Wrap Ups & Hauls

Weekly Wrap-Up: 1/23 – 1/29/17

WWU.jpg

Happy Sunday bookworms!

As promised in my last weekly wrap-up, I was back to the grind on the blog this week!  It is amazing how much I can get accomplished when neither myself nor my children are sick.  I am already gearing up for February and my biggest goal is to get caught up on my book reviews.  Consider this your warning that February may be the month of book reviews here on Cover2CoverMom #SorryNotSorry

Let’s see what I had going on this week shall we?

*Weekly Wrap-Up is a weekly post where I feature what posts were published on the blog for the past week, any bookish/blog happenings, noteworthy posts around the bookish blogosphere, what I recently finished reading, what I am currently reading, and what I will be reading next.

booktopboarder

This week on the blog:

Monday 1/23

tgfe

Book Review: The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

Wednesday 1/25

t5w

Top 5 Wednesday: Underrated Books of 2016

Friday 1/27

kidscornerbbp

Kids’ Corner: Buy, Borrow, or Pass – Picture Book Reviews (January 2017)

booktopboarder

Bookish/Blog happenings:

» Huge thank you to Ann Marie @Lit·Wit·Wine·Dine for sending me some awesome book mail this week!  I received my copy of Christodora by Tim Murphy that I won from Ann Marie’s giveaway.  She also sent me her copy of The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden because she is an awesome blogger friend like that.  You can check out her review of The Bear and the Nightingale here → Review of The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden


Around the blogosphere:

*These posts were not necessarily posted in this past week, this was just when I read them 🙂

» Shi @Bookworm Ink shares a tattoo she designed based off Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (#SpoilerAlert It’s freaking awesome) → Tattooed Inspired: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

» Cait @Paper Fury writes an amusing post on how to find more reading time → How To Find Time To Read More & collaborates with a few other bloggers to give us predictions of what we will see in YA in 2017 → 2017 YA Genre Trend Predictions

» Anne @Modern Mrs. Darcy lists 17 great audiobooks for kids → 17 Great Audiobooks for Kids

» Melanie @Grab the Lapels discuses reading fellow book blogger’s posts and how often you should post every week → Bloggy Lies We Tell Ourselves? & is looking for book recommendations featuring characters with physical disabilities → I Need Book Recs!

» Reg @She Latitude shares ten things every blogger has thought to themselves → Top Ten Thoughts Every Blogger Has Had At Least Once

» Marie @Drizzle & Hurricane Books discusses self-hosting → Thoughts on Self-Hosting

» Jen @Reader In A Reverie shares a few of her favorite fantasy books → Favorite Fantasy Books – Part One

» CW @Read Think Ponder shares some festive book recommendations for the Lunar New Year → Festive Book Recs: Happy Lunar New Year

» Jackie @Death by Tsundoku talks about why book clubs are important → Building Better Book Clubs: Why Book Clubs Matter

» Kelly @Kelly’s Rambles shows off her mad bullet journaling skills → January 2017: Bullet Journal Reflection

» Ashleigh @A Frolic Through Fiction shows of her mad bullet journaling skills as well → A little look into my bullet journal – A preview of my bujo & some tips alongside

» Drew @The Tattooed Book Geek asks if you can have a book blog without book reviews? → Can you have a Book Blog without Book Reviews?

booktopboarder

What have I been reading?

*All titles link to Goodreads

Recently finished reading:

» Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly

hiddenfigures

5-Star Rating System

Hidden Figures is the historical account of the impact that women of color had in the field of aviation.  I learned so much from this book.  The women in this book boggle my mind.  I felt so empowered and inspired by these women.  I will warn you that this is very much a non-fiction book that reads like a history book. It tends to throw lots of information and names your way in quick succession, which felt a little tedious at times.

» In Light of What We See by Sarah Painter

inthelight

5-Star Rating System*2.5 stars rounded up to 3 stars

The two separate storylines did not particularly work well together, making this book feel jumbled.  There was really no connection between them except an insignificant one.  I also strongly disliked the main character Mina.  She did get better as the book progressed, but my aversion to her in the beginning made it really hard for me to want to pick this book up.  There were a few things I did enjoy about the book, but overall this was not my cup of tea.


Currently reading:

» Hag-Seed by Margaret Atwood

hag-seed

» Listen, Slowly by Thanhha Lai

listen-slowly

» When the Sea Turned to Silver by Grace Lin

whentheseaturnedtosilver


On deck:

» The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis

thewolfroad

booktopboarder

How was your week?

What are you currently reading?

What will you read next?

Have a wonderful week, and happy reading:)

 

38 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up: 1/23 – 1/29/17”

  1. Another productive week on the blog Amanda! 😃👍🏼 I was curious to see what you rated Hidden Figures. Good to know that it’s a more dense read filled with historical facts, don’t like surprises lol. Look forward to your thoughts on Hagseed since I’ve yet to read an Atwood & know this is the latest. February = Reviews 🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼 I’ll be reading 💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Lilly! I must admit, the Hidden Figures book wasn’t exactly what I was expecting. I thought I would get to know the women on a more personal level. This isn’t to say the book wasn’t good though. I definitely think audiobook is the way to go with it. I am not sure I would have enjoyed it was much in print form. Definitely a book to read over a period of time so you don’t get burnt out. I learned so much!

      Like

    1. Yes! It was a NetGalley read for me as well, so you can expect a full review. The book definitely had potential, but there were just too many things that stopped me from enjoying it. I needed a stronger connection between the two different stories going on, the climax of the story was a little off, and the paranormal/fantasy elements were not explored or work well within the story. I was bummed. The cover is on point at least lol

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Did you feature Wolf Road in a post recently (last month-ish)? Favorite reads of 2016? or a batch of mini reviews? I swore I saw it on your blog and it gave me the motivation to finally give it a go…

      You are so welcome! I enjoyed reading it, so I wanted to share it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you’re all feeling better! Look forward to all your lovely reviews, I’m so behind and I’ve decided to post one a week so by the end of Feb I’ll only have finished Jan’s reviews but at least if I get into a slump I still have reviews to keep me ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the top-billing mention! It’s always a pleasure to share books I love and you’re doing me a favor by helping my oh-so-cluttered shelves… I hope you enjoy The Bear and the Nightingale as much as I did.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Of course! Everyone should know how awesome you are, not just me 🙂 I want to squeeze it in for February, but we shall see. I have lots of book events coming up and I need to get some reading done for those. Bookworm problems right?

      Like

  4. Oh Amanda, thank you SO much for mentioning my blog in this post! I am so grateful and I really appreciate it! ❤

    Ahhh I really want to watch Hidden Figures! I had no idea it was a book (good grief I’m ignorant!), so now I really want to read that too.

    I know you’ve told me you’re reading When The Sea Turned to Silver, so I hope you’re still enjoying it! As for what I’m currently reading, I’m reading three books: Kindred, Brown Girl Dreaming, and Binti! I really should finish Binti soon since it’s so short — I’ll get around to it in a few days! 🙂

    Have a great week, Amanda! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are so welcome!

      I just go Brown Girl Dreaming from the library! I am planning on picking it up after I finish When the Sea Turned to Silver. I am working on a batch of mini reviews for diverse middle grade books that will include both of these, plus a few others.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for the shoutout and thank you so much for the links, Amanda! Now I’ve got plenty of other posts to check out – it feels like I’ve missed so many in just an ‘off’ blogging week. 😛

    Good luck with catching up with your reviews, and I hope you don’t stress yourself out too much. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

