Wrap Ups & Hauls

September 2016 Wrap-Up + Book Haul

SeptemberWRAPUP.jpg

September was a great reading month for me!  I read a total of 7 books, 4 of which were off my September TBR.  The only book off my September TBR that I didn’t finish was Fractured by Catherine McKenzie, but I have at least started it, so there’s that.

Here is what I accomplished in September…

Books I Read:

DontYouCryAmazonGoodreads

Star ratings (4)

*Actually 3.5 stars

Summary of feelings:  This book was slower paced until the 80% mark, then turns into a race to the finish line.  I enjoyed how the thriller story line panned out.

You can read my review here → Book Review: Don’t You Cry by Mary Kubica


AManCalledOveAmazon Goodreads

5-Star Rating System

Summary of feelings:  This was a charming and heart-warming read.  I adored Ove.  Revolves around the lesson that you can’t judge a person before you know their entire story.

Review to come!


LittleNothingAmazonGoodreads

5-Star Rating System

Summary of feelings:  Mixed feelings.  This book felt like two stories that I enjoyed separately, but not sure they worked together.  It felt disjointed.

You can read my review here → Book Review: Little Nothing by Marisa Silver


NeverAlwaysSometimes

AmazonGoodreads

5-Star Rating System

Summary of feelings:  Cute YA contemporary.  There were a few events in the plotline that I didn’t care for, but I loved the dialogue between the two main characters.

Review to come!


thegraveyardbookAmazonGoodreads

5-Star Rating System

Summary of feelings:  My first Neil Gaiman book.  Audiobook is the way to go on this one, as NG narrates it himself and is brilliant.  Felt like I was watching a Henry Selick film in my head.  Perfect book for October/Halloween.

Review to come!


thecoincidenceofcoconutcake

AmazonGoodreads

5-Star Rating System

*Actually 3.5 stars

Summary of feelings:  Light and fluffy read.  Wonderful descriptions of food and cooking.

Review to come!


512ykrkQWpL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

AmazonGoodreads

Summary of feelings:  Unique and creative WWII alternate history.  Science fiction & fantasy elements.  Enjoyed it, but still working through my feelings.

Review to come!


Other Books I Reviewed:

Starflight

Book Review: Starflight (Starflight #1) by Melissa Landers

TheNightingaleReview

Book Review: The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

FuriouslyHappyReview

Book Review: Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson


Miscellaneous Posts:

Top Ten Tuesdays:

Top Ten Tuesday: Best Audiobooks I’ve Read in 2016

Top Ten Tuesday: Fall 2016 TBR

Top 5 Wednesdays:

Top 5 Wednesday: Characters I’d Want as Family

Top 5 Wednesday: Newly Discovered Authors

Favorite Posts:

tiffanymcdanielinterview

Author Interview: Tiffany McDaniel, Author of The Summer That Melted Everything

kidscornerdpimaginationlibrary

Kids’ Corner: Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library


September Book Haul:

septemberbookhaul

The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd

The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy E. Reichert

The Orphan Mother by Robert Hicks

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir


Which books did you read in September?

Which books did you buy in September?

Happy reading in October 🙂

5 thoughts on “September 2016 Wrap-Up + Book Haul”

  1. I’m so excited for you to read The Neverland Wars!! And I’ve really glad to see that you enjoyed a Neil Gaiman book! I’ve only read Stardust but oh my god I loved it. I’ve been really curious to see what The Graveyard Book was like, but now I’m keen to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

