Features, Wrap Ups & Hauls

Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up: 4/29 – 5/12/19

bwwu51219.jpg

Happy Sunday bookworms!  For those of you in the U.S, Happy Mother’s Day!

I’ve had a lovely weekend with my family.  Yesterday we went to see Cirque Du Soleil Corteo for my Mother’s Day present.  I’d never seen a Cirque Du Soleil show before,  and I absolutely loved it!  Not only that, but both my children (aged 5 & 12) loved it as well.  If you have not seen it, I’d highly recommend it 🙂

*Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up is a weekly post where I feature what posts were published on the blog for the past week, any bookish/blog happenings, what I recently finished reading, what I am currently reading, what I will be reading next, noteworthy posts around the bookish blogisphere, and any interesting bookish articles I came across.

Divider2

ThisWeekOnTheBlog.jpeg

Monday 4/29

AprilBookHaul2019

April 2019 Birthday #BookOutletHaul – Part 1

Tuesday 4/30

MiniBRApril19pt1

Mini Book Reviews: April 2019 (Part 1)

Wednesday 5/1April19WU

April 2019 Reading & Blogging Wrap-Up

Thursday 5/2May19TBR

May 2019 TBR

Tuesday 5/7

AprilBH2

April 2019 Birthday #BookOutletHaul – Part 2

Wednesday 5/8

TheGirlsinthePictureCover

Book Review: The Girls in the Picture by Melanie Benjamin

Divider2

BookishBlogHappenings

» I got to meet Nnedi Okorafor on May 2nd at The Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County.  More details to come in a later post…

98E9E3CF-D8FE-44D9-BDF5-D2D382E7B31B

Divider2

WhatImReading.jpegRecently Finished Reading:

» Not That I Could Tell by Jessica Strawser

NotThatICouldTell

add-to-goodreads-button5-Star Rating System

*3.5 Stars*

This was a solid read for one of my book clubs.  While it didn’t exactly knock my socks off or surprise me, it was an easy read that kept me turning the pages.  It was a nostalgic read for me since I live about 20/30 minutes away from the small town in which it is set.

» The Kiss Quotient (The Kiss Quotient #1) by Helen Hoang

ThekissQuotient

add-to-goodreads-button

5-Star Rating System

#YARC2019

Despite the fact I’m not a huge romance fan, I was interested in reading a romance with a main character on the Autism Spectrum.  I thought the representation was very well done here, which isn’t surprising since it is an #OwnVoices book.

» China Rich Girlfriend (Crazy Rich Asians #2) by Kevin Kwan

ChinaRichGirlfriend

add-to-goodreads-button5-Star Rating System

#YARC2019

I didn’t love this one as much as the first book, but still a solid sequel.  While I enjoyed the new characters, I do feel like some of my favorites from the first book were really pushed into the background.

» The Familiars by Stacey Halls

TheFamiliars

add-to-goodreads-button

5-Star Rating System

*3.5 Stars*

With it’s beautiful cover & the premise of witch trials in the 17th century, I had high hopes for The Familiars.  While it is well written & wonderfully atmospheric, there was something missing.  The passing was too slow as well.   My biggest issue was how certain transgressions were excused by the main character.

» Liar by Rob Roberge

Liar

add-to-goodreads-button

5-Star Rating System

A memoir told in second person?  I did NOT think this was going to work, but Roberge pulls it off.  Liar is not told in a linear timeline, but rather jumps all over the place.  Again, I didn’t think it was going to work, but somehow it does.  Honestly, I was not expecting to enjoy this book, but I was pleasantly surprised.


Currently Reading:

» Wicked Saints (Something Dark and Holy #1) by Emily A. Duncan

WickedSaints

add-to-goodreads-button

Status: Just starting

» The Muralist by B.A. Shapiro

TheMuralistadd-to-goodreads-button

Status: 10%


What Am I Reading Next?:

» Five Roses by Alice Zorn

FiveRoses

add-to-goodreads-button

A sister. A baby. A man who watches from the trees.
Fara and her husband buy a house with a disturbing history that reawakens memories of her own family tragedy. Maddy still lives in the house, once a hippie commune, where her daughter was kidnapped twenty-seven years ago. Rose grew up isolated with her mother in the backwoods north of Montreal. Now in the city, she questions the silence and deception that shaped her upbringing.
Fara, Maddy, and Rose meet in Montreal’s historic Pointe St-Charles, a rundown neighbourhood on the cusp of gentrification. Against a backdrop of abandonment, loss, and revitalization, the women must confront troubling secrets in order to rebuild their lives. Zorn deftly interweaves the rich yet fragile lives of three very different people into a story of strength and friendship.

Divider2

InterestingBookishArticles.jpeg

» 14 Library Gifts Bookworms Will Want to Check Out

*I’ll take one of each!

» Celebrating Asian Pacific American Heritage Month Through Literature

» 12 Extra-Exciting Action-Adventure Books with Girls at the Center

» The Dos and Don’ts of Picking Book Club Snacks

»Bookish Gifts for Mother’s Day

» Pick 6 Donuts and We’ll Tell You Your Hogwarts House

*I took this and actually got my Hogwarts House, Ravenclaw!

» What to Do When You Pick a Bad Book for Your Book Club

» Real Readers Weigh In On April Releases

» Read It Forward’s Book Club

» Five Great Book Club Books for Foodies

» Rethinking Reading Levels: Some Practical Advice from the Experts

» 5 Reasons to Join a Mother-Daughter Book Club

» Five Fictional Moms We Want to Adopt Us (And Three We Don’t)

Divider2

LetsChat

Have you read any of the books included in this post?  If so, what did you think?

What are you currently reading?

What will you read next?

Have a wonderful week & happy reading:)

4 thoughts on “Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up: 4/29 – 5/12/19”

  1. Ah! Okay, I see now that the memoir you read in second person was Liar. I wonder if the author chose second person because it allows him to distance himself from who he is, whether that is a liar (it sounds like it) or to make it seem like he is someone separate from his lying self (also a lie). Interesting!

    I saw the movie Crazy Rich Asians. Did you see it? Does that movie cover one book, or many books?

    Like

  2. Lucky you for seeing Cirque Du Soleil! I saw one of their shows years ago and was blown away… I think we had similar thoughts on The Familiars; I remember feeling almost bored by it and expecting more of the story, especially when it comes to witch-inspired elements. Have a wonderful week and happy reading!

    Like

  3. Ahhh yay for seeing the Cirque du Soleil, this is amazing, I’m so glad you had such a great time 🙂
    The Kiss Quotient is on my TBR and I have heard so many good things about it, I’m happy you enjoyed it! 🙂 I hope you are having a lovely week x

    Like

  4. That’s awesome about the Cirque du Soleil show- I’ve never seen one, but been curious for a while, so I’m glad to hear it’s good. Glad you liked kiss quotient and that crazy rich girlfriend was a solid sequel- I definitely want to check out both of those. I’m really curious about wicked saints too!! Great wrap up!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.