Features, Wrap Ups & Hauls

Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up: 2/4 – 2/10/19

bwwu21019.jpg

Happy Sunday bookworms!

I am here suffering whiplash from the unpredictable weather here in the Midwest.   One day this week it was 60°, one day it was 13°, one day we received so much rain we had flash flood warnings, and today it is snowing.   Can Ohio just please pick a season?  My sinuses would appreciate it.

Let’s see what I read & blogged this week…

*Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up is a weekly post where I feature what posts were published on the blog for the past week, any bookish/blog happenings, what I recently finished reading, what I am currently reading, what I will be reading next, noteworthy posts around the bookish blogosphere, and any interesting bookish articles I came across.

Divider2

ThisWeekOnTheBlog.jpeg

Tuesday 2/5being continents away is exciting, but come with me next time! (9)

Book Review: The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa

Thursday 2/7

MiniReviewsFeb19-1

Mini Book Reviews: February 2019 (Part 1)

Divider2

BookishBlogHappenings

» If you missed my wrap up post last week, I mentioned that I will be doing a Q&A to celebrate my 3 year blogging anniversary this month!  Please comment below with some questions for me to answer 🙂

Divider2

WhatImReading.jpegRecently Finished Reading:

» The Wicked King (The Folk of the Air #2) by Holly Black

thewickedkingadd-to-goodreads-button

5-Star Rating System

The first 200 pages of The Wicked King were very disappointing, but the last 130-ish were up to expectations… Still interested in seeing where this story goes in the 3rd book.

You can read my review here ⇒ The Wicked King

» Arrow’s Fall (Heralds of Valdemar #3) by Mercedes Lackey

arrowsfall

add-to-goodreads-button

5-Star Rating System

Underwhelming conclusion to a series that was missing that spark for me despite having wonderful things going for it.

» The Poppy War (The Poppy War #1) by R.F. Kuang

thepoppywar

add-to-goodreads-button

5-Star Rating System

*4.5 Stars*

This book is worth all the hype!  Epic, brutal, and morally gray.  The book did lose some steam at some points, hence the half star deduction.  This will be another book in my “top books of 2019” list.


Currently Reading:

» Once Upon a River by Diane Setterfield

OnceUponARiveradd-to-goodreads-button

Status: Just starting

» Akata Witch (Akata Witch #1) by Nnedi Okorafor

AkataWitch

add-to-goodreads-button

Status: 70%


What Am I Reading Next?:

» Daughters of the Silk Road by Debbie Rix

DaughtersoftheSilkRoad

‘She crossed over to the shelf where her father kept the dragon vase. He had placed it there when they first arrived in Venice. She took it down carefully, feeling it cool and comforting under her shaking fingers.’
Venice 1441: Maria and her brother Daniele arrive in the birthplace of their father, Niccolo dei Conti. An Italian merchant who has travelled far and wide, Niccolo has brought spices from India, lengths of silk and damask from the lands east of India and porcelain; a vase of pure white, its surface decorated with a cobalt blue dragon, the Chinese symbol of good fortune.
Maria settles in her new home, watching the magnificent and bustling city come to life each morning from her bedroom window. But while her father is away travelling, she soon finds herself and Daniele in terrible danger. She must protect her brother at whatever cost, and she must guard the delicate vase.
London 2015: Single mother Miranda is struggling to make ends meet and build a new life for her and daughter Georgie. When Miranda meets the charming but mysterious Charles, she is intrigued. Could he be her second chance at love? And why is he so fascinated by the old vase sitting on her hall table…
A stunning and richly evocative story following the journey of a precious family treasure passed down from one generation to another. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Kate Morton.

Divider2

InterestingBookishArticles.jpeg

» Must-Watch 2019 Book-to-TV Adaptations

» Quiz: Which February 2019 Release Should You Pick Up?

» Swoon-Worthy Valentine’s Day Gifts for Book Lovers

» 3 Creepy Books by Women to Pick Up After Binge-Watching You

» The Most Exciting Middle Grade Books of 2019

Divider2

LetsChat

What are you currently reading?

What will you read next?

Do you have any questions for me that I can answer in my 3 year blogging anniversary Q&A?  If so, comment below!

Have a wonderful week & happy reading:)

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Bookish Weekly Wrap-Up: 2/4 – 2/10/19”

  1. I’m also currently reading Once upon a river! 😀 I’m glad you enjoyed The Poppy War, it was a great start to my reading year in January and I’m keen to read the next book in the series.

    Like

  2. The Poppy War was definitely worth the hype. Hope you love the Setterfield novel – I enjoyed it very much, it has an almost old/classical style feel to it.
    My question: – what has been the biggest surprise to you in your 3 years of blogging?
    Lynn 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.