Wrap Ups & Hauls

Weekly Wrap Up: 3/14 – 3/20/16

Happy Sunday!

Well that was a LONG and exhausting week.  Ever have one of those weeks where you feel as if you are running non-stop?  That was me this week.  Since I was busy doing the super-mom thing, I didn’t have much time for reading or blogging this week.  There is just not enough hours in the day.  Even though I didn’t get as much accomplished that I would have liked, I would like to share something incredible (blog related) that happened this week!  Keep reading to find out 🙂

This week on the blog…

Monday 3/14

IMG_3912

Memoir Monday! Book Review: The Orchard by Theresa Weir

This was the first memoir that I ever read.  I was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed it.   The Orchard also impacted me on a personal level that I never expected…

Wednesday 3/16

IMG_3918 [3547332]

Wake Up and Smell the Coffee! Coffee Book Tag

My second book tag!  I’m not going to lie, no one nominated me for this, but it just looked so darn fun.  At some point, I will make more blogger friends and actually be nominated to do these instead of nominating myself… Yes I realize how pathetic that sounded 🙂

Thursday 3/17

IMG_3934 [3629935]

Thriller Thursday! Book Review: Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica

My review of my first official psychological thriller.  All I can say is wowza…  This novel should have been titled “Bat Shit Crazy.”

Friday 3/18

FullSizeRender [3681185]

Freebie Friday! Free ebooks 3/18/16

The first of a weekly post where I list free and/or discounted books available for Amazon Kindle, B&N Nook, and Apple users.

Saturday 3/19

IMG_3965 [3926031]

Book Review: Dollbaby by Laura Lane McNeal

Here it is ladies and gentlemen! My first 5 out of 5 star review.  It is safe to say that this is going to be one of my favorite reads of 2016.  THEN this happened…

FullSizeRender [3961700]

 That’s right.  That is a Facebook post from Laura Lane McNeal, the author of Dollbaby, recognizing my review.  I was so honored that she not only took the time to read my review, but posted it to her Facebook page.  My little review didn’t even begin to do her beautiful novel the justice that it deserved.  I have only been blogging for a little less than a month, but this is the single most incredible moment in my short little blogging life.  I thought maybe you bookish people would understand my excitement!

Books I finished reading this week…

Zip.  Nada.  Zero. Zilch.

That’s right.  I began Flawless: Inside the Largest Diamond Heist in History for my first official book club, however I am ashamed to admit that I had to bail on it around page 50.  I just couldn’t.  I tried, I really did.  Does this make me a book club drop out?!  The shame!

 

Currently Reading…

51OiUODZdPL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

This book is a “chunkster” coming in at 561 pages.  It has taken a while for me to get into this book, and at first I was worried about it, but it is finally starting to pick up!

51Tt8+xJKYL._SX319_BO1,204,203,200_

Amazon // Goodreads

This is my second Stephen King novel.  I am around 65% through this one.  He is brilliant. While listening to this book today on the way to my son’s lacrosse game, I came across a very disturbing part of the book.  It literally made me sick to my stomach.

On Deck…

51eVdLPcBWL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_

Amazon // Goodreads

I have such high hopes for this book. Please don’t be a flop!

How was your week?  Did you fair better than me in the reading department?

Have a  great week and happy reading!

 

3 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up: 3/14 – 3/20/16”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.