Wrap Ups & Hauls

Weekly Wrap Up: 10/3 – 10/9/16

WWU10-9-16.jpg

Hello my bookish friends!

I am in my final countdown for the Books by the Banks book festival that is taking place this coming weekend on the 15th.  I have been looking forward to attending my first book festival for months now, and it’s hard to believe it is almost here.  I still have 3 books that I would like to read before Saturday, so I may be scarce around the blogosphere this week.  I know, I know, what will you all do without me?  Patience my friends.  I promise I will be back with a vengeance next week.

*Weekly Wrap-Up is a weekly post where I feature what posts were published on the blog for the past week, any bookish/blog happenings, what I recently finished reading, what I am currently reading, and what I will be reading next.

This week on the blog:

Monday 10/3

septemberwrapupSeptember 2016 Wrap-Up + Book Haul

octobertbr

October 2016 TBR

Tuesday 10/4

amancalledovereview

Book Review: A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

Wednesday 10/5

neveralwayssometimesreview

Book Review: Never Always Sometimes by Adi Alsaid


Bookish/Blog happenings:

booksbythebanks

 Like I mentioned, the Books by the Banks book festival is this coming weekend.  If you are curious about which authors will be attending, you can view the author lineup here.  A few of my most anticipated authors are Maggie Stiefvater, Jenny Lawson, Tiffany McDaniel, and Mindy McGinnis.  They finally posted the author panel schedule, and I am really looking forward to hearing some great panels.


Recently finished reading:

thecoincidenceofcoconutcakeAmazonGoodreads

5-Star Rating System

*Actually 3.5 stars

I don’t typically read “fluffy books,” but I did find this book enjoyable.  I’ve never read a book that centers around food/cooking, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

512ykrkQWpL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_AmazonGoodreads

I don’t have a rating for this book just yet.  I definitely enjoyed this book, but there were also a few issues.  I need to sit down and start my review so I can hash out my feelings.

thefemaleofthespecies

AmazonGoodreads

5-Star Rating System

Another book by an author attending the BBTB book festival.  I had requested this book from the library, but since it came out on September 20th, I wasn’t hopeful that it was going to come in before the event.  Surprisingly enough, it came in this week.  From the very first line, I was hooked.  This book completely side swiped me… It is definitely going on my list of favorite reads of 2016!


Currently reading:

FracturedAmazonGoodreads

I am about 40% through this one and must say that I am very impressed thus far.  Unlike other books in the thriller/suspense genre that I’ve read this year, this book has maintained my attention from the start.

stardust

AmazonGoodreads

My second Neil Gaiman book is turning out to be just as enjoyable as the first!  This is such a wonderful fairytale.


On deck:

 

Since She Went Away by David Bell

The New Neighbor by Leah Stewart

I am really going to try and squeeze these two in this week, but will be happy to at least get one read.


How was your week?

What are you currently reading?

What will you read next?

Have a wonderful week, and happy reading:)

17 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up: 10/3 – 10/9/16”

  1. Have fun at Books by the Bank! I’m sure you will tell us all about it, so I look forward to your post 🙂

    My week was ok. I had Thursday and Friday off work and hoped to get some serious reading done but failed miserably. 😦 I couldn’t even finish one book this weekend. I got so distracted and then on Friday I was in a terrible mood. Then I had to go out of town for the weekend, so that means zero reading. Sigh. Overall, my four-day weekend was OK, but I feel terrible about being so unproductive.
    My next book will be The Obelisk Gate by NK Jemisin!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I can’t wait!!!

      Ugh, I’m sorry you didn’t have a very productive reading weekend. I hope you were at least able to relax a bit?

      I hope you enjoy The Obelisk Gate! I had to look it up because I didn’t recognize the title. I do recognize the first book in the series, The Fifth Season. I believe I’ve seen in featured on a few favorite fantasy lists. I definitely want to try out more adult fantasy in the next year!

      Like

  2. Happy week! The ones you have for this week seem amazing 🙂 I didn’t know The new neighbor :O

    I’m reading Away from the light and will read The Secret next ^^

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My week was not nearly as bookish as I had been hoping, sadly. But, I’m really impressed with your progress, Amanda. Keep up the great work! Also, good for you for giving yourself space from the blog this week. Being prepared for your book festival is important. I hope you enjoy it! I can’t wait to hear about your experiences.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh wow!!! I am LOVING your currently reading Amanda! I cannot wait to read Female Of The Species, I purchased it at Bookcon with high expectations. Now that you’ve read & loved it…I know I got my money’s worth! I also just got approved for Fractured today (requested it a while back) & I’m excited over this one. I’ve only heard good things so I’m hoping it’s a solid read. Stardust😍😍😍my 1st Gaiman & it was everything I could’ve possible wanted from a 1st book by a beloved author.

    Like

    1. You HAVE to read The Female of the Species!! It is so amazing! I can’t wait to write my review.
      I really liked how the author chose to format Fractured. Not only is it a dual perspective, but it weaves back and forth from present to past. It really enhanced the suspense elements.

      Like

Leave a Reply

