Features, Wrap Ups & Hauls

Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up: 8/19 – 8/25/19

BWWU82519

Happy Sunday bookworms!

After a long week of back to school for my youngest and back to substitute teaching for me, I had a delightful weekend.  I even got to meet up with a fellow book blogger friend…

*Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up is a weekly post where I feature what posts were published on the blog for the past week, any bookish/blog happenings, what I recently finished reading, what I am currently reading, what I will be reading next, noteworthy posts around the bookish blogisphere, and any interesting bookish articles I came across.

Divider2

I got to see my good friend Jackie @Death by Tsundoku this weekend!  Jackie was in Ohio visiting family when she made the hour drive down to Dayton to see me before her 9 hour drive home.  It was so great catching up with her over breakfast.  I am so grateful that Jackie was willing to make the time to see me & even driving out of her way to spend time with me.

ThisWeekOnTheBlog.jpeg

Monday 8/19

MiniBookReviewsAug2019-1

Mini Book Reviews: August 2019 – Part 1

Divider2

BookishBlogHappenings

Bookish news:

» AAP Suit Seeks to Block Implementation of Audible Captions

» #KitLitforCelina Gathers Books for Young Tornado Victims

» The Week in Libraries: August 23, 2019

Interesting bookish articles:

» Books for Fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette

» Quiz: What Type of Book Club is Right for You?

» 10 Great Sci-fi and Fantasy Books for Tweens to Dive Into This Summer

» Like This, Read That: Three Books to Read if Your Book Club Loved The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

» Expert Tips for Keeping Busy Kids Connected to Books

» Five Graphic Memoirs That Will Get Your Book Club Talking

Divider2

WhatImReading.jpegRecently Finished Reading:

» After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid

AfterIDo

add-to-goodreads-button

5-Star Rating System

While not my favorite Taylor Jenkins Reid novel, After I Do is a solid contemporary novel.  This book was extremely relatable & an honest portrayal of relationships.  This would make for an excellent book club discussion on long-term relationships and marriage.

» Gratitude Daily: 21 Days to More Joy and Less Stress by Nataly Kogan

gratitudedaily

add-to-goodreads-button5-Star Rating System

This was a quick little audiobook all about practicing gratitude.  I found the tips and techniques in practicing gratitude to be practical and achievable.  Listening to this book definitely gave me a fresh perspective on gratitude and the benefits of practicing gratitude.


Currently Reading:

» Nobody Said Not to Go: The Life, Loves, and Adventures of Emily Hahn by Ken Cuthbertson

NobodySaidNottoGo

add-to-goodreads-button

Status: 25%

» Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

GodsofJadeandShadow

add-to-goodreads-button

Status: 30%

» Book Girl: A Journey Through the Treasures and Transforming Power of a Reading Life by Sarah Clarkson

BookGirladd-to-goodreads-button

Status: 50%


What Am I Reading Next?:

» The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War #2) by R.F. Kuang

TheDragonRepublic

add-to-goodreads-button

In the aftermath of the Third Poppy War, shaman and warrior Rin is on the run: haunted by the atrocity she committed to end the war, addicted to opium, and hiding from the murderous commands of her vengeful god, the fiery Phoenix. Her only reason for living is to get revenge on the traitorous Empress who sold out Nikan to their enemies.
With no other options, Rin joins forces with the powerful Dragon Warlord, who has a plan to conquer Nikan, unseat the Empress, and create a new Republic. Rin throws herself into his war. After all, making war is all she knows how to do.
But the Empress is a more powerful foe than she appears, and the Dragon Warlord’s motivations are not as democratic as they seem. The more Rin learns, the more she fears her love for Nikan will drive her away from every ally and lead her to rely more and more on the Phoenix’s deadly power. Because there is nothing she won’t sacrifice for her country and her vengeance.
The sequel to R.F. Kuang’s acclaimed debut THE POPPY WAR, THE DRAGON REPUBLIC combines the history of 20th-century China with a gripping world of gods and monsters, to devastating effect.

I read The Poppy War back in February of this year and it has been one of my favorite books I’ve read so far this year!  I cannot wait to read the second installment.

You can read my mini review here ⇒ The Poppy War

Divider2LetsChat

Have you read any of the books included in this post?  If so, what did you think?

What are you currently reading?

What will you read next?

Have a wonderful week & happy reading:)

BlogSignature

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up: 8/19 – 8/25/19”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.