Wrap Ups & Hauls

Weekly Wrap-Up: 8/15 – 8/21/16

WWU8-15-8-21

Happy Sunday!

Another crazy week has come and gone!  I had a great reading week, reading 2 books and finishing up 1 other.  It has been a long time since I’ve had such a productive reading week, however it’s all fun and games until you are 5 book reviews behind 🙂

*Weekly Wrap-Up is a weekly post where I feature what posts were published on the blog for the past week, any bookish/blog happenings, what I recently finished reading, what I am currently reading, and what I will be reading next.

This week on the blog:

Monday 8/15

HPandtheCCReviewBook Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by Jack Thorne (J.K. Rowling & John Tiffany)

Wednesday 8/17

T5WOpeningLinesTop 5 Wednesday: Favorite Opening Lines

Thursday 8/18

TheRavenKingReviewBook Review: The Raven King (The Raven Cycle #4) by Maggie Stiefvater


Bookish/Blog happenings:

» This coming week Cover2CoverMom will be celebrating its 6 month blogiversary!  I am so happy I decided to give the whole blogging thing a go!!!  This community means the world to me, and I appreciate everyone who takes the time to read any of my posts.  I am beyond excited (more like surprised) that I now have 195 WordPress followers!!! 200 WP followers is (hopefully) just around the corner…. Will I hit 200 by my 6 month blogiversary?!?! (wink, wink, nudge, nudge)

No pressure 🙂

RC48.jpg

» I have read 48 books towards my 2016 Goodreads Reading Challenge.  If I can finish out August at 51 books then read 6 books per month for the rest of the year, I’ll be able to hit 75 books read in 2016.

 

OwlCrateAug

» After seeing July’s OwlCrate box, I decided to try out Owlcrate for myself.  I must admit that August’s box didn’t particularly appeal to me, but I definitely think it’s a cute box for YA lovers.  The book that was included, P.S. I Like You, isn’t really my type of book, however I will give it a go.   I think this box would be very hit or miss for me.  I LOVED last month’s box that included This Savage Song!


Recently finished reading:

51hdo1g8aSL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

AmazonGoodreads

Star ratings (3)

I was pleasantly surprised with The Love That Split the World.  I wasn’t sure what to expect with this one, but I found the plot to be very original and the writing to be beautiful.  I think this is a wonderful YA debut novel.

515p3OrN1KL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_I AmazonGoodreads

Star ratings (2)

I was so excited when my book club selected The Nightingale as our August book selection.  As some of you know, historical fiction is my favorite genre.  I had heard such wonderful things about this book, and I was not disappointed.  Review to come!

51lfCo3jA3L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

AmazonGoodreads

2 Stars

This book wasn’t my cup of tea.  I pretty much knew a few chapters in that this wasn’t going to be for me.  Review to come.


Currently reading:

51Z3ZotTWfL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_AmazonGoodreads

I have only read a few pages, but I have laughed out loud on several occasions already.


On deck:

LittleNothingAmazonGoodreads

The final book on my August TBR list! Marisa Silver is another author attending the Books by the Banks Book Festival in October.  Little Nothing is set to be released on September 13, so I was very excited to be approved for a review copy via NetGalley.


How was your week?

What are you currently reading?

What will you read next?

Have a wonderful week, and happy reading:)

 

12 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up: 8/15 – 8/21/16”

  1. Yeah, you definitely had a productive week!
    Increasing your reading goal to 75 should be perfectly doable! That’s where I have set my goal and even I will have to increase it up to 100…probably. I’ve been reading lots of graphic novels and short books, so I feel like I’m cheating, but at this rate I’m more confident I can hit 100 by year’s end. That’s a new record for me. Before I started blogging, I never went over 40!
    Glad you liked The Love That Split the World. It’s on my TBR 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve never read a graphic novel! I know they are become more popular these days. Actually, a lot of the chapter books my son really enjoys could be considered graphic novels… Think Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Hey a book is a book whether or not there are pictures, so they count in my opinion.

      Like

  2. Happy six-month blogiversary! I totally feel you with the review pile up. I’ve been reading like a mad thing of late, and now I’ve got a big ol’ pile of books I need to find some time to write about! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

