Book Traveling Thursday

Book Traveling Thursday: Lazy Day Read

BTT.jpg

Happy Thursday!  It’s time again for a Book Traveling Thursday post, especially since I have been neglecting my BTT posts for the past few weeks… AND I am late to the game on my post for the 3rd night in a row… It is what it is 🙂

You can visit the BTT Goodreads Group for more info and to see upcoming themes.

168709

This week’s BTT theme was…

August 4th – Everyone needs at least on lazy day! Choose a book you would want to read on a lazy day at home or on the beach.

When I am having a lazy day at home or on the beach, I like to read “chick lit” type books that center around either romance or friendship.  For today’s BTT post, I decided to go with a coming of age YA book that centers around friendships and summertime…

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares

STT2AmazonGoodreads

Carmen got the jeans at a thrift shop. They didn’t look all that great: they were worn, dirty, and speckled with bleach. On the night before she and her friends part for the summer, Carmen decides to toss them. But Tibby says they’re great. She’d love to have them. Lena and Bridget also think they’re fabulous. Lena decides that they should all try them on. Whoever they fit best will get them. Nobody knows why, but the pants fit everyone perfectly. Even Carmen (who never thinks she looks good in anything) thinks she looks good in the pants. Over a few bags of cheese puffs, they decide to form a sisterhood and take the vow of the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants . . . the next morning, they say good-bye. And then the journey of the pants — and the most memorable summer of their lives — begins.

Technically I have not actually read this book YET, but I adore the movie adaptation.  I know I am supposed to go through and label which countries the different covers are from, but I am trying to get this posted before it is no longer Thursday 🙂

My Favorite Covers:

I adore these covers.  I’m not one for covers with people on the front, HOWEVER the cover on the far left really captures the essence of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants.   I am also not typically a fan of book covers that tie in with the movie adaptation, but again I find myself going against my typical tastes in covers and really liking the cover on the far right.

Least Favorite Covers:

Yeah not a fan of any of these covers… I particularly HATE the first cover because it is just plain ugly… why are there only two girls on the cover?  The story is about FOUR girls.  The rest of the covers are just too plain.


What type of books do you like to read on lazy days?

Have you read The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants?  What were your thoughts?

*Feel free to link up to your own BTT post!

9 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday: Lazy Day Read”

  1. Well, I’ve never read the book but I adored the movie!
    I agree that the US cover is horrid. Why! But it’s kind of iconic to me, at this point so I’m used to how unsightly it is. I’m also personally not a fan of the 1st and 3rd covers your “Least Favorite” favorite because the girls are sexualized, imo, and I don’t think it’s necessary.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read this one either… I don’t think I’ve even seen the film! My favourite lazy day reads are thrillers and suspense novels. Patricia Highsmith is my favourite! I always take one or two of her books on holidays. good thing she was so prolific!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You must watch the film! Such a great coming of age story of a group of friends!

      I haven’t read too many thrillers. I’ve read some Stephen King and Mary Kubica, but that’s about it. It is defiantly a genre I want to get into more! Thank you for the author rec! Do you have a favorite?

      Like

Leave a Reply

