Wrap Ups & Hauls

6 Month Blogiversary: Reflection + Future Goals

6monthblogiversary

Today, Cover2CoverMom celebrates its 6 month blogiversay!  I thought this would be the perfect time to reflect back on what I have learned over the past 6 months of blogging, and what my future goals for Cover2CoverMom are…

I started Cover2CoverMom for a few different reasons.  Firstly, I love books and reading, but didn’t really have anyone in my life to discuss them with. Unfortunately, most of my family and friends do not read much.  I wanted to meet other people with similar reading interests.  Of course there is always Goodreads for this, but there are so many people… a blog seemed like a better option for a more personal level.  Secondly, I wanted to become a book reviewer and receive ARCs.  From my research, posting reviews to sites like Goodreads is great, but developing and maintaining your own blog gives you a little more credibility in the eyes of publishers.  Lastly, I needed a hobby.  I’m going to be honest here… Being a stay-at-home mother, while rewarding, can also make you feel unproductive.  I guess you could say I needed a “project” to do.  Something to give me that sense of accomplishment.  A creative outlet, if you will.

Starting my own book blog has been one of the best decisions I’ve ever made!  In fact, I love it so much I even wrote a Top Ten Tuesday post about why I love book blogging so much!  You can read it here → Top Ten Tuesday: Reasons Why I Love Book Blogging

What book blogging has taught me in the past 6 months…

» Blogging gives me a sense of accomplishment

Since I stay at home with my kids, maintaining my blog helps me feel productive and gives me a sense of accomplishment.  Now when my husband asks me about what I did today, I can talk about something other than taking care of the kids, cleaning the house, running errands, and cooking 🙂

» Being a part of the bookish community has helped expand my reading tastes

One of my goals this year was to expand my reading tastes.  Before I became an active member in the bookish community, I basically only read Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction, and some Contemporary.  My eyes have been opened to so many great books and genres that I would never have read before starting this blog.

» Writing book reviews helps me to process my thoughts and feelings about books

Writing reviews have really helped me become a critical reader.  Instead of just giving a book a star rating and moving on to the next book, I have to sit down and think about what made me like or dislike the book.

» Blogging connects you with people from all over the world that you wouldn’t have otherwise connected with

I LOVE LOVE LOVE all of the people I have connected with through blogging!  I now have friends all over the world and I wouldn’t have ever connected with them without my blog.

» You can’t appeal to everyone

You are not going to be everyone’s cup of tea. Don’t take it personally.

» There is always room for improvement

You need to constantly be looking for ways to improve.  If you don’t strive for improvement, things get comfortable.  Comfortable is boring.

» Blogger envy is real

I could say that I don’t suffer from blogger envy, but I would be lying.  The truth is there will always be someone who is a “better blogger” than you whether they have a more  followers, more creative content, a better layout, etc. etc.  While it is okay to appreciate other blogs, don’t let it get you down, instead use it as motivation to keep improving your own blog.

» The number of followers you have is not the only way to judge your blog’s success

Don’t feel like you have to have thousands of followers before you deem your blog successful.  Do you enjoy blogging?  Are you proud of the content you put out?  Have you connected with some wonderful people?  If yes, then your blog is a success.

» Blogging is very time consuming

Between reading, writing book reviews, writing other blog posts, interacting with followers, reading fellow book bloggers posts, taking pictures for blog posts, and being active in the bookish community, book blogging is exhausting.

» Twitter is your friend

When it comes to the bookish community, Twitter is where it is at!  Not only can you get the latest book news, enter giveaways, find out about new release details, see what your favorite authors are up to, and connect with fellow bookworms, but it is also a great place to promote your blog.

Future goals for Cover2CoverMom…

» Post a weekly discussion post

Posting original content has been my biggest struggle in blogging.  It’s not that I don’t have ideas for posts, actually I have around 25+ discussion post ideas sitting in my draft folder that I want to write, however it’s about mustering up the courage to put myself out there.  Honestly I have played it safe for the entire 6 months that I have been blogging, so it’s time to step outside my comfort zone.

» Diversify my reading

I talked a little about this in my Weekly Wrap-Up: 8/1 – 8/7/16 post, but I am going to recap here.  After I finish my TBR for the BBTB book festival that I am attending in October, I am challenging myself to read one book each month written by or about a person (or people) who differ from me: people of color, people of different religions, people with physical or mental handicap, LGBT+ characters, etc. etc.  So far, I have a few books on my TBR list for this goal so far…

»Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

» Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera

» The Book of Esther by Emily Barton

» The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

» Step up my book photography game and be more active on Instagram

The bookish community is super active on Instagram! I haven’t been very active on Instagram thus far, but I definitely want to step my game up.  I usually just post pictures that I take for my book review posts, but there are all kinds of monthly challenge you can join in!

