Features, Wrap Ups & Hauls

Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up: 10/7 – 10/27/19

bwwu102719.jpg

Happy Sunday bookworms!

Did everyone have a good weekend?!  I had an excellent weekend!  A weekend that included attending an amazing book festival here in Ohio…

*Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up is a weekly post where I feature what books I’ve been reading, which books are on my upcoming TBR, what posts were published on the blog for the past week, any bookish news I came across, and noteworthy posts from around the bookish community.

Divider2

Bookish Happenings (1)

I know, I know!  I’ve been very absent around the blog lately.  Since my youngest is now in Kindergarten, I’ve been working almost every week day.  Since my evenings & weekends are full of activities, sports, and social engagements, my blogging time has been greatly reduced.  Fall tends to be the busiest time of the year for us, particularly October, so I hope things will start to settle down.

On another personal note, we got to celebrate both of my children’s birthdays these past two weeks.  I officially have a 13-year-old and a 6-year-old!  The fact that I can now officially say that I have a teenager is mind blowing.  We’ve had a great two weeks celebrating with friends and family for both kids.

Bookish Happenings.jpg

I’ve attended not only one, but TWO great author events over the past two weeks!  I got to meet Ruta Sepetys on her book tour for The Fountains of Silence.  I also got to attend Books by the Banks, a book festival held here in Ohio.  I got to meet authors like Laini Taylor, Anne Bogel, Jasmine Ward, and Imbolo Mbue.  I also got to see many of my favorite authors I’ve met many times: Mindy McGinnis, Edith Pattou, etc.  More details to come about both events.

Divider2

What I'm Reading (1)

Recently Finished Reading:

» The Enchanted Hour: The Miraculous Power of Reading Aloud in the Age of Distraction by Meghan Cox GurdonTheEnchantedHour

add-to-goodreads-button

5-Star Rating System

Wonderful book about the benefits of reading aloud and the science that backs it up.

» House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin A. Craig

House ofSaltandSorrows

add-to-goodreads-button

5-Star Rating System

A deliciously atmospheric fairy tale retelling that is perfect for fall/Halloween time.  While I loved the writing & the way Craig retold the fairy tale, it came up a bit short for me.

» Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue

BeholdtheDreamers

add-to-goodreads-button5-Star Rating System

This was a wonderful & heartbreaking story about the challenges that immigrants face trying to live the “American dream.”

» Tunnel of Bones (Cassidy Blake #2) by Victoria Schwab

Tunnelofbones

add-to-goodreads-button5-Star Rating System

*4.5 stars*

The second book in a MG paranormal series.  I enjoyed this one even more than the first!

» The Hideaway by Lauren K. Denton

TheHideaway

add-to-goodreads-button5-Star Rating System

The Hideaway had many of the tropes I typically enjoy: eccentric cast, old house renovation, family secrets, etc.  There was something lacking from the story for me.  It also felt too cliche.


Currently Reading:

» West (East #2) by Edith Pattou

West

add-to-goodreads-button Status: 30%

» The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson

TheHauntingofHillHouse

add-to-goodreads-button

Status: 10%


What Am I Reading Next?:

» Nightbooks by J.A. White

Nightbooks

add-to-goodreads-button

A boy is imprisoned by a witch and must tell her a new scary story each night to stay alive. This thrilling contemporary fantasy from J. A. White, the acclaimed author of the Thickety series, brings to life the magic and craft of storytelling.
Alex’s original hair-raising tales are the only thing keeping the witch Natacha happy, but soon he’ll run out of pages to read from and be trapped forever. He’s loved scary stories his whole life, and he knows most don’t have a happily ever after. Now that Alex is trapped in a true terrifying tale, he’s desperate for a different ending—and a way out of this twisted place.
This modern spin on the Scheherazade story is perfect for fans of Coraline and A Tale Dark and Grimm. With interwoven tips on writing with suspense, adding in plot twists, hooks, interior logic, and dealing with writer’s block, this is the ideal book for budding writers and all readers of delightfully just-dark-enough tales.

Divider2

OntheBlog

Monday 10/7

Sept2019BookReviewsPart2

Mini Book Reviews: September 2019 – Part 2

Tuesday 10/15

YouPickMyNov19TBR

YOU Pick My November 2019 TBR

Divider2

Let'sChat

Have you read any of the books included in this post?  If so, what did you think?

What are you currently reading?

What will you read next?

Have a wonderful week & happy reading:)

What I'm Reading

1 thought on “Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up: 10/7 – 10/27/19”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.