Features, Monthly TBRs

November 2018 TBR

Nov18TBR

***Chaotic life update: when this post goes live I’ll be on my way to the airport!  I’m taking the kids to Colorado to visit my brother who is being deployed to Afghanistan next week.  The forecast is calling for cold & snow, so keep your fingers crossed we will be able to get outdoors and spend some family time together while we are out there.***

Since I only read 2 out of 5 books on October’s TBR, I am determined to fare better with my November TBR.  The game plan for November is to read 2 books from my physical TBR, 2 from my NetGalley ARC backlist, and 2 books for my book clubs.

Let’s see what’s on the schedule for this month shall we?

Divider2

» The Last Unicorn by Peter Beagle

TheLastUnicornadd-to-goodreads-button

She was magical, beautiful beyond belief — and completely alone…

The unicorn had lived since before memory in a forest where death could touch nothing. Maidens who caught a glimpse of her glory were blessed by enchantment they would never forget. But outside her wondrous realm, dark whispers and rumors carried a message she could not ignore: “Unicorns are gone from the world.”

Aided by a bumbling magician and an indomitable spinster, she set out to learn the truth. but she feared even her immortal wisdom meant nothing in a world where a mad king’s curse and terror incarnate lived only to stalk the last unicorn to her doom…

After attending An Evening with Patrick Rothfuss and hearing him name The Last Unicorn as his favorite book EVER, I knew I needed to add it to my TBR.   When my good friend Jackie @Death by Tsundoku suggested a buddy read, I was thrilled when she mentioned this book as a common book on both our TBRs.

» The Astonishing Color of After by Emily X.R. Pan

TheAstonishingColorOfAfter

add-to-goodreads-button

Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird.
Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. There, she is determined to find her mother, the bird. In her search, she winds up chasing after ghosts, uncovering family secrets, and forging a new relationship with her grandparents. And as she grieves, she must try to reconcile the fact that on the same day she kissed her best friend and longtime secret crush, Axel, her mother was taking her own life.
Alternating between real and magic, past and present, friendship and romance, hope and despair, The Astonishing Color of After is a novel about finding oneself through family history, art, grief, and love.

I’ve seen so many good things about this book recently!  It ended up coming in for me at my local library, so I’m going to do my best to read it before I need to return it.

Books For Review

» Where the River Parts by Radhika Swarup

WhereTheRiverParts

add-to-goodreads-button

‘Blood had begun to trickle down Asha’s starched cotton salwar, and once more she tried to will herself to stay calm. It was nothing. These things happened. ‘
But these things haven’t happened before. It’s August 1947, the night before India’s independence. It is also the night before Pakistan’s creation and the brutal Partition of the two countries.
Asha, a Hindu in a newly Muslim land, must flee to safety. She carries with her a secret she has kept even from Firoze, her Muslim lover, but Firoze must remain in Pakistan, and increasing tensions between the two countries mean the couple can never reunite.
Fifty years later in New York, Asha’s Indian granddaughter falls in love with a Pakistani, and Asha and Firoze, meeting again at last, are faced with one more – final – choice.
Spanning continents and generations, Where the River Parts is an epic tale of love, loss and longing.

» Daughters of the Silk Road by Debbie Rix

DaughtersoftheSilkRoad

‘She crossed over to the shelf where her father kept the dragon vase. He had placed it there when they first arrived in Venice. She took it down carefully, feeling it cool and comforting under her shaking fingers.’
Venice 1441: Maria and her brother Daniele arrive in the birthplace of their father, Niccolo dei Conti. An Italian merchant who has travelled far and wide, Niccolo has brought spices from India, lengths of silk and damask from the lands east of India and porcelain; a vase of pure white, its surface decorated with a cobalt blue dragon, the Chinese symbol of good fortune.
Maria settles in her new home, watching the magnificent and bustling city come to life each morning from her bedroom window. But while her father is away travelling, she soon finds herself and Daniele in terrible danger. She must protect her brother at whatever cost, and she must guard the delicate vase.
London 2015: Single mother Miranda is struggling to make ends meet and build a new life for her and daughter Georgie. When Miranda meets the charming but mysterious Charles, she is intrigued. Could he be her second chance at love? And why is he so fascinated by the old vase sitting on her hall table…
A stunning and richly evocative story following the journey of a precious family treasure passed down from one generation to another. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Kate Morton.

