Features, Wrap Ups & Hauls

July 2017 Wrap-Up + Book Haul

WWU18

Goodbye July, and hello August!

I cannot believe how quickly this summer is flying by.  One minute my kids are getting out of school for summer break, and the next I am gathering lists for back to school shopping!  July was a crazy month for me, but despite all the craziness I did manage to read 9 books & get a good amount of blogging done!  Yay for productivity!  My biggest news this month is that we bought a new house.  Unfortunately this isn’t a simple move… we are completely renovating the house over the next few months before we move in.  My husband flips homes for a living, and assures me that he can get this done in 2 months.  I’m not holding my breath lol  My goal is to move in before Christmas.  Please send me good vibes for my sanity throughout this process 🙂

Let’s see what I got accomplished in July, shall we?

Divider2

What I read this month
*Book titles link to Goodreads

ThisSavageSong

5-Star Rating System

3.5 Stars

Feelings in a few thoughts: gorgeous writing as per expected with Schwab; what makes someone a “monster”?; liked how Kate was rough around the edges; a few YA tropes & clichés; didn’t connect to the story like I did with Schwab’s Shades of Magic series; definitely think this book is leaps and bounds above many of the YA books out there

» Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

strangeTheDreamer

5-Star Rating System

Feelings in a few thoughts: One of my top reads of 2017; completely mesmerized by this story; Lazlo Strange is my new book boyfriend; unique & fantastical; moral questions; what makes someone a hero? a monster?; NOT a fan of the insta-love but this was my only issue with the book; the ending!  how will I wait for the second book?!

» Enchanted Islands by Allison Amend

EnchantedIslands

5-Star Rating System

4.5 Stars

Feelings in a few words: this book is a gem – I wish more people would give it a chance; technically WWII historical fiction, but doesn’t go into the war much; fictionalized life of real person, Frances Conway; explores different types of relationships & love; espionage story, but not exactly action packed; more drama than I was anticipating; would make a good book club selection

Divider2

Challenge UpdatesScreenshot 2017-07-31 19.48.23 I am super excited that I *should* be able to hit 100 books this year!  This will be my biggest reading year EVER 🙂

Divider2

ThisMonthOnTheBlog.jpeg

Book Reviews:

TheWolfRoadCover

 Book Review: The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis

DIVERSEMGbooks

Kids’ Corner: Diverse Middle Grade Books in Review (July 2017) #DiverseKidLit

TheGirlsintheGardenCov

Book Review: The Girls in the Garden by Lisa Jewell

BeforetheFallCov

Book Review: Before the Fall by Noah Hawley

TheRoanokeGirlsCover

Book Review: The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel

Other Posts:

June2017WrapUp+Haul

 June 2017 Wrap-Up + Book Haul

July2017TBR

July 2017 TBR

ELLBookTourCov

Book Event: Mary Kubica’s Every Last Lie Book Tour

T5WbestMG2017

Top 5 Wednesday: Best Middle Grade Books I’ve Read in 2017 (Thus Far)

MYBFOTag

Book Tag: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag (2017 Edition)

RomanceBB

Book Blogger Recs: Bloggers to Follow for Romance Readers #BookBloggers

Divider2

Book HauleBooks:

» The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

» The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

» A Piece of the World by Christina Baker Kline

 Physical Books:

» Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (20th Anniversary – Ravenclaw Edition) by J.K. Rowling

» The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

» Fortunately, the Milk by Neil Gaiman

» The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

» Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

» Euphoria by Lily King

» We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

» The Luster of Lost Things by Sophie Chen Keller

Divider2

Which books did you read this month?

Have you read any of the books I read or hauled this month?  If so, what did you think?

Did you buy any books?  If so, which ones?

Comment below and let me know 🙂

18 thoughts on “July 2017 Wrap-Up + Book Haul”

  1. The summer is just flying by!! I can’t believe that it is almost over already!!
    Also, I’ve been seeing Strange the Dreamer (and Taylor’s other books) everywhere lately! And everyone seems to love them!! I need to get on reading those ASAP

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES!!! For the 20th anniversary of the first HP book! There are paperbacks and hardback editions 🙂

      Fortunately the Milk was such a cute little book. If you have kids, it would be the perfect book to read aloud at bedtime with them. I think boys would especially appreciate this story.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Demo should hopefully start right after we get the keys next week. I am both excited and terrified at the same time lol My son is also not happy about school starting up again in a few weeks. I’m ready for them to go back though and get back into my routine lol

      Like

  2. Congrats on the new house and good luck with the renovation! I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed for you. 🙂 Can’t wait to read Caraval and Strange The Dreamer now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Hopefully demo will start next week after we get the keys…. I’m going to need all the good vibes I can get lol

      I think you’ll love Strange the Dreamer! Definitely worth the hype. Caraval on the other hand… for some reason I hesitate to recommend. It is definitely one of those books that people either enjoy or hate. I think people go into it expecting The Night Circus, but it isn’t anything like that book (from what I’ve heard… I’ve never read TNC). I think people were wanting more dark carnival vibes, but it isn’t that either. Hard to explain. I enjoyed it, but my expectations were super low too lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

