Wrap Ups & Hauls

Weekly Wrap-Up: 8/29 – 9/5/16

WWU8-29-16

Happy Labor Day bookworms!

I usually post my wrap-up posts on Sundays, however with it being a holiday weekend here in the U.S, we have been going non-stop.  We thoroughly enjoy our holiday weekend cookout celebrations here in America, so I feel as if my family and I have been eating non-stop since Saturday.   With all of our social engagements over the weekend, I haven’t had much time to get things done on the blog, or keep up with everyone’s posts.  Sorry guys!  I promise I will get it together 🙂

Anyways here is what I had going on this week…

*Weekly Wrap-Up is a weekly post where I feature what posts were published on the blog for the past week, any bookish/blog happenings, what I recently finished reading, what I am currently reading, and what I will be reading next.

This week on the blog:

Monday 8/29

TSTME

Book Review: The Summer that Melted Everything by Tiffany McDaniel

*One of my favorite reads of 2016!  I will also be posting an interview with the author, Tiffany McDaniel, in the next week or so.

Wednesday 8/31

T5W Books I Will Never Read

Top 5 Wednesday: Books I Will Never Read

August 2016 Wrap Up and Haul

August 2016 Wrap-Up + Book Haul

Thursday 9/1

SeptemberTBR

September 2016 TBR


Bookish/Blog happenings:

 2016RC

I am 10 books ahead of schedule on my 20016 Goodreads Reading Challenge.  I am so excited that it looks like I will be able to exceed my original goal of 60 books.


Recently finished reading:

DontYouCryAmazonGoodreads

Star ratings (4)

*Actually 3.5 stars

I really enjoyed how this thriller panned out, however it was painfully slow for the first 80% of book… I haven’t read much in the thriller genre, but this seems to be a common theme in the thrillers that I have read.  This was my second Kubica book, and I think I prefer the other book, Pretty Baby, over this one.  I’ve actually contemplated changing my 3.5 star rating for that book up to a 4 star rating.  You can read my review for Pretty Baby here → Book Review: Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica.  Don’t get me wrong, this was an enjoyable read overall, it just didn’t knock my socks off.

*Review come soon!


Currently reading:

LittleNothingAmazonGoodreads

I am 35% through this one and sadly, this may become a DNF.  I was in love with this book until the 30% mark, then all of a sudden things went south very quickly.  I am super bummed.  I am definitely going to try and stick it out and hope things will turn back around.

AManCalledOveAmazon Goodreads

I am listening to A Man called Ove via audiobook.  FYI “Ove” is pronounced “OO (as in too)-Vuh”… not sure how you get that out of “Ove,” but whatever.  This is definitely a slower paced read, however I am enjoying it thus far.


On deck:

Two more books on my Books by the Banks book festival TBR…

NeverAlwaysSometimes

AmazonGoodreads

I am not expecting much out of this one.  Really I am just hoping for a quick, easy, and sweet YA read.

TheNewNeighbor

AmazonGoodreads

I haven’t had much luck in the thriller department, so I don’t have high expectations for this one either.  I am hoping for a thriller that doesn’t take 80% of the book to get to the “thriller” elements.


How was your week?

What are you currently reading?

What will you read next?

Have a wonderful week, and happy reading:)

11 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up: 8/29 – 9/5/16”

      1. Hmmm…I think it’s about a man who is abducted & awakens to a life that isn’t his with loved ones that aren’t his…his ordinary life is now quite the opposite…he’s now a celebrated genius…plays with the question of whether or not ur satisfied with your own life? That’s what I got lol

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Hope you had a wonderful long weekend! 🙂 Congrats on doing so well with the goodreads challenge! I think I’ll need to read Ove! 🙂 And I’m probably making this up, but was the book adapted to the big screen? I think I remember seeing a poster, oh I will need to do some googling. Have a good week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

