Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Opening Lines

T5WOpeningLines

Hello and welcome to my Top 5 Wednesday post!

T5W is a weekly meme is hosted by Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes.  You can visit the Goodreads T5W group for more info.

118368

This week’s theme is…

August 17th: Favorite First Sentences

To me, great opening lines are the kind that jump out and grab your attention.  Here are a few books with opening lines that have stuck out in my mind…

51Qf04aUqVL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_AmazonGoodreads

“The heat came with the devil.  It was the summer of 1984, and while the devil had been invited, the heat was not. It should’ve been expected, though.  Heat is, after all, the devil’s name, and when’s the last time you left home without yours?”


515p3OrN1KL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_AmazonGoodreads

“If I have learned anything in this long life of mine, it is this: In love we find out who we want to be; in war we find out who we are.”


“You better not never tell nobody but God.”

MPHPC
“I had just come to accept that my life would be ordinary when extraordinary things began to happen.”

“I’m pretty much fucked.”

What are some of your favorite opening lines in literature?

*Feel free to link to your own T5W post

21 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Opening Lines”

  1. LOL @ the Martian line.

    I’m not a big fan of the Miss Peregrine line, tbh. Have you read Library of Souls? I enjoyed the first 2 books but haven’t kept up with the latest release at all. I haven’t even read any reviews yet. But I hope it ends on a high note!

    The opening for The Summer That Melted Everything is definitely my favorite in this bunch. Hmm, maybe I should have agreed to review it. x)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have not read Library of Souls YET. I haven’t even finished Miss Peregine’s HFPC. I’ve only read a chapter to be honest. I’m trying to read it before the movie comes out. My son wants to go see it, but need to figure out if it will be appropriate for his age.

      I hope you read TSTME some day. I think you will be pleasantly surprised.

      Like

Leave a Reply

