Features, Wrap Ups & Hauls

Weekly Wrap-Up: 9/4 – 9/10/17

WWU21.jpg

Hello bookworms!

My weekly wrap-up post is embarrassingly late this week.  Typically I like to have it posted by Sunday evening at the latest, but here we are on Monday night.  Oops!  I blame this on the fact that I had a busy weekend, but also I was glued to my phone all weekend tracking hurricane Irma.  I have family in Fort Meyers & friends in Sarasota, so I was a nervous wreck all weekend.  Thankfully, my family members evacuated to Tennessee and my friends made it through OK.  Also, there was minimum damage to all their properties.  I’m super thankful, as things could have been much worse for all of them.

Let’s get back to bookish business shall we?

*Weekly Wrap-Up is a weekly post where I feature what posts were published on the blog for the past week, any bookish/blog happenings, what I recently finished reading, what I am currently reading, what I will be reading next, noteworthy posts around the bookish blogosphere, and any interesting bookish articles I came across.

Divider2

ThisWeekOnTheBlog.jpeg

Monday 9/4

Sept17TBR

September 2017 TBR

Tuesday 9/5

AoGGBookishGoodies

Anne of Green Gables Bookish Goodies + #Giveaway Opportunity #AnneReadAlong2017

*Giveaway now closed*

Thursday 9/7

MiniBRSept17

Mini Book Reviews: YA Books (September 2017)

Friday 9/8

TheHistoryMajorCover

Book Review: The History Major by Michael Phillip Cash

 

Divider2

WhatImReading.jpeg

*Book titles link to Goodreads

Recently finished reading:

» Now I Rise (The Conqueror’s Saga #2) by Kiersten White

NowIRise

5-Star Rating System

Feelings in a few thoughts: enjoyed this just as much as And I Darken,◊ loved getting more Radu, but did it take away from Lada? ◊ Mehmed is totally an ass – nothing new there ◊ YA historical fiction needs more hype – history is cool kids ◊ I love how Lada challenges traditional gender roles of the times & takes what she wants… in all aspects of her life


Currently reading:

» The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by (Guide #1) by Mackenzi Lee

TheGentlemansGuidetoVV

Status: 77%

» Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1) by Leigh Bardugo

WonderWoman

Status: 25%


On deck:

» Exit West by Mohsin Hamid

Exit West

In a country teetering on the brink of civil war, two young people meet—sensual, fiercely independent Nadia and gentle, restrained Saeed. They embark on a furtive love affair and are soon cloistered in a premature intimacy by the unrest roiling their city. When it explodes, turning familiar streets into a patchwork of checkpoints and bomb blasts, they begin to hear whispers about doors—doors that can whisk people far away, if perilously and for a price. As the violence escalates, Nadia and Saeed decide that they no longer have a choice. Leaving their homeland and their old lives behind, they find a door and step through.
Exit West follows these characters as they emerge into an alien and uncertain future, struggling to hold on to each other, to their past, to the very sense of who they are. Profoundly intimate and powerfully inventive, it tells an unforgettable story of love, loyalty, and courage that is both completely of our time and for all time.

Exit West came in for me at my library, which I requested MONTHS ago, so it got bumped up on my TBR since it will be due back in 2 weeks.  Sorry September TBR.

Divider2

AroundTheBookishBlogosphere

» Danielle @Books, Vertigo & Tea is hosting a giveaway → Wink Poppy Midnight Review & Giveaway!

Screenshot 2017-09-11 14.43.49.png


InterestingBookishArticles.jpeg

» The Must-Read Books of Fall 2017

» 2 Novels About Racial Identity Everyone Should Read

» 13 Books Everyone Will Be Talking About This Fall

» 17 Must-Read YA Books of Fall 2017

» 19 Middle Grade Books Tweens Will Love in Fall 2017

» 25 of the Most Exciting Picture Books of Fall 2017

Divider2

What are you currently reading?

What will you read next?

Have a wonderful week & happy reading:)

7 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up: 9/4 – 9/10/17”

  1. I’m happy to see you enjoyed Now I Rise as well! And what do you think of Wonder Woman so far? I really have to get a copy of that one soon… I hope you will enjoy your books this week and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pft, don’t you worry about being a bit late in getting this post out! Life gets in the way of what we want all the time. For example, I’ve been recovering from a Summer cold and I’ve been more-or-less absent around these parts for the past week. Not what I wanted, but definitely what happened.

    You’ve done SO MUCH since coming back from your hiatus! I am super impressed. Keep up the great work. I’m glad to see you’re still doing just as much reading, too. Are you still listening to a ton of audiobooks? I can’t wait to see what you think of Vice and Virtue and Warbringer!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you are feeling better Jackie! My daughter has been sick this week with lots of seasonal allergies, so she has not been sleeping well, which means I have not been sleeping well either lol

      I LOVED The Gentleman’s Guide to V&V, and I think you’d like it too… BUT you have to listen to it via audiobook! Trust me on this one 🙂
      WW was a great YA spin on the WW story… It was more about the characters & their interactions with each other than it was about Diana though… I guess I was expecting a little more about the Amazons & Themyscira, BUT this is almost a prequel to Diana becoming WW. The characters & dialogue were on point!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ugh– I’m so sorry! I struggle when David is sick, I can’t imagine trying to help a sleeping child. I am definitely feeling better now. Summer colds are the worst.

        Pft, I will never turn down a highly recommended audiobook! Lately, I’ve been putting a shocking number of them away because the narrators were ruining things for me. You need to have a quality person reading for an audiobook! Perhaps this will get me out of my slump.

        Have you read any of Bardugo’s other books? I wonder how Warbringer relates– the dialogue in the Six of Crows duology is filled with amazing witty banter. I love the characters and dialogue she weaves.

        Well, two more added to the TBR!

        Like

Leave a Reply

