Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Classic Characters I’m Most Like

Image [638231]

Hello and welcome to my Top 5 Wednesday post!

T5W is a weekly meme is hosted by Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes.  You can visit the Goodreads T5W group for more info.

118368

This week’s theme is characters you are most like.  I am going to put a little spin on this and make it characters from classics that I’m most like.  When comparing myself to these characters, I’m not only going to talk about the good, but I’m also going to talk about the bad.

Shall we begin?

Jo March from Little Women

51Nw7qbmf0L._SX348_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

The good qualities that I posses: bibliophile, loyal, strong, independent, and outspoken

The less desirable qualities that I posses: hot-tempered, clumsy, and blunt

There probably isn’t any other character that I am most like than Jo March herself.  Ever since watching the film adaptation as a young girl, I felt that Jo was easy to relate to.  I admired her strong and independent ways, her fierce loyalty to her family, and that she was never afraid to speak her mind.  I like to think I am very similar to Jo in these aspects.  However, with the good also comes the bad.  I am also hot-tempered, blunt, and clumsy like Jo.  All in all, I feel like the good qualities outweigh the bad.


Elizabeth Bennet from Pride and Prjudice

1885Amazon // Goodreads

The good qualities that I posses: bibliophile, lively, clever, honest, spirited, and playful

The less desirable qualities that I posses: judgmental

Elizabeth Bennet was always the life of the party.  She was beloved by her sisters for she was the most amusing of the bunch.  The best way to describe Elizabeth is that she is spirited!  I hope this is how others view me, because I think I am mildly entertaining.  That being said, I also share Elizabeth’s habit of  being hasty with judgements and preconceived notions.


Jane Eyre from Jane Eyre

41g4DSszOTL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

The good qualities that I posses: bibliophile, passionate, virtuous, and generous

The less desirable qualities that I posses: conflicted

Jane Eyre prides herself on her upstanding moral compass.  I too think I am a person of good character and virtue.  I am not perfect, but I do always try and do the right thing.  I also share Jane’s confliction between doing what is right, and doing what is easy.


 Catherine Earnshaw from Wuthering Heights

348914Amazon // Goodreads

The good qualities that I posses: intense, free-spirited, and passionate

The less desirable qualities that I posses: spoiled and selfish

Oh Catherine!  This character arguably has more bad characteristics than good.  I identified with her intense personality, because I am also intense.  In my opinion, her biggest downfall is her selfishness and spoiled ways.  If I am to be completely honest, I am also of guilty of these qualities at times.


Hester Prynne from The Scarlet Letter

41uYCGrYfiL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

The good qualities that I posses: passionate, strong, and thoughtful

The less desirable qualities that I posses: flawed

I am going to get a little personal here.  Hester has always been a character I have truly admired, and I would consider her one of my heroes.  I know that might surprise some of you, but let me explain why… I was pregnant at 18 years old, and had my first child at 19.  I was young and unwed.  I was able to sympathize with many of the things that Hester went through.  The scorn and ridicule… You’d be surprised the shamelessness of some people.  Even though my life as a young parent was more challenging at times, like Hester, I feel that I held my head up high and was strong through the hard times.

Fast forward a few years – I ended up graduating college Magna Cum Laude with a Bachelor’s Degree in Criminal Justice (minor in Sociology) and married my son’s father, who I’ve been with since high school.  I do not condone teen pregnancy, however I have no regrets.  My story had a happy ever after, but that is not always the case with teen parents.  I had the support of my family, and husband every step of the way.   Without their support I doubt I would have made it very far in life.


Which characters are you most like?  Comment to let me know!

Feel free to link to your own T5W post, I’d love to read it!

18 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Classic Characters I’m Most Like”

  1. Loving getting to know you through these lists/tags of books. Very insightful reflections..

    If I may say, I am very much in awe of your courage – in standing up to the nay-sayers and those who would stand in judgment, and in taking responsibility so early on. I feel like I’m on the opposite end of the scale – maybe even waited *too long* for babies (let’s hope not, fingers crossed that my body’s still in working order). But it wasn’t out of thoughtfulness or anything like that on my part – more like, fear (at the responsibility, at not having my own time – even selfishness).
    Anyone who lashes out at anyone else’s life choices (especially those that don’t affect them personally!) is speaking out of their own insecurity – which says everything about them, not you. You – are amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There is NOTHING selfish about wanting to want to wait until a little later in life to have children. If anything, it’s responsible. Having children is the biggest decision you make in your life, and should not be entered into lightly. You SHOULD take the time for yourself first (have a stable relationship, have a career, education, travel, etc etc) before children, because your life does change a lot when you have kids. Hey, if my sister-in-law could have a baby naturally at 42, there is still loads of time for you! You are going to be a wonderful mother. I hope your children inherit your intelligence, insightfulness, and kindness. We need more people like you in the world.
      Thank you for your response, you always know just what to say!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I loved it! It’s seriously like a 17th century version of a soap opera. If you are not intimidated by 17th century old English, I would definitely give it a go! I admit that it wasn’t an easy read, but it was worth it to me 🙂

      Like

  2. This is such a thoughtful and meaningful post 🙂 I can definitely relate to many of these women, and have often aspired to be like them too. Particularly with classics, I find myself relating more with characters.I like how you’ve also analysed the characters and compared them to yourself to point out the good and the less desirable qualities. All too often we’ll only see the good in a character, but your comments are all really insightful.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Honestly, I love it when people are honest about themselves. No one is perfect, and that’s okay. We aren’t supposed to be 🙂 I’m not ashamed to admit it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