Book Club Selection

» The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

TheSevenDeaths

add-to-goodreads-button

Evelyn Hardcastle will be murdered at 11:00 p.m.
There are eight days, and eight witnesses for you to inhabit.
We will only let you escape once you tell us the name of the killer.
Understood? Then let’s begin…

***

Evelyn Hardcastle will die. Every day until Aiden Bishop can identify her killer and break the cycle. But every time the day begins again, Aiden wakes up in the body of a different guest. And some of his hosts are more helpful than others…

The most inventive debut of the year twists together a mystery of such unexpected creativity it will leave readers guessing until the very last page.

I have yet to see a mediocre or negative review for this book.  I’m super excited to read this because it sounds so unique.  I am really hoping it is going to be a hit since our last book selection was a flop.

» Becoming Mrs. Lewis by Patti Callahan

BecomingMrs.Lewis


add-to-goodreads-button

In a most improbable friendship, she found love. In a world where women were silenced, she found her voice.
From New York Times bestselling author Patti Callahan comes an exquisite novel of Joy Davidman, the woman C. S. Lewis called “my whole world.” When poet and writer Joy Davidman began writing letters to C. S. Lewis—known as Jack—she was looking for spiritual answers, not love. Love, after all, wasn’t holding together her crumbling marriage. Everything about New Yorker Joy seemed ill-matched for an Oxford don and the beloved writer of Narnia, yet their minds bonded over their letters. Embarking on the adventure of her life, Joy traveled from America to England and back again, facing heartbreak and poverty, discovering friendship and faith, and against all odds, finding a love that even the threat of death couldn’t destroy.
In this masterful exploration of one of the greatest love stories of modern times, we meet a brilliant writer, a fiercely independent mother, and a passionate woman who changed the life of this respected author and inspired books that still enchant us and change us. Joy lived at a time when women weren’t meant to have a voice—and yet her love for Jack gave them both voices they didn’t know they had.
At once a fascinating historical novel and a glimpse into a writer’s life, Becoming Mrs. Lewis is above all a love story—a love of literature and ideas and a love between a husband and wife that, in the end, was not impossible at all.

This book was selected for my other book club.  I have not heard much about it, but I am interested in hearing more about Joy Davidman’s life & her marriage with C.S. Lewis.

Divider2
LetsChat

Which books are on your TBR for November?

Have you read any of the books on my list?  If so, what did you think?

Comment below & let me know 🙂

5 thoughts on “November 2018 TBR”

  1. I am SUPER excited for our buddy read!!! I mean, if it’s Patrick Rothfuss’s favorite book, we’ll probably enjoy it. Right? 😉

    The rest of your TBR looks awesome. I’ve heard wonderful things aboutThe Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle and I am adding it to my own book club’s TBR for 2019. I am also quite interested in Becoming Mrs. Lewis. I know so much about C.S. Lewis, but not much about his personal life. I hope its a great book!

    My book club reads include East by Edith Pattou (thank you for the recommendation!) and We Were Eight Years in Power by Ta-Nehisi Coates. There are 8 other books on my TBR (mistakes were made!) but I feel confident. At least, right now. XD Ask me how it’s going on November 24th.

    Fingers crossed for you and your family! I hope that you have wonderful weather in Colorado.

    Like

  2. Great TBR! I’ve heard good things about The Astonishing Color Of After and I’m hoping to read that one soon myself as well. And The Seven Deaths Of Evelyn Hardcastle is my absolute top read this year so far, so I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed it will be a good one for you as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.