Do you have an Instagram account?  Make sure to leave your link so I can follow you 🙂


I would like to thank each and every one of my followers for taking the time to follow my blog.  Whether you read every post, or just one every once in a while, I appreciate the time you take out of your day to read my ramblings.

I cannot wait to see what the next 6 months have in store for me! Cheers!!!

35 thoughts on “6 Month Blogiversary: Reflection + Future Goals”

  1. Again, congrats on your 6-month blogiversary. Everything you say is spot on. I feel so accomplished and like a have a small sense of purpose now that I have a blog 😀 It’s a wonderful feeling. I NEVER find myself with nothing to do and am never bored. Also, yess, blogger envy is too real! But it’s normal for everyone. :p

    About Instagram…I really DO want to spend more time there and engage with people but I genuinely don’t have the time. Keeping up with comments on my blog and blog hopping (which I do almost every day) + Twitter takes soo much time. I can’t muster the energy to dive fully into Instagram. I’m also not very good at taking pictures and Bookstagram feels like running a whole new blog entirely. I will continue to focus on my blog + Twitter for now, with posts on IG every now and then. I honestly haven’t seen it benefit my blog or “brand” very much either. Some people can manage to harness the potential of IG and make their websites more successful, but I haven’t discovered how.

    OK, so this turned into a release of my Bookstagram insecurities. Woops!
    Your blog is great, Amanda. Keep up the great work. I look forward to your discussions!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You are so right! IG is definitely last on my priority list, bc like you said it really doesn’t generate much traffic to my blog like Twitter does. I am very much an amateur book photographer, but since I’m not one to put GIFs or memes in my reviews or posts, I think the book photography pictures are a wonderful way to enhance posts. But yes, finding the time is going to be the biggest struggle 😅 Thank you so much Naz!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay for 6 months! All the points are just perfect I feel the same way 🙂 and wow the time it takes! I didn’t realise I’d dedicate as much time as I do but I just love it and I’m never bored so that’s a plus 🙂
    I started on Instagram and then moved here so I love the bookstagram community, I’m already following you so i can’t wait to see you participate in some challenges (I always start doing them and just stop during the month I really need to stick one out soon XD)

    I can’t wait to read some discussion posts from you they are going to be fantastic! Get rid of that self doubt and just post, whats the worst that could happen? Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Blogiversay 🤗 Yours is definitely one of my favorites! I’ve always felt the same way, I need a project for myself. Even though I work 8h in an office, I still need to find some time for my hobbies (reading and movies) otherwise I’m not happy. I think it’s wonderful that you found this as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m just not one to sit on the couch and watch TV… I need something to occupy my hands and feel like I’m doing something you know? Thank you so much, I’m so happy we connected! I think you are going to be stuck with me for a long time 😘

      Like

  4. Woo go you! I sooo agree with the time consuming business – I had no idea how many hours of my life I’d end up pouring into blogging. I don’t regret a single minute but when someone asks me how long it takes to write my reviews I’m like YEAH,that long. *collapses in exhausted heap*

    Blogging is totally the best for meeting new people! I also have a great 30 seconds of fun looking at where in the world I had views from each day and doing a “oooh-ahhh” when there are views from countries I’d never dreamed of making friends or connecting to people. Blogging is way cool, *stunned expression*.

    Do you follow Naz @ Read Diverse Books? He’s got some wicked recs for diverse books if you haven’t. And have you read Simon vs? I have a sneaky feeling that you haven’t, in which case *thwacks you with pillow*.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do follow Naz and a few others in the diverse book blogger network! I really admire the movement they are spearheading!

      I have not read Simon vs!!! I’ve seen it around though, I just need to look into it 😅. I take it you read and loved it if you are thwacking me with pillows 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations on 6 months of blogging!! 🙂 Here’s to many more! I agree that it was a fantastic decision you made to start your blog. That’s awesome that you have so many ideas for discussion posts – can’t wait to read them!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Happy Blogiversary! Congratulations on blogging for 6 months! 🙂 I’m also a stay-at-home mom so I can relate to all that you blogged about. My Bookstagram account is: inmyreadingnook . I’ve also not been keeping it up to date recently, but my kids go back to school on September 6 so I’ll have more time then. On Twitter I am @BeckyG973.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

