

Scout is the best puppy name EVER.

» Heathcliff, Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

heathcliff
Source

  As much as I love Heathcliff, he is a bit of an asshole.  Cats are assholes.  There you go.


What bookish names do you think make good pet names?

*Feel free to link to your own TTT post!

45 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Pet Names”

  1. I laughed SO hard at Gandalf, I couldn’t help it, hahaha. It’d be such a fitting name for a dog like this ahah. I love the idea of calling a cat Ernie, for short, oh and Louisa, and Gatsby / Catsby, hahaha. I love it so much. You made me want to have tons of cats to name them like this haha. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMGGG, this is the best TTT I’ve seen for the week’s topic. lol. Loved you pictures. The Gandalf one had me swooning for several seconds. I love big dogs and that mane was beautiful!
    The “Scout” puppy is too cute!! It’s been years since I’ve had a puppy. There’s a 75% chance I will name him or her, Scout! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha thanks! Good luck with your future puppy! It really is like having a baby… After doing the puppy stage with our dog while my daughter was 6 months old, I vowed to never do another puppy 😂 I also have a new respect for parents who have twins lol

      Like

  3. Omg I love this so much. I feel like when I get pets in the future there’s no way they won’t be named after book characters now 😂 Brilliant! (Also grr, I seem to be having the problem you were a while back with not getting notifications from you. So annoying!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

