Wrap Ups & Hauls

Weekly Wrap-Up: 1/16 – 1/22/17

WWU.jpg

Hello my lovely bookworms!

Some of you MAY have noticed that things have been pretty quiet here on my blog for the past 2 weeks.  Calm your fears my friends!  I DO have some posts for you all this week.  I can hear the sighs of relief 🙂

Let’s get to the bookish business shall we?

*Weekly Wrap-Up is a weekly post where I feature what posts were published on the blog for the past week, any bookish/blog happenings, noteworthy posts around the bookish blogosphere, what I recently finished reading, what I am currently reading, and what I will be reading next.

booktopboarder

Bookish/Blog happenings:

brit» I am super excited to see that Brit Bennett, author of The Mothers, will be in Cincinnati OH on February 7th.  I haven’t had the opportunity to get my hands on a copy of this book, so unfortunately I wont be able to actually read a book before this event.  I’ll just have to read my signed copy 🙂

veschwab» I almost had a heart attack when I saw that V.E. Schwab will be in Crestview Hills KY on March 4th!  This part of Kentucky is about 1.5 hours away from me, but I will gladly drive that to see V.E. Schwab and get a signed copy of A Conjuring of Light!  I read A Darker Shade of Magic this past year and loved it, but I have been putting off A Gathering of Shadows.  Why?!  Who knows! I will definitely be picking it up before this event!


Around the blogosphere:

» Reg @She Latitude shares a “book look” → Book Looks: History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

» Naz @Read Diverse Books gives us books with LGBTQIA Asian protagonists → Books With LGBTQIA Asian Protagonists – #ReadDiverse2017

» Jen @Reader in Reverie shares how to do blackout poetry → How to: Blackout Poetry

» Resh Susan @The Book Satchel gives us suggestions for Indian fiction published in 2016 → Indian Books Published in 2016 to Add to Your Diverse-A-Thon TBR

» Danielle @Books, Vertigo & Tea discuses DNF books and reviewing them → DNF Titles & Reviews/Ratings

» Lilly @Lair of Books is hosting a GIVEAWAY! → Giveaway: January Owlcrate

» Gretchen @Chic Nerd Reads shares a short poem about the Women’s March → Women’s March

» Ashleigh @A Frolic Through Fiction asks if reviewing books hinders your reading experience → Let’s Talk: Can being a book reviewer ruin the overall enjoyment of reading?

booktopboarder

What have I been reading?

Recently finished reading:

» The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd

theinventionofwings

5-Star Rating System

I went into this book completely blind.  I didn’t read any reviews and didn’t even read the synopsis.  Until I read the author’s note at the end, I had no idea that this book was based off a real set of sisters: Sarah and Angelina Grimké.  The Grimké sisters were active abolitionists starting in the late 1830s until slavery was abolished in 1865.  They were also women’s rights activists until their deaths in 1870s.  HOW DID I NOT KNOW WHO THESE WOMEN WERE?  Oh, that’s right.  They were important WOMEN in history, that’s why.  Despite the slow start to this book, I really enjoyed learning about the Grimké sisters.  I also like how Kidd wove a slave narrative along their story as well.  I think Sarah Grimké would have been proud of this fictional account of her life.  I read this for my book club’s January selection, and it made for a fantastic discussion.


Currently reading:

» Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly

hiddenfigures

I am about 60% through this book now.  I have definitely learned A LOT from this book, but find that it is a little tedious at times.  Hidden Figures is more like the historical account of the impact that women of color had in the field of aviation.  I am just now reaching the point of the book where we are starting to talk about the race to put a man in space.  Don’t get me wrong, this book is very enlightening and inspirational, but it tends to throw lots of information and names your way in quick succession.

» In Light of What We See by Sarah Painter

inthelight

I am about 20% into this book and if I am being honest, I am thinking about giving up.  I am not connecting to this book at all for some reason.  I am going to give it another go tonight, then decide if I am going to DNF or not.


On deck:

» Hag-Seed by Margaret Atwood

hag-seed

booktopboarder

How was your week?

What are you currently reading?

What will you read next?

Have a wonderful week, and happy reading:)

14 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up: 1/16 – 1/22/17”

  1. A productive week as always!! Thanks for featuring my post, it means a lot to me! So exciting that both these authors are going near you. Eeeeeeeeeeek *jumps up and down like a child* lol
    Hope you enjoy your reads for the upcoming week =)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are very welcome! I am always on the look out for diverse reading lists.

      I did enjoy Hidden Figures! I finished it today actually. At times it was a little overwhelming because of the amount of info thrown at me, but it was fascinating and very inspirational! I cannot wait to see the movie now 🙂

      Like

  2. Thank you Amanda for featuring my Giveaway! that’s pretty nice of you <3! I hope you have a blast meeting V.E. Schwab, she's so chill & just one of those authors open to conversation with her readers. LOVE HER! I've also been holding off on AGOS & that's because I read ADSOM early 2016 & I didn't want to be left waiting all year for the 3rd book lol. Now I can binge the rest of the trilogy get all the feels at once lol 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OMG! V.E. Schwab will be in Kentucky? I had no idea! I’ve gotta go! I’ll have to see how far from Louisville it’ll be, but I’ll make the drive regardless. Maybe I’ll see you there? Where can I get more information on this event?

    Like

      1. Yeah, I checked Google Maps and I’m an hour and a half from there! So I definitely want to try to make it! And it’s on a Saturday, so that’s even better! Thanks for the link. I’ll check it out and purchase tickets, if I need to! I wouldn’t wanna miss this, with her being so close. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

