Tags & Awards

Wake Up and Smell the Coffee! Coffee Book Tag

IMG_3918 [3547332]

I saw this book tag when Ashley over at Fictional Living posted it yesterday on her blog.  If you get the chance, head over and check out her answers!  I just couldn’t pass it up a chance to do a book tag that combines my two favorite things: books & coffee 🙂

BLACK: A SERIES THAT’S HARD TO GET INTO BUT HAS HARDCORE FANS

51GJzbM5vTL._SX373_BO1,204,203,200_ Amazon // Goodreads

I am going to have to go with The Lord of the Rings series with this one.  I LOVED the Hobbit when I read it in high school, but when I tried to read The Fellowship of the Ring, I had the hardest time getting into it.  I’m not sure if I had a hard time keeping up with the plot, or what was going on.  I really enjoyed the movies, so why couldn’t I get into these books?  LOTR has a huge fan base, so it can’t be that the books are the problem.  It has been YEARS since I last tried LOTR, so maybe trying again as an adult will have different results?


PEPPERMINT MOCHA: A BOOK THAT GETS MORE POPULAR DURING WINTER OR A FESTIVE TIME OF YEAR

1934

Amazon // Goodreads

Little Women is a wonderful holiday novel.  This classic actually begins during Christmas time.  Unfortunately, with a war going on and economic hardship, the March girls were not anticipating a merry Christmas.  The girls soon learn the true meaning of Christmas isn’t what you receive, but rather the joy of giving to others.  I can picture it now; curled up by the fire with a big fuzzy blanket and a hot drink, watching the snow quietly fall outside.  Pure bliss 🙂


HOT CHOCOLATE: A FAVORITE CHILDREN’S BOOK

24337

Amazon // Goodreads

Ella Enchanted was my favorite book when I was in grade school.  It is the book that started my love of reading.  In the sixth grade, we had a character day at school, and I was Ella.  This book will always hold a special place in my heart.

Disclaimer:  Please don’t judge this book by its movie adaptation.  I don’t feel like it did this book justice.


 DOUBLE SHOT OF ESPRESSO: A BOOK THAT KEPT YOU ON THE EDGE OF YOUR SEAT FROM START TO FINISH

61oTqu9bHJL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

I actually just finished Dollbaby this week.  I was absolutely engrossed in this book.  I can already tell this is going to be one of my favorite reads of 2016!  Review coming soon!


STARBUCKS: A BOOK YOU SEE EVERYWHERE

 51fUUVAZ5PL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

I see this book EVERYWHERE.  It’s all over my feed.  Everyone is reading and reviewing it.  I obviously need to look into purchasing this book to see what all the fuss is about.


OOPS! I ACCIDENTALLY GOT DECAF: A BOOK YOU EXPECTED MORE FROM

41VTPDCAq5L._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_

Amazon // Goodreads

You can read my full review of Red Queen here.  I expected more out of this book for all the hype that it receives.  In my review, I explain my issues with this book.


THE PERFECT BLEND: A BOOK OR SERIES THAT WAS BOTH BITTER AND SWEET, BUT ULTIMATELY SATISFYING

6185Amazon // Goodreads

 Wuthering Heights is often misunderstood.  To me, it is one of the most hauntingly beautiful novels that I have ever read.  Gothic novels are not for everyone, but if you can see past the tragedy, you would see the beauty in Emily Bronte’s words.


GREEN TEA: A BOOK OR SERIES THAT IS QUIETLY BEAUTIFUL

51tv8z14NtL._SX314_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

Of course I had to fit my favorite book series in somewhere!  To me, “quietly beautiful” is something or someone whose beauty is subtle and natural.  It isn’t flashy.  I would consider the characters in this series “quietly beautiful.”  Not only physically, but internally as well.


CHAI: A BOOK OR SERIES THAT MAKES YOU DREAM OF FAR OFF PLACES

10964Amazon // Goodreads

The Outlander series takes place in the Scottish Highlands…

ws_Scotland_Highlands_2560x1600.jpg

Do I really need to say more?  Between the culture and the breathtaking scenery, it is my dream to someday travel to Scotland.  Maybe someday 🙂

EARL GREY: A FAVORITE CLASSIC

41g4DSszOTL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

Amazon // Goodreads

Can you tell I love the Bronte sisters?  If you have never read Jane Eyre, then this is me giving you the side eye ((insert side eye here))  Jane Eyre has it all: a strong female protagonist, tragedy, a love story, a crazy plot twist… What’s not to love?!

Do you agree or disagree with my selections?  Comment and let me know 🙂

6 thoughts on “Wake Up and Smell the Coffee! Coffee Book Tag”

  1. Great answers! I loved Ella Enchanted when I was younger – I found it on my bookshelf the other day and I’m thinking I might get nostalgic and re-read it 🙂 I was expecting more from Red Queen too. I am actually a little nervous about reviewing it, because I don’t want to be too negative, but there were so many things I felt could have been done better. I really want to pick up Outlander, but I’m intimidated by how enormous it is haha – I am a really slow reader!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Why thank you kindly! I was very nervous about reviewing Red Queen. I have only been blogging and reviewing for a month, and I know how much the book is loved, so I was afraid I would ruffle some feathers. No one ran me off of WordPress, so I will call that a success 🙂 Outlander is definitely not for everyone. There is a lot going on, plus Diana Gabaldon is a very wordy writer, so it really just depends on your reading preferences. Do you like historical fiction? If it’s not really your thing, Outlander probably isn’t for you. I adore HF, so I loved it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Exactly – I am always scared I’ll offend someone, especially with hyped books like this one! I’m glad nobody ran you off WordPress haha, I hope I get through unscathed too. 🙂 Thanks for the tip – I do like historical fiction, although it’s not a genre I usually reach for – it’s something I’m trying to read more of this year though. I do tend to find wordy writing exhausting, so I have to be in the right mood for it! I may get this one from the library and give it a try before committing.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

