Features, Wrap Ups & Hauls

September 2017 Wrap-Up + Book Haul

September17WrapUp

Goodbye September, and hello October!

After taking a hiatus in August, I was back in the book blogging world for the month of September.  September was really good to me….

Let’s see what I had going on this month, shall we?

Divider2

Not only did I get a lot done on the blog front in September, but I also read 11 books, attended TWO book tours (one for Celeste Ng’s Little Fires Everywhere and one for Leigh Bardugo’s The Language of Thorns), got my first bookish tattoo (already working on a Harry Potter tattoo & a Jane Eyre tattoo), and went a little crazy buying books this month.  It was a very bookish month indeed 🙂

October is my favorite month of the year, but it is also my busiest with birthdays, our wedding anniversary, football playoffs, Halloween parties, and school functions.  Not only that, but we are about two weeks away from listing our current home, and about 7 weeks away from finishing renovations & moving into our new home.  I hate to say it, but I will be scarce in the book blogging world in October.  I’ll do my best.

Divider2

What I read this month

Divider2

Challenge Updates

Screenshot 2017-10-02 21.53.42

Divider2

ThisMonthOnTheBlog.jpeg

Aug2017WrapUp

August 2017 Wrap-Up + Book Haul + Hiatus Update

Sept17TBR

September 2017 TBR

AoGGBookishGoodies

Anne of Green Gables Bookish Goodies + #Giveaway Opportunity #AnneReadAlong2017

*Giveaway Closed*

T5WBookSynopsis

Top 5 Wednesday: Skip the Book Synopsis

T5WFancasts

Top 5 Wednesday: Fancasts for Recent Reads

Book Reviews:

MiniBRSept17

Mini Book Reviews: YA Books (September 2017)

TheHistoryMajorCover

Book Review: The History Major by Michael Phillip Cash

TheLusterofLostThingsCover

Book Review: The Luster of Lost Things by Sophie Chen Keller

TheHouseByTheLakeCover

Book Review: The House by the Lake by Ella Carey

GonetoDriftCover

Book Review: Gone to Drift by Diana McCaulay

Divider2

Book Haul

After only purchasing 3 eBooks last month, I really blew my book buying ban in September… I just keep adding to the ridiculous amount of books that I will have to box up and move in November.

Physical Books:

» Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo

*Purchased copy to get signed at The Language of Thorns book tour – signed copy by author

» The Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo

*Attended book tour – signed copy by author

» Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

*Attended book tour – signed copy by author

» Lucky Boy by Shanthi Sekaran

*Copy sent for review

» The Heart’s Invisible Furies by John Boyne

*Copy sent for review

And then I went to a library book sale…

» The Secret Hum of a Daisy by Tracy Holczer

» Starry River of the Sky by Grace Lin

» Nightbird by Alice Hoffman

» Vicious by V.E. Schwab

» Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

*Will be buddy reading this with Kirstie @Upside-Down Books in October!

» The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

» Mr. Splitfoot by Samantha Hunt

» The Summer Before the War by Helen Simonson

» Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

» East of Eden by John Steinbeck

*One of my favorite books 🙂

In my defense, I scored a hardback copy of each of these books for $1 each… Would you have passed that up?

Divider2

Which books did you read this month?

Have you read any of the books I read or hauled this month?  If so, what did you think?

Did you buy any books?  If so, which ones?

Comment below & let me know 🙂

16 thoughts on “September 2017 Wrap-Up + Book Haul”

    1. How did you like Everything I Never Told You? I really want to get to her second book, Little Fires Everywhere, soon! It has made so many “best of 2017” lists!

      Exit West is a very unique little book. Not sure it is going to be everyone’s cup of tea, but I do think it is a special book. I hope you enjoy, or enjoyed if you’ve already read it seeing as this comment is over a month late ((hangs head in shame))

      Like

    1. I’m just not a “chick lit” type of reader… I need some depth to my reading…

      I hope to get to The Heart’s Invisible Furies this month. I am currently reading a different HF book, Lilac Girls, though so it might get pushed to next month. I tend to not be able to read such heavy HF books back to back.

      Side note: I apologize this response is more than a month late.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Some people argue that it is “over the top” or “farfetched” because it is an extreme case, BUT I kind of think that was the point of the book. I’d love to discuss this book with a book club! Rape culture is such a taboo topic that needs addressed…. especially in the world we live in right now.

      Like

  1. Asking For It is an incredible book – glad you thought so too! And I absolutely adored The Gentleman’s Guide – Monty is hilarious. Shame about The Dinner – that book has always intrigued me, but sounds like it’s not really worth it! A Million Junes sounds amazing though – I’m going to have to pick that one up, really in the mood for magical realism at the moment!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! You had an AMAZING September, Amanda! I don’t think there is ANYTHING wrong with binging at the library book sale. I’m super jealous of all the amazing books you picked up, too. My library never has books I want to read at the sale, sadly. My guess is they all become unreadable before they make it there. Good on you!!

    You read SO MANY books: If you had to select *only one* to recommend for me to read (since I haven’t read a single book you read this month!), which one would it be?

    Like

    1. If I had to pick only one book for you to read, it would be Asking for It because it is such an important topic: rape culture. I would love to read your thoughts about this book. It has been criticized as being too “over the top” but I feel like this was the author’s intent… it is definitely a book I will never forget.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve heard from a lot of people that Asking For It makes readers angry. But, you’re right, that’s probably the intent. I should certainly read it– I’d be interested to know my *own* opinions on this topic! It’s so polarizing and galvanizing. I imagine I won’t enjoy reading it… but that’s not always the point, is it?

        Like

Leave a Reply

