Book News

Happy National Tolkien Reading Day!

IMG_4043 [4205740]Happy National Tolkien Reading Day!

“One Ring to rule them all,
One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all
and in the darkness bind them.”

What is National Tolkien Reading Day you ask?  National Tolkien Reading Day, created by  The Tolkien Society, is a day to celebrate the works of J. R. R. Tolkien .  Why March 25th?  That’s the day that Sauron falls in Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings of course!

I remember reading The Hobbit as a freshman in high school, and falling in love with Bilbo Baggins and Middle-earth.  Who doesn’t love the adventure story of an unlikely hero?  Now that I think about it, it’s probably time for a re-read since it’s been 15 years since I’ve read it… Wow.  Excuse me while I go crawl under a rock and die of old age.  I also should probably disclose that I have never actually finished the LOTR series… I read The Fellowship of the Ring, but never continued on.  I had a hard time with The Fellowship of the Ring… Not sure if it was just bad timing or what.  Some day I will re-visit these books.   Anyways!  To celebrate, I thought I would share some of my favorite Tolkien quotes…

41aQPTCmeVL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Amazon // Goodreads

“Some believe that it is only great power that can hold evil in check. But that is not what I’ve found. I found it is the small things. Every day deeds by ordinary folk that keeps the darkness at bay…small acts of kindness and love.”

“If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world.”

“May the wind under your wings bear you where the sun sails & the moon walks.”

“A man that flies from his fear may find that he has only taken a short cut to meet it.”

“There nothing like looking, if you want to find something.”

“While there’s life, there’s hope.”


51eq24cRtRL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_Amazon // Goodreads

“Faithless is he that says farewell when the road darkens.”

“I will not say, do not weep, for not all tears are an evil.”

“The Road goes ever on and on.  Down from the door where it began.  Now far ahead the Road has gone, And I must follow, if I can.”

“All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”

“All that is gold does not glitter, Not all those who wander are lost; The old that is strong does not wither, Deep roots are not reached by the frost. From the ashes a fire shall be woken, A light from the shadows shall spring; Renewed shall be blade that was broken, The crownless again shall be king.”

“I don’t know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.”

4 thoughts on “Happy National Tolkien Reading Day!”

Leave a Reply

