Wrap Ups & Hauls

May Wrap-Up & Haul

Image [1586236]

 

Goodbye May and Hello June!!!    I must admit, I’m a little disappointed in my reading and blogging this month… May was a busy month with end of the school year activities, going away for a girl’s weekend, and now going on vacation.  Hopefully June will be a better month…

Books I read in May:

 

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Star ratings (2)

Hanging Mary by Susan Higginbotham

Star ratings (4)

The Mapmaker’s Children by Sarah McCoy

Star ratings (4)

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

Star ratings (2)

Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Star ratings (3)


Book Reviews:

Image [146597]

Book Review: The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge

Image [751828]

 

Book Review: The Butterfly and the Violin by Kristy Cambron

Image [1044042]

Book Review: The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Image [1441298]

Book Review: The Mapmaker’s Children by Sarah McCoy


Book Haul:

IMG_5506 [1578000]

 

For the month of May I was SUPPOSED to be on a book buying ban…I would consider only purchasing 4 books a success 🙂 Think how many books I could have bought had I NOT been on a book buying ban lol   In my defense, I have very good reasons for purchasing each book…

Don’t You Cry by Mary Kubica

How was I NOT going to purchase a SIGNED copy of Don’t You Cry?  Damn you Target for getting me on the Author Signed books EVERYTIME!

IMG_5508 [1578002]

Magonia by Maria Davana Headley

This was 100% a cover buy.  #SorryNotSorry

IMG_5504 [1577998]

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

This is my book club’s June selection… so I didn’t really have a choice on this one.  That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.

IMG_5505 [1577999]A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

Yeah I don’t have a good one for this book.  I just wanted it.


How did you fare this month?  Feel free to link to your own May wrap-up/haul posts!

15 thoughts on “May Wrap-Up & Haul”

  1. This month I finished up the Harry Potter series for the millionth time, and can’t wait to start up on some of my new reads from OwlCrate 🙂 You’re going to love A Darker Shade of Magic! Such cool world building 🙂 I read Mongonia last summer! It was an interesting read: a little weird for my tastes, but ultimately satisfying with a stellar narrator. Here’s to June!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG you are hilarious, I love it – the ‘book buying ban’ resulted in 4 books. Hah – you are braver than me to even try 😉
    Looks like a great month past and another one ahead – I hope you like Station Eleven or at least looking forward to read your thoughts. And based on your review I may see about Schwab – I keep seeing these books around but I can’t tell yet if they’re for my shelf.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was very hesitant with reading a Schwab book since I’m not a huge fantasy reader, but her writing is absolutely beautiful! She is an amazingly talented writer. I listened to the audiobook version of A Darker Shade of Magic and the narrator was amazing too. I can’t wait to read more of her work! I hope you give her a shot!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

